We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, especially in executive lounge”
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
G Hotel Gurney
Ranked #15 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2017

At the front desk Joe Ann went above and beyond to make sure everything was great! Super friendly, always greeted guests by name and with a smile, it really was a great little detail that made the stay more pleasant. She also provided great recommendations of places to visit.

Definitely recommend the executive lounge for a refreshment before heading out to explore the island and maybe a stop at the front desk to ask for recommendations.

Room Tip: Service in Executive lounge is very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank iamdanielv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review of your recent stay at G Hotel Gurney.

I am very pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and were impressed with the excellent service from Joe Ann.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

133 - 137 of 1,666 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

Returned for a short visit and upgraded to a suite at 17 floor. The suite room was incredibly big, actually 2 rooms made into one. Returning again after so many year and the maintenance of the hotel still looks good, bravo to the management.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank meaningremission
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience in near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017

The good:
- Location, location is convenient. Hotel is between 2 big malls with of restaurants, foods court, supermarket, night market (foods) and more restaurants to the right within 10min walking distance.
- Good room size, clean, nice decor, friendly staffs and good services!
Why it is only a 3 star?
- Wi-fi is very important for all travelers from business and vacationers alike. The Wi-fi in this hotel is terrible as i have to moved twice. We moved from another hotel due to the room size and location but Wi-fi at taht hotel was so much better. If you happen to be in upper floors, good luck! At least, hotel staff did try to accommodate and find a room that i can use Wi-fi since i am there for business.
- Room was well clean daily but you can tell it is old with cracks, stains and mildews. One of the rooms i stayed, the lock was broken and difficult to open. If someone want to break-in, it would be very easy. Hotel maintenance could not fix because part is not available due to the long weekend break. That was another reason to move. They should not even allow anyone to stay in that room to begin with.
- Lobby was nice but due to the design since you can go thru that to the mall. Many locals using that as a rest break, short cut or just a hangout if you want. As a result, actual guests do not have a seat when need one. The lounge/bar is also part of the long lobby hall way. I find it difficult to enjoy the bar since many people use that lounge to sit and not ordering anything. As a result, we ended up going to another place outside the hotel.
- Restroom on the 2nd floor where the restaurant does not have water for the entire weekend. Many people use it which is grossed!! They did not bother to fix it until Mon comes around since it is a weekend. Such a lame excuse. Imagine how many people gone thru that place and unable to wash their hands for that 4 days weekend and going to the restaurant... Once we found out the problem, we also did not eat there. How can a hotel cannot get the faucet or plumbing problem fix 24/7??

Room Tip: "Ocean" view is limited to maybe 6 or so. The rest would be a partial view of the ocean o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 3musketeers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to providing us feedback on TripAdvisor and I sincerely apologize for the difficulties and frustrations you experienced.

I was however disappointed to read of your less than satisfactory opinion on our guest room which is surprising since we have recently completed an extensive and full renovation of all guest rooms. The feedback we have been receiving has thus far has been very good so I do apologize this was not to your likening. In regards to the Internet, we do provide a dedicated 150 MB broadband throughout the hotel which is monitored to ensure of smooth and speedy connectivity, again I am sorry this was not your experience.

Once again, we do apologize for any shortcomings and hope to welcome you back in future to show our commitment to service excellence.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

I am returning to the G Hotel after my stay here last year. I admit that my previous review was not good and criticizing the management for the construction work.

This time it was completely different experience, from checkin throughout the entire week (I have not checked out yet but couldn't wait to write the review)

I want to call out the attention to details up to perfection... not even a small issue to report

Well done G Hotel, looking forward to be back

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
Thank Asaf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at G Hotel Gurney and for your positive comments.

Guest feedback is extremely important to us to see where we can make any required improvements and we are glad to note that you have noticed an improvement in our services rendered for this stay.

Once again, thank you for choosing us and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

-Attended Friend's wedding in Jan. Non- English Speaking Staff. Inexperienced staff and didnt understand instructions. Didnt think much of the food though. The room I have stayed before in 2010 previously was modern but not sure if they have been renovated since.

Stayed: January 2017
1  Thank KarinaMonteiro77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, Owner at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

I note of your re-post however would like to understand further why you deleted your last post which I had already replied to. If you have any further comments or concerns I would be more than happy to discuss this with you so would appreciate if you could send your contact details to g4u@ghotel.com.my so I may call you personally.

As stated in the last reply and also to Mr Chin, the hotel does have non Malaysian employees during events to support the hotels banquet team and they are sourced through manpower agencies in Malaysia and we have strict regulations to ensure of proficient English language abilities. I do apologize if any of your guest found this not to be the case and I will be reviewing this directly with our agent.

Once again, thank you for your comments and look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.2 km away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#13 of 87 in George Town
472 reviews
3.2 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,664 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
8.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,614 reviews
7.9 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#4 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: RM486 - RM765 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing