We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (174)
Filter reviews
174 results
Traveller rating
105
56
9
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
105
56
9
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lebuh pantai street arts little india heritage house pros cons
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 174 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2019

No other words could we describe about this place. Everything was perfect, the room, the location & the hospitality.

We had a fantastic stay in Lang Hoose, our room was super duper big which is a good thing because for those guest who are traveling with huge luggages benefits it a lot. Not for us because we are very light travelers. Lol (when I mention the room is super duper big that doesn’t mean that you can play hide and seek inside hahaha)

Many famous cafes, local street food, funky artworks, art museums & temples (everything mention are just few stone steps away from the guest house. Those who don’t like
walking you can rent bike from the guest house with a minimal fees)

If you feel bored and got nothing in mind, I would suggest you to take the ferry ride from island to mainland relax and enjoy the spectacular view. (The ferry terminal is only few minute walk from the guest house)

Thank You Lang Hoose for the great hospitality, I would definitely make another stay with you soon.

Regards
Terry

Room tip: A socket for hairdryer just below the mirror & a toiletries holder in the shower room.
Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Dreamer64708523371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangHoosePenang, Lang Hoose Management at Lang Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2019

Dear guest,

Thank you for the review and rating. We glad you have given a very brief info about our guesthouse and things to do nearby. This is a good information for other travelers to know.

We would like to add on here about the bicycle rent, at the moment we give free ride only for in-house guest. Besides that, we glad your stay was good and pleasant. Once again thank you for staying with us.

Lang Hoose Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2019

It was a pleasant weekend indeed. Friendly and helpful staffs, clean environment, felt more like a home than a guesthouse. Many antique stuffs at the lobby that are hardly seen now days. I strongly recommend this place and would definitely come again.

Room tip: There is no lift, therefore it is not suitable for elderly guests.
Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JessMann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangHoosePenang, Manager at Lang Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2019

Hi Guest,

Thank you for the review and rating. Well appreciated.

Lang Hoose Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2019

Very homey feel and best ever guesthouse. Very convinent to nearby location and walkable to any tourist area due to good location. The building has just painted and well maintained. Only thing is the it is not sound proff. Overall is good and recomended.

Room tip: No lift but it's very spacious and bread,juice and fruits are given for breakfast which is very good.
Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Navigator48412614097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangHoosePenang, General Manager at Lang Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2019

Hi there,

Thank you for staying with us. We glad you liked your stay with us. As you have mention, the noise level issue is something beyond our control but we will try our level best with something to make it better near future. We hope you have a good day ahead and thank you for your review and rating. Well appreciated.

Lang Hoose Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2019

Starting with the positives; this place is an ideal location, you can walk to all the main areas of interest from here. It is in an original historic building, the beds are large and comfortable and the WiFi is OK. So far so good but this place claims to be a cafe museum and guesthouse but there is no evidence to suggest that it operates as either a cafe or a museum ( no sign informing people that there is a cafe, hardly any crockery, no food etc.) So that leaves it just operating as a guesthouse but the staff only work from 9 - 5 when there are no guests around. You can only check in from 2 - 5 unless you have arranged a later time in advance and there is no check out you just leave your keys. They do not provide housekeeping unless you request it, they do not provide breakfast but you can go down and make yourself a tea or coffee in the 'cafe' kitchen. They have 3 members of staff on duty every day from 9ish to 5ish who spend their days on their phones or occasionally rearranging the tennis rackets on the wall. There was thick dust on the stairs throughout my stay but rearranging tennis rackets was obviously more important than getting the vacuum out. The rooms are large but no thought has been put into the comfort of the guests other than the actual bed. There is nowhere to hang your clothes for example. Mine was a large room which was decorated extremely badly (splodges of paint on the floor and the furniture) and an enormous flat bean bag thing taking up one corner, I have no idea what purpose it was supposed to serve, maybe it was hiding the mother of all paint splodges but it was so manky looking I didn't want to investigate what was underneath!! A chair or a wardrobe, even just a hanging rail would have been better, The whole place just didn't seem to care at all about the comfort of their guests. Malaysia is renowned for its welcoming hospitality but this place was definitely the exception to the rule and appeared to be run entirely for the benefit of the staff. There were TripAdvisor banners and certificates prominently displayed everywhere but it appeared that they had been resting on their laurels for years and expecting good ( but old) TripAdvisor reviews to tide them over. I will not return.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sunnywin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangHoosePenang, Owner at Lang Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2019

Hi Sunnywin,
Thank you for your review and staying with us. We glad you like the stay with us due to the location and other amenities which make you feel good. Let us give you a brief information about our place as we know that most of the guest would not read our website before booking or do not even want to communicate with our staffs for some info. Our café used to be operated for the last 2 years. Due to some circumstances, we stop operating. We didn’t resume it after that. So clearly café was not open for public. You can check in Google it mention guesthouse/hotel only.
We have checked on your itinerary and notice that in your booking it was clearly stated no breakfast provided. Our breakfast options just started in April 2019, two months after your stay. However, we did provide complementary tea and coffee as a good gesture to our in-house guest only. Then we came up with an idea to make a mini pantry which have a toaster, microwave oven, water kettle and water dispenser at our reception for all our customers to use. Our hotel / guesthouse concept is “feel like home” and not hotel concept.
Our reception operates from 9am till 5pm only which was also stated in your booking as this is a guesthouse but we still attend to our guests as soon as they arrive even if it’s after 5pm. They will call us and less than a minute we are there to settle them down with their own room and to check with them if they need any info for sightseeing. We provide a fast checkout process whereby we do not collect any deposit as we trust our customers and if they want to leave very early morning, yes they can, just drop your key and close the door, same like your home.
Housekeeping is only done upon request as we do not want to invade in the customer’s privacy and we do respect that. We have taken all these as majorities customers feedback and not simply we are lazy or “do not” want to clean the room. We also clean the corridors and lobby area every day. With that, we notice you have no problems with any of our staffs while your stay except for your complains towards the employee playing with their phone. The ban bag is for guest to keep their luggage’s. We are in midst of arranging a simple wardrobe in every room for all customers convenient. Previously we have customer complain about bathing system and toilet door. We have installed a new glass door in the toilet so that the water will not be flooded out while bathing.
As for the racket, that is our sports museum which we think you are not a sports fan and you might not know anything. We also have other antiques stuffs like radio, television, typewriter, sewing machine etc. We believe at this modern generation, no one has ever seen what our great grandparents use and do when there was no internet or mobile phone. This is some kind of mini museum that we have showed to our guest for picture taking or to touch and feel the equipment.
From time to time we are getting more feedback and we are doing our best to make our guest feel like home. We glad with your comments and would like to apologize if there was something not good while your stay here. Thank you and have a nice day ahead.
Lang Hoose Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2019 via mobile

Good location. It’s right at the center street in George town so you can walk easily to street arts, museums and food courts. The decor is beautiful and unique. Space room with window and street view is very nice. I really love the ceiling fan. Totally an excellent choice to stay in the town with good price ♥️

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank NGOCBUI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LangHoosePenang, Lang Hoose Management at Lang Hoose, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2019

Hi NgocBui,

Thank you for the review and rating. Well appreciated.

Lang Hoose Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews