We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Booking.com
RM 296
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
Breakfast included
KLOOK
RM 195
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,258)
Filter reviews
1,258 results
Traveller rating
519
505
146
37
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
519
505
146
37
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews little india walking distance beach street swimming pool food court superior room nasi lemak fort cornwallis buffet breakfast street art penang georgetown quay housekeeping concierge doorman eateries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 1,258 reviews
Reviewed 31 January 2023

1. Toilet full with hair here and there
2. Bedsheets with a stain / kinda shoes print and it is so disgusting. Complain to the staff and he just make like this is not serious. What a mess.
3. No more toilet roll replacement after u make up the room
4. No tooth brush , like seriously royal chulan don't provide tooth brush in the room?
5. The mini fridge is dirty and with hair inside of it, this is also very disgusting
6. Bed linen full with stain.
7. SUCH A LOUSY PILLOW. SOME SMALL SOME BIG, SOME OK OK SOME SO FLAT!
8. Provide cup and coffee BUT NO TEA SPOON OR EVEN THE COFFEE STICK.
9. WATER HEATER IS NOT WORKING AND AFTER COMPLAIN STILL NO ACTION TAKEN.
10. OVER ALL NOT A HAPPY STAY..BAD EXPERIENCE AND I WILL NEVER EVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL AGAIN.
11. CONCLUSION, BOOK THIS HOTEL IS A MISTAKE.
12. The only thing is good is the breakfast.

3D 2N stay 29th - 31st Jan 2023 with room 406

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank zaitonfuad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Royale Chulan Penang, Other at Royale Chulan Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Dear zaitonfuad,,

Greetings to you from all of us at Royale Chulan Penang!

Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you had while staying here with us. We have taken note of all your feedback and will work on it for our further improvement. We hope to welcome you again in the near future for a better stay experience.

Kind regards,
Dennis Lee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2023 via mobile

Hotel is nice, but the service is really bad. We went there to celebrate a wedding. Wedding started at 4 p.m. - we were supposed to check In at 1 pm - only got to the room at 2.30. You want to celebrate a memorable wedding stay away from there! The hotel is actually really nice unfortunately the people working there have no passion for their job.

Room tip: Don’t stay there
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ulivogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Royale Chulan Penang, Other at Royale Chulan Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Dear ulivogt,

Greetings to you from all of us at Royale Chulan Penang! Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We take note of your feedback and have highlighted it to the management team for their further discussion and action. However, please do take note that the standard check in time at the hotel is from 3pm onwards and it also stated on our website as well as other booking sites. Early check in is always subject to availability as our team needs sufficient time to ensure the rooms are cleaned and ready before the next guest checks in to the room.

Our main priority is to always provide excellent service to our guests and we hope that the forthcoming visit will be more pleasant than anticipated. We hope to welcome you back again soon for a better stay experience.

Kind regards,
Dennis Lee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2023

Just had Xmas 🎄 dinner at the Hotel. Plenty of food and great selection but on asking for a glass of beer and a wine we were told that it was a Halal restaurant. We were also told that no Pork products were available for breakfast. The Hotel lists bar/lounge facility plus mini bar in the rooms but none are available. This Hotel should not advertise items if they are not available,, very disappointing Xmas and overall stay at this Hotel when we could have stayed elsewhere...

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Royale Chulan Penang, Other at Royale Chulan Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Dear Rick A,

Greetings to you from all of us at Royale Chulan Penang!

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We take note of your feedback and have highlighted it to the management team for their further discussion and action. For your information, our hotel has a halal-certified kitchen and it is a standard practice for most hotels in Malaysia to not serve Pork in the restaurants especially if the hotel has a halal-certified kitchen. As for the sale of alcohol and beer, it is available at our Heritage Lounge and we apologise if this information was not shared with you during your stay here with us. We will definitely brief our staff again to ensure such situations do not recur in the future. We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future for a better stay experience.

Kind regards,
Dennis Lee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2022

Overall the place is lovely and comfortable.

Please look seriously look intoyour customer service. During check-in the guy serving me was rushing through the process. No eye contact and his tone of voice was rude.

During check out I had the worst experience. Attended by a young lady. I asked if I could get an official receipt. She asked for Rm3.00.
I asked her, why do I need to pay Rm3.00 for the receipt, she turned at her colleague (the same guy who served me during my check in)

He walked over and started barking at me. He said "You don't know you need to pay tourism tax in Penang". I am speechless over the approach by this guy.

Upskill your frontline on TOV and understand what a customer wants before screaming at them . So surprised to so many negative remarks in google review pass few months. I would say still no improvement. Bad image for the hotel

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank 339cherylk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Royale Chulan Penang, Other at Royale Chulan Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2023

Dear 339cherylk,

Greetings to you from all of us at Royale Chulan Penang!

Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you had while staying here with us. We have taken note of your feedback and will consider it for further improvement. We hope to welcome you again for a better stay experience.

Kind regards,
Dennis Lee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2022

A nice hotel, centrally located to many attractions but we were rather sad to note of the cleanliness of the room. Seems the room hadn't been cleaned for days as dust on side tables, table lamps, clothe cupboards, mirrors etc. As I am person with Asthmatic conditions, it was not an enjoyable stay.

A major plus point was the breakfast; it was fab!!!

Room tip: A room on a higher floor is advisable.
Date of stay: November 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 695riza
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Royale Chulan Penang, Other at Royale Chulan Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2022

Dear 695riza,

Greetings to you from all of us at Royale Chulan Penang!

Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. Your comments are greatly appreciated. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our breakfast.

However, we do apologize for the disappointing housekeeping experience you had during your stay with us. We take note of your feedback and will consider it for further improvement. We hope to welcome you again for a better stay experience.

Kind regards,
Dennis Lee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews