We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Booking.com
US$36
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Priceline
US$37
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
eDreams
US$36
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
StayForLong
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,043)
Filter reviews
1,043 results
Traveller rating
621
331
69
11
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
621
331
69
11
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar walking distance tea and coffee jacuzzi georgetown
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 1,043 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2020 via mobile

Stranded in Penang for 6 nights I am so happy I picked here to stay

Spotlessly clean with friendly staff and well appointed rooms

Breakfast and 24 hour tea/coffee included as are free nightly drink on rooftop bar

Only slight negative is the slow internet speed

You could pay a lot more and get a lot less for your money...I will be back

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Scott2573
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 22 January 2020

I didn’t make any advance book but just choose this central located hotel due to it parking space. From the first moment I stepped in I felt welcome from the cheerful staffs! The beds were so comfy, that I didn’t want to leave the room even though the set up was so minimalistic but the room was super clean. The free evening wine on the rooftop was an additional bonus.
Would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Gerard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 January 2020

First, the hotel is perfectly located; right on a bus line and easy to walk to different sites. Our room was lovely, comfortable and clean (except for a few little bugs in the bathroom). The bed was comfy and we really enjoyed our stay. Where on earth is there a hotel that offers free ice cream and wine? They also offer free drinking water.
Those were great touches. The breakfast is ok. Some days were better than others but most of the time it was underwhelming. The staff were nice to us and we would totally come back and stay.

Room tip: 318 was a quiet room
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lifeisgoodinMyanmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 January 2020 via mobile

This would be my 3rd stay here at Chulia Mansion but sadly it disappointed me compared to the previous 2 stays. 1st there are mosquitoes here. I was bitten at least a couple of times each night. You could smell the mosquito repellent along the hallway. Not sure why they couldn’t solve this. Secondly the breakfast was really disappointing. My wife commented that the previous breakfast selections were great and fresh but not this time. The dishes especially the noodles were either dried out or not replenish at all. The remaining selections were not appealing. Very big difference from the last time. I have to say this is a nice hotel with a great location but that’s it. Probably this would be my last time staying there

Date of stay: December 2019
2  Thank 1669patlam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 December 2019 via mobile

Pros and cons: service is good. They offer free biscuit and tea in the afternoon (nothing fancy), free drink (don’t bother to drink the wine). Breakfast was varied and was fresh (better than some 4star hotels such as Capri in KL and the Haven Resort in Ipoh). Be aware if you don’t like noise, ask for a room away from kids (I travelled w kids so I’m not being insensitive). Otherwise location was really good and the room was ok.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Samsue2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews