We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of G Hotel Kelawai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
G Hotel Kelawai
Ranked #12 of 82 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2017

Its a great hotel with very polite staff who are always ready to help. My husband was there on work and as it was his bday, I decided to join him for a quick getaway. As we arrived in this hotel, they welcomed us with ice cream and also upgraded us to the executive room. The hotel had also kept a cake for us in the room. After many years I finally got hubby to cut his bday cake - thanks to G Hotel Kelawai :-)
The rooms were of decent size and done quite well. It had clean sheets and everything was in order. I really like the bathroom which had marble stone finishing. The shower head was a modern one and the "whiteness" of it gave a real clean feeling. The location is good too as there is a shopping mall just next door which has nice eateries within the mall as well as outdoor.

Room Tip: Ask what you want and if available you will surely get it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2017, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShenoyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review, 31 January 2017
Dear Guest,

The team and I am delighted to read that you had enjoyable stay at G Hotel Kelawai and were impressed with the surprise birthday cake.

We thank you for the wonderful feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back for another memorable experience.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    119
    20
    7
    6
See reviews for
87
101
26
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

I love the location that it is just right beside the malls. I travelled with my elders and this location is great because the hotel offers buggy service to the next door mall and from there, you'll also get access to local food area. The services from the G Hotel staffs have always been pleasant. After having stayed on both their hotels, i'd choose the Kelawai because it has a better room and feels newer too.

  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review, 31 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing us on TripAdvisor following your recent stay with us.

G Hotel Kelawai offers a new and different option from the G Hotel Gurney and gives our guest a broad choice of facilities. Apart from this, guest at either property have full usage and cross signage benefits at both hotels.

We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2017 via mobile

Stayed here during my trip to Penang . The bell boy and security staff is friendly and nice but the front desk manager is a little arrogant . Read on trip advisor that there are rooms with sea view . Decided to ask them if they can arranged for me a room with sea view . Quoted from the male manager " we don't have rooms with sea view . The only view is between 2 building to see the sea ."
Was a little shocked by he airs but did not want to make my stay bad from the time i came in . Finally after checking in i ask if there is a smoking room he told me again that the whole hotel there is no smoking room . But when he said this he had a little frustration on his face .
This is a nice hotel with some mixed feelings . Maybe i will stay at g hotel gurney as their staff there are more friendly . Only come here if u want to have your car parked in a secure location .

Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank tommyfang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review, 31 January 2017
Dear Guest,

I was really sorry to read the less than satisfactory arrival experience you encountered and this is totally not acceptable for our usual high standard of services

Please rest assured that your feedback has been raised to our Resident Manager and corrective measure will be taken to prevent any other guest being similarly inconvenience in the future. Our apologies on the inconvenience caused. For a point of future reference, G Hotel Gurney is located on the seafront and therefore certain rooms in the hotel do offer a full Sea-view. Apart from this both G Hotel Gurney and G Hotel Kelawai are non-smoking hotels however both hotels do offer smoking areas.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and we hope that you will choose to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2017

I recently had a 3 day stay at the G Hotel Kelawai for work. It seems to be a brand new hotel that is spotless inside with very modern rooms. The hotel found out that my spouse was going to be accompanying me and upgraded our room to include fresh rose pedals scattered about the entire room. The staff was very attentive and desired to make our stay in Penang as memorable as possible. A special thanks to Front Office Manager Jordon Lim for arranging the extra niceties. Exceeding the guests desires seems to be his top priority.

  • Stayed January 2017, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tala W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review, 31 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor, I am always pleased to hear that our guests were impressed with the services as well as the quality of the hotel facilities.

I was delighted to read that your stay was fantastic especially the excellent services rendered by Jordon and we all look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2017 via mobile

Associates I encountered especially in-room dining and bell/door were all very polite, efficient and non-intrusive.

Room 1938 was very comfortable and well-designed. I was let down a bit by the inconsistent cleaning - on the 3rd day sheets were not changed despite placing the card on the bed, floor not cleaned and some amenities not replenished. There were also minor maintenance issues - sink not draining well, hair dryer not working properly and a pillowcase had several big holes at one end.

I wish they would relook into the in-room dining menu too - lack variety and average food (don't get the nasi lemak, thought I was eating a plate of sour cream).

In all it is still a great value hotel I would not mind booking again.

Stayed January 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank sakura27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review, 31 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently and sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

It was good to know that overall you enjoyed your stay however I was sorry to read that you had encountered some shortcomings in terms of room cleanliness and maintenance issues. You have my assurance that your comments have been raised to our relevant departments and corrective measure will be taken to prevent the same incident from reoccurring in the future. Our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and we do hope to welcome you back in the near future to show our commitment to service excellence.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.2 km away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#16 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
3.2 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#11 of 82 in George Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
3.4 km away
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
Le Dream Boutique Hotel
#2 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Seven Terraces
Seven Terraces
#1 of 82 in George Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
4.3 km away
The Royale Bintang Penang
The Royale Bintang Penang
#17 of 82 in George Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
8.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 12 in Batu Ferringhi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Kelawai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Kelawai

Property: G Hotel Kelawai
Address: 2 Persiaran Maktab, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price range (per night): RM416 - RM713
Hotel Class:5 star — G Hotel Kelawai 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel Kelawai tagged as "Style...Redefined" is where iconic design and cutting edge lifestyle set the stage for exclusive and extraordinary experiences. The hotel houses rooms that are uniquely inspired by innovative design to create energizing space for guests to play or work by day or mix and mingle by night. In addition to that, it will also accommodate three trendy and stylish food and beverage outlets - Spoon; a coffee house, 2PM; lobby lounge and Gravity; a 24th floor rooftop bar that are set to fulfil guests' gastronomic appetites. There are a total of 208 rooms namely 143 Deluxe rooms that are 35sqm, 20 units of Executive Room at 35sqm, 43 units of Executive Premier at 45sqm and 2 units of Executive Premier Suite at 82sqm of which all are crafted to be elegant yet casual. The rooms aim to personify an opulence that is bespoke from its clean architecture, to its interior design and even the thread count in the sheets. Feel right at home, and at the same time, in worlds apart. For the first time, G Hotel is proud to introduce the Serta Bed, the world's best mattress, providing superior support for the best sleep experience ever. In addition, Herman Miller work chair, designed for comfort, inspired by innovation & created for the environment. Amongst others, Appelles products for your showering comfort, 55" Smart LED TV, infinity swimming pool & many other new services and products to complement your stay. Also to make your stay better, G Hotel Kelawai offers a fully equipped gymnasium, business centre and roof top infinity pool. The gymnasium also allows you to use state-of-the-art equipment to break that sweat. You can enjoy the scenic view while working out with our personal trainers should you need any assistance or guidance. For those who have the love for water, the infinity pool on the 24rd floor gives you a chance to take in what Penang has to offer while having a dip. Fathom in the picturesque Penang when you go for a swim as there is a 360° view of the island including the view of the iconic Penang Bridge. At the same time, guest can enjoy a night out with drinks to match and view that intoxicate at the rooftop bar - Gravity. Poised at a vantage point, visit the pinnacle of luxury and bring your lifestyle to the peak with panoramic views of Penang's heritage past. Jive to the coolest tunes, sip on the newest mixes and party the night away. Make your special event a memorable one with the meeting facilities available. For small groups such as company meetings, there are classroom seating rooms being named 'Forum'. They can be used for separate functions or events that are organized by different organizations. If there is a large group gathering, these meeting rooms may be combined for a bigger space in order to accommodate everyone. Meanwhile, the business centre gives guests a chance to go online and do daily tasks. Excite and awaken your senses at our cafe - Spoon that plays host to a myriad of cuisines. Whether it is a casual brunch or a quiet dinner for two, enjoy a wide variety of food cooked fresh. With no compromise to quality ingredients, embark on a culinary adventure set to tantalize your taste buds with culinary fare from around the globe. Carefully crafted and delicately decorated, the lounge - 2pm is the spot that appeals to everyone. Whether it is a cup of freshly brewed coffee with a quiet book, or maybe something stronger to take the edge off after a long day, the lounge is poised to appeal to all. So sit down, relax, and live in the moment in your own cosy and quiet spot. G Hotel Kelawai is located at the prominent location on the bustling Jalan Kelawai, noted to be one of the busiest streets in Penang. Jalan Kelawai is famous for a diverse array of attractions ranging from traditional temples and local eateries to upscale restaurants, boutiques and jewellers. Located within walking distance from the hotel, Gurney Plaza and Gurney Paragon, just about everything Penang has to offer is right at your doorstep for unimaginable convenience. Within mere minutes is also Gurney Drive, home to the congregation of roadside iron chefs. Allow these local fare maestros to take you on journey of gastronomical proportions and sample almost all that Penang is famous for. Open for 24 hours round the clock stomach stuffing, you'll be screaming for reprieve before the week is out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your G Hotel Kelawai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G Hotel Kelawai Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing