We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (618)
Filter reviews
618 results
Traveller rating
460
121
25
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
460
121
25
8
4
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 618 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2019

It has been a while since we visited Penang, and this stay was exceptional! We have initially picked this due to location, but little did we know that East Indies Mansion is so much more. Spacious rooms, delicately furnished and decorated foyer, dinning room, courtyard... unique details and artefacts belonging to the tradition of nyonya heritage, but most importantly, courteous and friendly staff.
The building, now immaculately restored, initially belonged to an influential 19th century figure, Chung Keng Quee, known as "Captain China" with his other mansion just across the road now turned into a museum. We stayed in the Clove room up the top and loved the high ceiling, the balcony and the traditional decor. The room was spacious and comfortable for 4 of us (two adults with 2 children).
A couple of things to note when selecting this room though, is to be mindful that the private bathroom doesn't connect with the room directly (which didn't inconvenience us at all, but may be an issue to some), there are other rooms, however, (most of them as it seems) which do have an en suite bathroom. Also, some noise from the restaurant at the back of the hotel could affect the light sleepers, but it would stop by half-past 10pm and for us it was just 'part of the package' of staying in the heart of the bustling heritage district, and, I should say, you'd miss a lot going to bed before 11pm in Georgetown!
We absolutely loved the stay, the atmosphere of the place, made beautiful pictures and certainly cherish every moment spent in East Indies.
Special thanks to Nick who greeted us warmly and assisted throughout the stay, to Sandra who provided us with so much insight and made us the best coffee in Penang even when we were late for breakfast, to Tom who taught our son to play chess, to Alicia with her beaming smile who made our stay and arrangements seamless, to Dell who seemed to be everywhere at once and many more whose names I didn't remember - a Big Thank You!

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Buburmanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastIndiesMansion, Front Of Desk at East Indies Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2019

Dear Buburmanis,

Thank you very much of spending your precious time to write a review during your experience stay at East Indies Mansion! Thank you for sharing the certainty of the mansion's location, building structure, the historical values, and unique architectural. This mansion has been over 200 years old and we work hard to maintain the architectural and aesthetic value of the mansion. Moreover, the first owner of the mansion who named Koh Lay Huan was also working with the founder of Penang Sir Francis Light.Besides, our team always work hard to ensure that the service was given to all our guest with the best quality.

We thank you once again and look forward to having you with us in the near future!

Best Wishes,
EIM Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2019

We were 3 friends at the property, it was an amazing experience. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating while the rooms were really hygienic as well.
Nick there is a person you can't help but smile at. He was really good to us during our stay.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank VaishShubham
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastIndiesMansion, Front Of Desk at East Indies Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Dear VaishShubham,

Thank you very much of spending your precious time to write a review during your experience stay at East Indies Mansion! Our team always work hard to ensure that our guest stay at the mansion just like home away from home and giving the best service to serve them better.

We thank you once again and look forward to having you with us in the near future!

Best Wishes,
EIM Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2019

Our visit to Penang was made complete with a fantastic stay at East Indies Mansion. Our lovely hosts Sandra and Nicholas were always there to help with anything we needed, and are just honest, kind and wonderful people to have around.

The place is a beautifully restored Chinese mansion that was very clean and comfortable. It has a good location for walking around Georgetown and as your base for exploring Penang further.

Consider staying here if visiting Penang for its UNESCO heritage and culture. You get to stay and experience a very old style Chinese mansion which is part of the UNESCO heritage that Penang is proudly preserving.

And it's close by all the amazing food you could want.

Thanks Sandra and Nicholas, we will stay here again (and hope to visit you one day in Sabah Nicholas!!)

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CraigDDAllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastIndiesMansion, Front Of Desk at East Indies Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2019

Dear CraigDDAllie,

Thank you very much of spending your precious time to write a review during your experience stay at East Indies Mansion! We are delighted that you enjoy the mansion's historic values and had a wonderful stay at here. Thank you for outlining the mansion building structure and the location. We take great pride in ensuring East Indies Mansion is at it's best for our guests comfort.

We thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you and family to the mansion once again!

Best Wishes,
EIM Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2019

The East Indies Mansion is a hidden Gem, tucked away in China Street in the heart of Little India, George Town. The staff were so kind and incredibly welcoming. The staff went out of their way to give us great recommendations for places to eat and visit, they also offered to and prepared an early breakfast before normal hours, on the day we left to go to the airport. The room and bathroom were very large and very clean. The Mansion itself was within walking distance to most of the George Town attractions and at the times we needed a taxi staff used their “Grab” App to order us a taxi within minutes.
The building has been beautifully and carefully restored to its original Chinese Architectural beauty. The perfect place to stay to soak in all the heritage and culture that George Town has on offer whilst enjoying the opulence, elegance and comfort of a traditional Chinese Mansion.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank CaffeinatedCapybara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastIndiesMansion, Front Of Desk at East Indies Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2019

Dear CaffeinatedCapybara,

Thank you for spending your precious time to write a review during your experience stay at East Indies Mansion! We are delighted to learn that you had enjoy during the stay. Our team always ensure to give the best comfort of stay to our beloved guest. Moreover, thank you for outlining the certainty of the mansion's location and building structure as well. Our mansion has been over 200 years old from original Fujian house and rich of historical important as well as the unique architectural.

We thank you once again for choosing East Indies Mansion and look forward to seeing you again in the near future!

Best Wishes,
EIM Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2019

Our girlfriends' road trip with 2 nights stay at the East Indies mansion was an absolute delight. The duplex family room for 5 adults was lovely, clean and oh so spacious. The 1 bathroom that all 5 of us had to share was large and clean but situated upstairs. The spiral staircase had its challenges when we needed to go up and down but for 2 nights stay it was manageable. The noise level within the duplex can be an issue if you're a light sleeper.
All the staff there were super friendly and helpful.
Parking is a bit of a hassle as it's on street parking where you have to make sure you have proper parking coupons. We parked right in front of the mansion and Grab everywhere we wanted to go.
Breakfast was a bit of a letdown, it could have been better made. The Nasi Lemak was a small packet which we could easily have gotten from a shop for RM2.00. The continental breakfast set was basic toasted white bread, baked beans, eggs and 2 thin sausages.
I would still highly recommend this place for the homely and gorgeous ambience.

Date of stay: June 2019
Thank KLjane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EastIndiesMansion, Front Of Desk at East Indies Mansion, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2019

Dear KLjane,

Thank you for spending your precious time to write a review during your experience stay at East Indies Mansion! We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your experience stay at the mansion. Our mansion has been over 200 years old, and due to the old building structure by reserving the originality our management is trying the best to minimize the noise as affected.

While regarding the parking space, you will easily get a parking lot at nearby after 6pm, and you can easily get the parking coupon stall which selling at opposite of our mansion. Other wise, our team will always help our beloved guest to get the coupon. Besides, Nasi Lemak is one of the breakfast dish in the menu where serving with the traditional banana leaf wrap for the coconut rice. We apologize that the breakfast is not as expected. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the disappointment related to your breakfast. Your feedback matter to us as we are committed in providing and improving our services for our guests.

From our team, we hope that your experience on this visit will not dissuade you from staying with us and we hope you will visit us again!

Best Wishes,
EIM Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews