We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
29
135
112
43
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
29
135
112
43
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an older hotel breakfast room minute walk budget hotels breakfast is served simple breakfast quiet street red garden heritage area fridge tv georgetown bath penang wardrobe
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2018

It is a 1960 style hotel so! For the price totally reasonable. All you need, fridge, safe, tv with bbc/cnn, later not common in asia at 3* hotels.Bathrooms could be upgraded but everything worked. Short stroll to heritage area, less than 10 mins.

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeterC7505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Pictures speak louder than words and we left without staying here. The staff were very helpful and tried to offer us different rooms but they all smelt of stale cigarette smoke and had a lot of old stains on carpets, sheets, curtains and bathrooms. The tap in one bathroom you couldn't turn off! I'm not sure why non smoking rooms would have an ashtray in them but every room did.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Sadie80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2018

First of all this is an old and tired hotel. Which we don't really mind especially with the price we paid. Unfortunately, Georgetown is becoming way too touristy and commercial that big properties are taking over once a quiet area.

Behind and next to this hotel are both building site. Yes TWO building sites that are bigger and taller than this old hotel. If you're only here to sleep and on a budget, then it's not a really bad place. They start at 8AM and finish late afternoon. They were still working at 6PM when we got back from a whole day of outing. You will still get a good night sleep but don't expect to be able to relax anytime between 8AM-6PM. If you do choose this hotel, start early and plan a whole day of going out. We asked to switch rooms but none was available. The rooftop breakfast area is closed due to the construction right next to it. It won't be done anytime soon. Not in the next couple of months anyway.

ALL the staff were friendly and polite to us (breakfast ladies, cleaners, reception-- ALL lovely people). That's the only thing that made our stay bearable. Breakfast consist of toast, cereal, fruits, coffee (coffee machine with choice of white coffee, black etc) and tea.

There is a fridge in the room, a kettle, TV, AC. Wifi connection is average. There is a lift/elevator if you have big luggage. They have parking area if you're driving. Bathroom and bedroom is old but clean and spacious. Carpet and furniture are quite old too. If you want to stay here it's up to you. It's in a good location with many places to eat and not very far from the main areas and some attractions. You can also use Grabcar easily in Georgetown.

Room Tip: Not sure as two building site are in the area
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank tatum m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018 via mobile

Hotel was in a good location. Easy walk to all the central sights. Laundry and 24hr Shop nearby.

Room was spacious and comfy. There was building work going on at the hotel next door but I didn't hear a thing, nights were very quiet. I appreciated the room's large bathroom and nice balcony, even if there wasn't much to see from it.

The price I paid was very economical and I thought I good very good value for money overall.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
1  Thank Lee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2018 via mobile

I visited Penang in March 2016, stayed in this hotel with friends. Breakfast was average. Location is good, middle in the George town. We visited Penang hill and 3D museum from there, not very far. This hotel is average quality hotel, value for money.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank ShihabM34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews