We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
105
56
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
56
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lebuh pantai street arts little india heritage house pros cons
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2019 via mobile

Good location. It’s right at the center street in George town so you can walk easily to street arts, museums and food courts. The decor is beautiful and unique. Space room with window and street view is very nice. I really love the ceiling fan. Totally an excellent choice to stay in the town with good price ♥️

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank NGOCBUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangHoosePenang, Lang Hoose Management at Lang Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2019

Hi NgocBui,

Thank you for the review and rating. Well appreciated.

Lang Hoose Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2018

About 10 minutes walk from the ferry and bus terminal. My room was one level up and facing the street. Some people might be disturbed by the traffic noise at night but there are rooms that are further back in the building. Comfortable bed, good aircon, great WiFi and a decent fridge. The manager was very helpful. There are some steep stairs so if you have heavy luggage you might want to mention that when booking. Ticked all of the boxes for me.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangHoosePenang, Manager at Lang Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2018

Hi Robert,

Thank you for the review and rating.

Lang Hoose Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

A decent place to stay at, nothing to rave about. Ok considering how cheap it is.
Note:
1. Nice staff
2. Very steep staircase, to the point of being almost vertical.
3. A constantly wet (private) bathroom as there are no curtains around the shower area.
4. Used cotton buds found on the floor of room, rusty hairpin found under the blankets of a bed.
5. No breakfast served (to be expected), coffee and tea at the counter.
6. Wifi not great on phones, works well on laptops.

All in all, lower your expectations and it'll be a decent place to stay at.

Room tip: Very steep staircase so avoid staying on the top floors if you have mobility issues.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank xojaynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangHoosePenang, Lang Hoose Management at Lang Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for the review and rating.

We glad that you have given us these feedback in year 2018. Right now we have improve all that you have mention as above. These progress has been taken care and since after that and new look with Lang Hoose since Jan 2019.

We glad your review has make us a better guest house and for us to improve from time to time.

Lang Hoose Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

I was being skeptical towards this place due to its photos and location that I thought was far from the main places in Georgetown, but I was wrong. I went to Georgetown from Kuala Lumpur for a short escape, and if you travel there to Butterworth, Penang and then continue with the ferry, the Ferry Terminal is quite close with Lang Hoose.
The receptionist is nice, they are super helpful and the place itself is comfortable for me and my family. We were in the Family Room with two floors, it was a great experience considering that the living room was downstairs and the bedroom was upstairs. There was no TV but, who does watch TV nowadays right? You got a Wi-Fi which is moderate, not pretty fast. But in conclusion, the place is quite worth to pay.

Room tip: Family room with two floors gives you a perfect stay for you and your family. But it's true that the floor is a bit squeaky.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlA1060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangHoosePenang, Manager at Lang Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2018

HI Al A,

Thank you for the review and rating. We appreciate your feedback and comments for other guest to know about Lang Hoose and to plan their trip to Penang.

Lang Hoose Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Stayed in Family Room with attached bathroom & access to rooftop public area.
The guesthouse environment is cool, for those who like selfie or Instagramer, this would be a good hotel for you. tips, next door is a hidden bar for you to chill out. 5mins walk to armenian street

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michtung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangHoosePenang, Manager at Lang Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2018

Hi Micthtung,

Thank you for the review and rating. We appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews