We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“5 stars + highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
G Hotel Gurney
Ranked #16 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“5 stars + highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

G hotel

I highly recommend this Hotel, giving it an A+ rating,
I stayed there on a business trip a month ago for 5 nights.
My first time in Malaysia and my stay was just perfect.
25 steps walking to the next door mall, big mall with anything you can think of as a western, restaurants and fast food and a Starbucks right there next door. And yes
You must try the massage at the next door Gurney Plaza on the 2nd floor, “Thai Odyssey”. Clean and professional, $40 for 90 minutes with Ting (I think that that was her name). Only problem they have is…. No toilets or showers, you need to use the Public toilets outside at the mall.
Room was way too big, and very modern, fully equipped, all amenities, safe, lots of drawers, USB charging ports, very comfortable king size bed with 6 pillows, huge size shower, Wii Fii was free and fast enough for my business needs, gym with ocean view, nice view, food was always fresh and testy,
Room service was quick (20-30 minutes) all arrived warm great teasing, laundry service lost my jacket but after involving the manager it was in my room clean 30 minutes before I needed it for the event.
Room cleaning and towels,,, just perfect, refilled the coffee station and bar daily.
Amazing all towels smelled like lavender

Great 5 night stay. This hotel sure deserves the 5 stars +

Will come again for sure. When in Penang.

Room Tip: water front view, higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review following your recent stay at G Hotel Gurney.

We appreciate your positive review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    653
    622
    171
    49
    48
See reviews for
384
401
85
413
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location with modern facilities and furnishings. We had a 5-star experience throughout our stay, from ease of early check-in and warmth of the staff, to simple pleasures of a well-made cocktail by the pool or in the lobby.

We had a room on the executive floor and the lounge was excellent. We tried the breakfast buffet downstairs and was also pleasantly surprised. This hotel has shown a level of service across the board, that most hotels should aspire to.

  • Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank april1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your positive review following your recent stay at G Hotel Gurney.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another wonderful experience.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 week ago

Great place to go late evening and listen to good music and drink some fine wine, in a non crowded environment . We were a small group, were given a reallly nice place to chill and we're weren't crowded in by other guests. Staff very attentive, if not attractive, haha.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floors and not facing construction, as most areas have building works or noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2017, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your positive review following your experience at the Hotels bar recently.

We are glad you enjoyed the ambiance and services and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Good location. 2 malls with the famous Gurney Drive food centre nearby so looking for food is easy. We stayed at the Executive floor so we had usage of the Executive lounge with free food and drinks at certain times. Staff were friendly and helpful. Clean rooms.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank modacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney recently and for posting your positive review.

It is gratifying to read that you enjoyed the services and facilities of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Short trip with my wife to Penang. Hotel is pretty modern and is close to two shopping malls - Paragon and Gurney Plaza.The local hawkers food stall which is next to the hotel is pretty pricey and too touristy.

The room is big and modern. There is welcome fruits and service staff are friendly and courteous. The minibar is complimentary!

Considering the location and service provided, I will definitely come again.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasleecorp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience on TripAdvisor and we are happy to read that you had a great stay with us at G Hotel Gurney.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.2 km away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
3.2 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
8.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
3.7 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
7.9 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Property: G Hotel Gurney
Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price range (per night): RM425 - RM779
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing