We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location hotel”
Review of G Hotel Kelawai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
G Hotel Kelawai
Ranked #13 of 85 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Location of the hotel is near by the malls and also food stall ( hawkers of Penang food start at 6 p.m )
The swimming pool is on the 24th of the hotel which there is also the Gravity Roof Top Bar , must go to this floor , you can see a very beautiful view of Penang from here
If need go to the Adventist hospital , just take the taxi only RM 12 , very near

When we checked in already around 7 p.m. since the 2 hours delay of our flight , even I already made a request for the two single beds but already full
We wait for the room while we had the dinner at the mall
Finally when we go back , they can give us the 2 single beds room but located at the end of the aisle of the floor . May be it seldom use , the bed sheet was rather smell out . We don't ask them to change the sheet since only sleep for several hours , go back to the hotel very late and wake up early
No other things to complain for this hotel

Room Tip: Don't take the room at the end of the aisle of the floor
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yanti Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at G Hotel Kelawai.

I was sorry to read that your request for a Twin Bedded room was not pre-arranged for your arrival. I have discussed this with our Front Office Manager to avoid similar inconveniences in the future. I do apologize for this.

We do hope to welcome you back to show you our commitment to service excellence.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (465)
There are newer reviews for G Hotel Kelawai
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

113 - 117 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

C/in on 21th, c/out on 22nd.
My friend booked the room from one of his ex coworker who now working in G Hotel Kelawai. He get confirmation from her that the rate is RM400++, but when we check in and the bill show RM700++. We can't get clarification since she is not on duty on that period and the next day is her off day. So we just let it be. Maybe we set our expectations too high so when we get inside the room, we feel disappointed. It's just a normal room that did not worth the price! It did not even provide a hair dryer! Nothing special about the decoration. Standing shower, mini bar, king size bed, a table and tv. Everything is fine, just not worth the money. Just a normal b/f as well. Btw, the staffs are polite and professional.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wan1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with the rate you paid however all our rates are in relation to the demand within the Penang marketplace and our product offering. Each of our 208 guest rooms are furnished with Italian furniture, Herman Miller Eco friendly designed work chair, Serta Mattresses, 55inch HD LED Smart television, SoundFreq Bluetooth stereo to name a few of the unique and luxury amenities provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Good location - between the two malls - Gurney Plaza and Paragon
Good rooms - with free minibar (1coke, 1sprite, 1lychee drink, 1 soymilk, 1 chocolate)
Good service
Good pool on the rooftop
Friendly staff

Modern Hotel

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank arjungupta101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and posting your review on TripAdvisor.
We are lucky to have such wonderful associates who work very hard to provide great guest experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Good interior and cozy friendly service. Breakfast is abundance of choices. Like to stay there again when i go for penang. Modern hotel with good interior design, if you like modern minimalist. This g kelawai is a great choice

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank albert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and for posting your positive feedback.

It is our great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

G Hotel Kelawai is without doubt one of the best five star hotels on the island. We were impressed by the beautiful contemporary yet timeless design. The rooms were large (with much light) and also tastefully furnished. The tv was humongous, the only downside was that many channels were non-hd and therefore not that scrisp. The breakfast was very good, with a wide choice and a very pleasant atmosphere during breakfast time (no big crowds).

Travelers with a decent travel budget will have a splendid time at G Hotel Kelawai. The infinity pool is truly wonderful, you can enjoy a fantastic view of the outskirts of Georgetown (the views are especially great in the evening).

If you are a big fan of shopping, then the hotel is your best choice because of its perfect location between Gurney Paragon and Gurney Plaza. If you like good food, then too this hotel is the place to be with several local eateries and also dozens of restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. Looking for a luxurious and trendy hotel in Georgetown, and would you like to like to enjoy a very stylish décor and a relaxing rooftop lounge with infinity pool, then G Hotel Kelawai comes highly recommended . We can’t wait to stay there again (and again!).

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Devin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at G Hotel Kelawai.

It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.2 km away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 85 in George Town
1,656 reviews
3.2 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#12 of 85 in George Town
3,628 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
3.2 km away
The Edison George Town, Penang
8.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Kelawai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Kelawai

Address: 2 Persiaran Maktab, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price Range: RM462 - RM718 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — G Hotel Kelawai 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel Kelawai tagged as "Style...Redefined" is where iconic design and cutting edge lifestyle set the stage for exclusive and extraordinary experiences. The hotel houses rooms that are uniquely inspired by innovative design to create energizing space for guests to play or work by day or mix and mingle by night. In addition to that, it will also accommodate three trendy and stylish food and beverage outlets - Spoon; a coffee house, 2PM; lobby lounge and Gravity; a 24th floor rooftop bar that are set to fulfil guests' gastronomic appetites. There are a total of 208 rooms namely 143 Deluxe rooms that are 35sqm, 20 units of Executive Room at 35sqm, 43 units of Executive Premier at 45sqm and 2 units of Executive Premier Suite at 82sqm of which all are crafted to be elegant yet casual. The rooms aim to personify an opulence that is bespoke from its clean architecture, to its interior design and even the thread count in the sheets. Feel right at home, and at the same time, in worlds apart. For the first time, G Hotel is proud to introduce the Serta Bed, the world's best mattress, providing superior support for the best sleep experience ever. In addition, Herman Miller work chair, designed for comfort, inspired by innovation & created for the environment. Amongst others, Appelles products for your showering comfort, 55" Smart LED TV, infinity swimming pool & many other new services and products to complement your stay. Also to make your stay better, G Hotel Kelawai offers a fully equipped gymnasium, business centre and roof top infinity pool. The gymnasium also allows you to use state-of-the-art equipment to break that sweat. You can enjoy the scenic view while working out with our personal trainers should you need any assistance or guidance. For those who have the love for water, the infinity pool on the 24rd floor gives you a chance to take in what Penang has to offer while having a dip. Fathom in the picturesque Penang when you go for a swim as there is a 360° view of the island including the view of the iconic Penang Bridge. At the same time, guest can enjoy a night out with drinks to match and view that intoxicate at the rooftop bar - Gravity. Poised at a vantage point, visit the pinnacle of luxury and bring your lifestyle to the peak with panoramic views of Penang's heritage past. Jive to the coolest tunes, sip on the newest mixes and party the night away. Make your special event a memorable one with the meeting facilities available. For small groups such as company meetings, there are classroom seating rooms being named 'Forum'. They can be used for separate functions or events that are organized by different organizations. If there is a large group gathering, these meeting rooms may be combined for a bigger space in order to accommodate everyone. Meanwhile, the business centre gives guests a chance to go online and do daily tasks. Excite and awaken your senses at our cafe - Spoon that plays host to a myriad of cuisines. Whether it is a casual brunch or a quiet dinner for two, enjoy a wide variety of food cooked fresh. With no compromise to quality ingredients, embark on a culinary adventure set to tantalize your taste buds with culinary fare from around the globe. Carefully crafted and delicately decorated, the lounge - 2pm is the spot that appeals to everyone. Whether it is a cup of freshly brewed coffee with a quiet book, or maybe something stronger to take the edge off after a long day, the lounge is poised to appeal to all. So sit down, relax, and live in the moment in your own cosy and quiet spot. G Hotel Kelawai is located at the prominent location on the bustling Jalan Kelawai, noted to be one of the busiest streets in Penang. Jalan Kelawai is famous for a diverse array of attractions ranging from traditional temples and local eateries to upscale restaurants, boutiques and jewellers. Located within walking distance from the hotel, Gurney Plaza and Gurney Paragon, just about everything Penang has to offer is right at your doorstep for unimaginable convenience. Within mere minutes is also Gurney Drive, home to the congregation of roadside iron chefs. Allow these local fare maestros to take you on journey of gastronomical proportions and sample almost all that Penang is famous for. Open for 24 hours round the clock stomach stuffing, you'll be screaming for reprieve before the week is out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, ACCOR and Agoda so you can book your G Hotel Kelawai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G Hotel Kelawai Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing