We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$109
View Deal
Free cancellation until 19/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$94
View Deal
Free cancellation until 19/03/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
ZenHotels.com
US$166
US$87
View Deal
SAVE US$79
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$109
Booking.comUS$121
StayForLongUS$166
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,999)
Filter reviews
1,999 results
Traveller rating
925
759
196
58
61
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
925
759
196
58
61
Show reviews that mention
All reviews executive floor shopping mall ice cream sea view kit kat free mini bar food centre big shopping modern design local food hotel lobby upon check deluxe room infinity pool f b penang island hawker stalls
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,999 reviews
Reviewed 1 August 2020 via mobile

Had the most remarkable 5 nights 6 day at this hotel to celebrate our anniversary, we are pretty grateful and thankful to the hotel for organizing some balloons and wine with cake for our anniversary over at the executive L - suite. Mesmerizing and pampering in the deco of the set up in the room.

This is our second time returning to this hotel, as we love the executive suite room with executive lounge cater. However this time round, was abit disappointed or rather upset and annoying to know that the executive lounge is at the front lounge near the reception where anyone can come and sit in, we were eagerly looking forward for some privacy and exclusivity at the executive lounge that why we booked the executive room but this was a let down; it was noisy and could hear some people talking so loud like they are uneducated; which pisses me about the privacy and the exclusivity of executive room compared to others whom just sitting or rather staying there in normal room to enjoy the lounge, I understand is RMCO period, but the management should have some distinctive segregation between executive lounge and normal people dine lounge, as what the point of paying so much to an executive room just to know we are like commoners paying common price at the lounge? Secondly; breakfast at the taste of cafe at the hotel was a bit disappointment as knowing dining breakfast with commoners rather than exclusivity in the executive lounge for breakfast, hence having some rude customers who can’t wait for their eggs to be prepared as lack of staff at the station is a disappointing scene to look at during our stay; that why we choose executive rooms to filter out commoners even while dining at the breakfast with them is demoralizing.

Thirdly, it is also quit disappointing and annoying to know that the Carpark at the hotel is always full no parking or rather some whom just come for shopping at the gurney plaza park over the hotel parking side making us have to park very far far away at the mall parking to walk in TOTAL DARKNESS and SAFETY yet UNKNOWN to the hotel lobby. We make a complain, the hotel staff was kind enough to preserved a reserved parking for us even though we know we have no right to do so as we only staying in the executive room; however yet another disappointment came by even with our no plate on the reserved parking to book our parking spot, yet still got some KL no plate who is not staying at the hotel park at our place when we drove out for a while for a dinner appointment and came back to know the parking that was reserved for us had been taken already; so much let down and disappointment.

Yet there are some plus points here like the lady at the lounge name Carolina was very kind to us to serve us at the lounge with her smile and thoughtfulness and must say the security side Dennis did a marvelous job at the car park to get us back out car park slot after it has been taken by commoner.

Date of stay: July 2020
Thank x96lee26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Hanratty, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

Firstly, it was good to read that overall you enjoyed your stay however we are very sorry to learn of your concerns regarding the Executive Club currently been closed due to the ongoing current health crisis. We are offering our Executive Club guests the cocktails and canapes at our G Lounge and Breakfast at our Taste Café. During these extremely challenging times, we are committed to ensuring we maintain the highest levels of services and facilities whilst protecting the health and safety of all our patrons and associates. I do however, deeply apologize that you found interacting with our other guests not to your expectation.

Once again, thank you for the feedback and we do hope to welcoming you back to show our commitment to service excellence.

All the best and please stay safe.

Kind regards

Michael

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2020

G Hotelis located in the heart of Penang.
Despite its age ( 12 or 13 years old ) the hotel looks GREAT and very modern.
Strict Heath screening at entrance.
I read a lot of ( good ) comments on tripadivosr about this hotel and I miust say that I agree 100% with them.
We have been upgraded to a suite for our stay : great suite, with massive & pleasant bathroom, great bed room and a very pleasant living room.
All in prestine condition, not at all looking oldish or aged.
Breakfast was complimentary ( a la carte )
Free parking
The hotel is greatly located in between 2 malls, and facing the sea.
There is a Starbucks/ Mc Do / Mefcato grocery.... just 1 min walk from hotel.
Plenty of local food nearby also.

To make a long story short : been a frequant traveler, and been very perticular about oldish hotel rooms ( that I hate ), G Hotel is really a great -great value stay.

Dont look any where else !

Room tip: Sea view room.....of course.
Date of stay: July 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thierry12233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Hanratty, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and sharing your wonderful experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Be safe!

Kind regards

Michael

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2020

I went there with my kids on promo. It was ridiculously cheap for what you pay. Booked directly on hotel website.

As soon as reservation was made, the staff emailed me for my preference.

The hotel complied strictly to the SOP during covid19. I was impressed.

Staff was very friendly and polite. All of them. They were outstanding.

Had dinner and breakfast at Taste Cafe. Food was really great. I also enjoyed the Tree Bar.

Room was clean and comfortable. Gymnasium and swimming pool were fantastic.

Location wise, it's excellent. Also close to Botanical Garden.

Overall its worth every penny you spend here. Will definitely come back. Keep up the good work!

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank FearHassan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Hanratty, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for the warm praise and we look forward to welcoming you back the near future

Be safe

Kind regards

Michael

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2020 via mobile

After lockdown promo is great. Booked the XL suite and executive suite. There are two walking distance malls, Gurney plaza & gurney paragon and not forgetting the gurney drive famous eatery place. The open lobby is airy and the customer service team is always friendly and approachable. Our XL suite is so spacious that it could accommodate 4 adults and 1 child. It even has a living area.
Most of the famous nasi kandar restaurants are also within 5 km radius.overall I would say g hotel is very convenient for those who love shopping and dining.

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ezzafea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Hanratty, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and posting your positive review on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

All the best and stay safe.

Kind regards

Michael

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2020 via mobile

Being upgraded to Duplex with after lockdown promotion discount is a surprise. Location is wonderful surrounded by shopping mall, restaurant and hawker food.
Only set back is facing to the reclaiming land, cause a Seaview not so nice..

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank edmundleeph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael Hanratty, General Manager at G Hotel Gurney, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2020

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Gurney and sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Be safe!

Kind regards

Michael

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews