We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.comUS$36
Agoda.comUS$36
Vio.comUS$36
EtripUS$36
eDreamsUS$36
TripadvisorUS$36
View all 9 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
105
56
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
56
9
3
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

A decent place to stay at, nothing to rave about. Ok considering how cheap it is.
Note:
1. Nice staff
2. Very steep staircase, to the point of being almost vertical.
3. A constantly wet (private) bathroom as there are no curtains around the shower area.
4. Used cotton buds found on the floor of room, rusty hairpin found under the blankets of a bed.
5. No breakfast served (to be expected), coffee and tea at the counter.
6. Wifi not great on phones, works well on laptops.

All in all, lower your expectations and it'll be a decent place to stay at.

Room tip: Very steep staircase so avoid staying on the top floors if you have mobility issues.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank xojaynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LangHoosePenang, Lang Hoose Management at Lang Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for the review and rating.

We glad that you have given us these feedback in year 2018. Right now we have improve all that you have mention as above. These progress has been taken care and since after that and new look with Lang Hoose since Jan 2019.

We glad your review has make us a better guest house and for us to improve from time to time.

Lang Hoose Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

I was being skeptical towards this place due to its photos and location that I thought was far from the main places in Georgetown, but I was wrong. I went to Georgetown from Kuala Lumpur for a short escape, and if you travel there to Butterworth, Penang and then continue with the ferry, the Ferry Terminal is quite close with Lang Hoose.
The receptionist is nice, they are super helpful and the place itself is comfortable for me and my family. We were in the Family Room with two floors, it was a great experience considering that the living room was downstairs and the bedroom was upstairs. There was no TV but, who does watch TV nowadays right? You got a Wi-Fi which is moderate, not pretty fast. But in conclusion, the place is quite worth to pay.

Room tip: Family room with two floors gives you a perfect stay for you and your family. But it's true that the floor is a bit squeaky.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlA1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LangHoosePenang, Manager at Lang Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

HI Al A,

Thank you for the review and rating. We appreciate your feedback and comments for other guest to know about Lang Hoose and to plan their trip to Penang.

Lang Hoose Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Stayed in Family Room with attached bathroom & access to rooftop public area.
The guesthouse environment is cool, for those who like selfie or Instagramer, this would be a good hotel for you. tips, next door is a hidden bar for you to chill out. 5mins walk to armenian street

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michtung
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LangHoosePenang, Manager at Lang Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Hi Micthtung,

Thank you for the review and rating. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2018

This is a very basic property, so I don't really understand how it could get a Certificate of Excellence. It's true that the building is a heritage shophouse, but in bad shape, badly refurbished and full of old furniture (mind you, not "antique" furniture: just old, battered, common furniture). No TV in the rooms, not enough hot water, no room cleaning service (no curtains in the shower either, so you are doomed to live in a pond during your stay, because they won't clean unless you request it). Bed linen and towels are clean, but look very old, stained and worn. In the other hand, wi-fi was good the air conditioned worked very well, and the location is very good, close to Armenian Street and the Butterworth ferry. It's a very inexpensive hotel, but you may find better in Penang by paying just a couple more bucks.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank alfcr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LangHoosePenang, Manager at Lang Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Hi alfcr,

Thank you for the review and rating. We appreciate your feedback for these. Just to update you that for the room cleaning, we will only enter your room with your permission as majority guest all need privacy. This heritage house do not comes with TV and you need to check your booking under amenities before purchasing with us. That is why we gave a good Wifi over here. For the hot water, we are using the best quality heater and we do service every month and checked it personally its working well. The maximum heating we encounter was 99 degrees which is in good condition. About the price, we already marked the cheapest among others. We hope next time you choose a place for stay, please do a review and read from majority. We have already provide the best what we can from our end and hope you have a good stay while you were here.

Lang Hoose Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018

A bit difficult to find. Create some noise when walking on the wooden plank. Very steep wooden stair. Wonderful staff, fantastic ambiance, stand-alone bathtub and easy walking distance to most attraction.

Room tip: Fantastic ambience.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lawsonkoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
LangHoosePenang, Manager at Lang Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Hi Law Son Koh,

Thank you for the review and rating. We appreciate all feedback.

Lang Hoose Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews