We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 05/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
US$125
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$114
View deal
Free cancellation until 06/11/21
Hotels.comUS$125
PricelineUS$125
Destinia.comUS$152
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,999)
Filter reviews
1,999 results
Traveller rating
927
757
196
58
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
927
757
196
58
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive floor shopping mall sea view kit kat complimentary ice cream free mini bar local food hotel lobby spacious room f b food court street food gurney gym xl minibar penang
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
103 - 108 of 1,999 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2019

I organized event w room, meeting & dinner.
An Agent arrange however, I involved for prompt process as last minute event & I'm traveling oversea for oth events
I provided credit card to secure for the whole event. I learn that sth wrong with CC credit & asked hotel to check if any double block but NO, they said
-Upon arrival, I was asked fr the Agent if can offset about 1K of dept w Hotel? Funi
-Run up to check mtg rm & didn't realize that grp had to wait for long time at FD. They couldnt find rsvn even naming provided. Can search either co., grp name, etc. I have to deal with mtg test & resend cfm.
Abt 30', I back but 01 rm still not c/i yet. He gave USD but they dont accept. No $ exchange hotel. Even mtg start soon as the c/i delay, had to run out to get MY. Big concern is biz secured. They blocked my CC even double blocked
After dinner, some settle but had to call me again (I mtg with client) as FB/FD didn't accept bill divided. I came and taught how to do so
Rm service. Friend booked for two, he informed he w pay for all upon rsvn. However, staff didnt collect full bill fr him. He gave more $ than his order, thought cover mine but staff think a tip. I paid as waiter asked
Back country, I checked w my bank, found 2 blocks @G. They had to agree but claim system error even I told them to double check prev.ly. Promised few days later but It took very long time to have $ back to my CC.
Recommend event team, nice mtg rm w daylight
But NEVER come back for room nor dinner event.

Date of stay: March 2019
2  Thank ATPhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and posting your experience on TripAdvisor.

I do apologize that you had encountered several challenges during your stay with us. To further fully understand and address your concerns, I would appreciate if you could forward me your contact details so we may deal directly with you. Please send to peipei.soo@ghotel.com.my

Once again my apologies for the poor experience and we do hope to hear back from you.

Kind regards

Michael

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2019

Located next door to Gurney Plaza Mall and a two minute walk from Gurney Paragon Mall the G Hotel Gurney is a wonderful respite from the humid Penang heat. Beautifully decorated foyer with full bar and lots of seating to spend some time at the end of the day listening to some live entertainment. Breakfast buffet has both western and eastern options with both hot and cold options and fresh pastries. We upgraded to a larger room which was spacious with a mini office space. The room was overlooking the pool and bathed in light. We looked forward to returning to our room after a day filled with sightseeing. The rooms and hotel furniture is modern, clean and very well kept. The rooms and bathroom clean. Staff were also courteous and helpful. Minutes away from Georgetown. Walking distance to restaurants. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucianal619
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and sharing your lovely review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

MIchael

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2019 via mobile

Are trip was mixed business and pleasure. Between the extensive and tasty breakfast buffet and the close proximity to the Gurney drive hawker centre we were never want for delicious food. If neither of those are to people’s liking there is a large mall with all varieties of restaurants next door. The hotel staff were pleasant and helpful, the room was very comfortable, the gym fully equipped, and the rest of the hotel’s facilities, including Executive lounge were very nice.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Kwfont
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and we look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019 via mobile

Stay in the hotel for 2nights with family ..the staff r professional and friendly. The room r spotless ,the food r good as well. Both my kids like the pool very much. Definitely will come again nx year.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 7Jamine7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2019 via mobile

The hotel location is very strategic, within a few steps to 2 large malls, gurney paragon and gurney plaza. The comfy bed and excellent service by staff make my stay more memorable. Definitely will choose this hotel again every time I visit Penang.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Kartika01
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews