We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
Booking.com
RM 296
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
Breakfast included
KLOOK
RM 195
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,258)
Filter reviews
1,258 results
Traveller rating
519
505
146
37
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
519
505
146
37
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews little india walking distance beach street swimming pool food court superior room nasi lemak fort cornwallis buffet breakfast street art penang georgetown quay housekeeping concierge doorman eateries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 1,258 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2023 via mobile

Good 4 star quality hotel, very good reception staff, very good breakfast. A huge thank you to Ms. Siang Lee for her kindness, efficiency and her perfect example of Malaysian hospitality. We are regular guests and this hotel usually delivers international quality amenities and service. Concierge in red vest could do with a lesson from the gracious Ms Siang Lee. Early check in was possible. Not expected but a bonus nevertheless.
Breakfast quality and variety has really improved since our last visit. Bed was so comfy and wifi and room quality was excellent. Thank you for a short but divine stay.🌻

Room tip: High floor, pool view is nice.
Date of stay: March 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank lyndy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Royale Chulan Penang, Other at Royale Chulan Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2023

Dear lyndy23,

Greetings from Royale Chulan Penang!

Thank you for spending your holiday with us and for taking the time to review our property. We are delighted that you were fully satisfied with your stay at our nice hotel and that you loved our staff and breakfast. Furthermore, it feels great that you acknowledged the efforts we put in to provide you with the best customer experience. We appreciate your support, and we look forward to welcoming you back for another satisfying stay.

Kind regards,
Dennis Lee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2023 via mobile

Pathetic Vegetarian Selection. Thaipusam weekend & many Indians guests but hotels just serve idly & sambar without any chutney. Day one we only had vadai & sambar. Day 2 hard rock idly with cold sambar. Wonder what is tomorrow. When asked the chef, his reply is “yes that’s all” and just walk away. No sense of professionalism. If you are vegetarian, forget about staying in this hotel. Rooms are nice but sadly not vegetarian friendly.

Room tip: If you are a vegetarian, please DON’T stay in this hotel.
Date of stay: February 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank Trips20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Royale Chulan Penang, Other at Royale Chulan Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2023

Dear Kumar Rams,

Greetings to you from all of us at Royale Chulan Penang!

Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you had while staying here with us. We have taken note of all your feedback and will work on it for our further improvement. We hope to welcome you again in the near future for a better stay experience.

Kind regards,
Dennis Lee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2023

1. Toilet full with hair here and there
2. Bedsheets with a stain / kinda shoes print and it is so disgusting. Complain to the staff and he just make like this is not serious. What a mess.
3. No more toilet roll replacement after u make up the room
4. No tooth brush , like seriously royal chulan don't provide tooth brush in the room?
5. The mini fridge is dirty and with hair inside of it, this is also very disgusting
6. Bed linen full with stain.
7. SUCH A LOUSY PILLOW. SOME SMALL SOME BIG, SOME OK OK SOME SO FLAT!
8. Provide cup and coffee BUT NO TEA SPOON OR EVEN THE COFFEE STICK.
9. WATER HEATER IS NOT WORKING AND AFTER COMPLAIN STILL NO ACTION TAKEN.
10. OVER ALL NOT A HAPPY STAY..BAD EXPERIENCE AND I WILL NEVER EVER STAY IN THIS HOTEL AGAIN.
11. CONCLUSION, BOOK THIS HOTEL IS A MISTAKE.
12. The only thing is good is the breakfast.

3D 2N stay 29th - 31st Jan 2023 with room 406

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank zaitonfuad
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Royale Chulan Penang, Other at Royale Chulan Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Dear zaitonfuad,,

Greetings to you from all of us at Royale Chulan Penang!

Thank you for taking the time to rate our property. Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We sincerely apologize for the disappointing experience you had while staying here with us. We have taken note of all your feedback and will work on it for our further improvement. We hope to welcome you again in the near future for a better stay experience.

Kind regards,
Dennis Lee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2023 via mobile

Hotel is nice, but the service is really bad. We went there to celebrate a wedding. Wedding started at 4 p.m. - we were supposed to check In at 1 pm - only got to the room at 2.30. You want to celebrate a memorable wedding stay away from there! The hotel is actually really nice unfortunately the people working there have no passion for their job.

Room tip: Don’t stay there
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank ulivogt
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Royale Chulan Penang, Other at Royale Chulan Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Dear ulivogt,

Greetings to you from all of us at Royale Chulan Penang! Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We take note of your feedback and have highlighted it to the management team for their further discussion and action. However, please do take note that the standard check in time at the hotel is from 3pm onwards and it also stated on our website as well as other booking sites. Early check in is always subject to availability as our team needs sufficient time to ensure the rooms are cleaned and ready before the next guest checks in to the room.

Our main priority is to always provide excellent service to our guests and we hope that the forthcoming visit will be more pleasant than anticipated. We hope to welcome you back again soon for a better stay experience.

Kind regards,
Dennis Lee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2023

Just had Xmas 🎄 dinner at the Hotel. Plenty of food and great selection but on asking for a glass of beer and a wine we were told that it was a Halal restaurant. We were also told that no Pork products were available for breakfast. The Hotel lists bar/lounge facility plus mini bar in the rooms but none are available. This Hotel should not advertise items if they are not available,, very disappointing Xmas and overall stay at this Hotel when we could have stayed elsewhere...

Date of stay: December 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Royale Chulan Penang, Other at Royale Chulan Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2023

Dear Rick A,

Greetings to you from all of us at Royale Chulan Penang!

Thank you for taking the time to review our property, your comments are very much valued. We take note of your feedback and have highlighted it to the management team for their further discussion and action. For your information, our hotel has a halal-certified kitchen and it is a standard practice for most hotels in Malaysia to not serve Pork in the restaurants especially if the hotel has a halal-certified kitchen. As for the sale of alcohol and beer, it is available at our Heritage Lounge and we apologise if this information was not shared with you during your stay here with us. We will definitely brief our staff again to ensure such situations do not recur in the future. We do hope to welcome you back again in the near future for a better stay experience.

Kind regards,
Dennis Lee
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews