We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and nice facility”
Review of G Hotel Gurney

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
G Hotel Gurney
Ranked #16 of 87 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 March 2017 via mobile

Next to the 2 major shopping malls with lots of restaurants and local food. Nice pool and gym. The room is huge. Staff service ok, lack of smiles and this is the area which need improvement. Overall we enjoy our stay

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank D L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently and posting your comments on TripAdvisor.

Guest feedback is a key tool for us to monitor and improve our services, hence I have shared your comments with our team to see how we can provide exceptional service to impress our valuable guest.

Once again, we do apologize for any shortcomings and hope to welcome you back in future to show our commitment to service excellence.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,666)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

121 - 125 of 1,666 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2017

G hotel

I highly recommend this Hotel, giving it an A+ rating,
I stayed there on a business trip a month ago for 5 nights.
My first time in Malaysia and my stay was just perfect.
25 steps walking to the next door mall, big mall with anything you can think of as a western, restaurants and fast food and a Starbucks right there next door. And yes
You must try the massage at the next door Gurney Plaza on the 2nd floor, “Thai Odyssey”. Clean and professional, $40 for 90 minutes with Ting (I think that that was her name). Only problem they have is…. No toilets or showers, you need to use the Public toilets outside at the mall.
Room was way too big, and very modern, fully equipped, all amenities, safe, lots of drawers, USB charging ports, very comfortable king size bed with 6 pillows, huge size shower, Wii Fii was free and fast enough for my business needs, gym with ocean view, nice view, food was always fresh and testy,
Room service was quick (20-30 minutes) all arrived warm great teasing, laundry service lost my jacket but after involving the manager it was in my room clean 30 minutes before I needed it for the event.
Room cleaning and towels,,, just perfect, refilled the coffee station and bar daily.
Amazing all towels smelled like lavender

Great 5 night stay. This hotel sure deserves the 5 stars +

Will come again for sure. When in Penang.

Room Tip: water front view, higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Arik H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this fantastic review following your recent stay at G Hotel Gurney.

We appreciate your positive review and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Great location with modern facilities and furnishings. We had a 5-star experience throughout our stay, from ease of early check-in and warmth of the staff, to simple pleasures of a well-made cocktail by the pool or in the lobby.

We had a room on the executive floor and the lounge was excellent. We tried the breakfast buffet downstairs and was also pleasantly surprised. This hotel has shown a level of service across the board, that most hotels should aspire to.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank april1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your positive review following your recent stay at G Hotel Gurney.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future for another wonderful experience.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

Great place to go late evening and listen to good music and drink some fine wine, in a non crowded environment . We were a small group, were given a reallly nice place to chill and we're weren't crowded in by other guests. Staff very attentive, if not attractive, haha.

Room Tip: Ask for the upper floors and not facing construction, as most areas have building works or noise .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your positive review following your experience at the Hotels bar recently.

We are glad you enjoyed the ambiance and services and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

Good location. 2 malls with the famous Gurney Drive food centre nearby so looking for food is easy. We stayed at the Executive floor so we had usage of the Executive lounge with free food and drinks at certain times. Staff were friendly and helpful. Clean rooms.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank modacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney recently and for posting your positive review.

It is gratifying to read that you enjoyed the services and facilities of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.2 km away
G Hotel Kelawai
G Hotel Kelawai
#12 of 87 in George Town
472 reviews
3.2 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 87 in George Town
3,664 reviews
3.4 km away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
8.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
4,620 reviews
7.9 km away
Golden Sands Resort by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Gurney? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Gurney

Address: 168A Persiaran Gurney, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in George Town
#5 Luxury Hotel in George Town
#6 Family Hotel in George Town
#7 Romantic Hotel in George Town
Price Range: RM486 - RM769 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — G Hotel Gurney 4.5*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel is your urban thirst quenching oasis, prime for both discerning business and leisure travellers. Grand as it can be, the entrance lobby itself speaks volumes of the exclusivity of what lies within. Furnished with contemporary designs like the iconic Spoon Chair by Kartell, Felt Chair by Capellini and Shell Chair by Hansen, douse your senses with visual elegance and ergonomic comfort aimed at turning even the simplest act of waiting into a unique one. Rich in modern contemporary architecture and opulent interior designs, the 312-room hotel evokes a sense of grandeur, one which is left for you to experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fastbooking, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotelopia and Hotels.com so you can book your G Hotel Gurney reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
g Hotel Georgetown
g Hotel Penang
G Hotel Gurney Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing