We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
G Hotel Kelawai
Nearby Hotels
US$75
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royale Chulan Penang(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$114
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$116/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$67
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$63
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$55
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$31
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$209
US$143
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
US$142
US$123
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (584)
Filter reviews
584 results
Traveller rating
351
175
30
12
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
351
175
30
12
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roombuggy servicegurney plazaice creamgravity barbetween shoppingrooftop poolresident managersister hotelstylish hotelkit katcomplimentary mini barpillow menubig shoppingtop floorturn down serviceupon check
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 584 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Location of the hotel is near by the malls and also food stall ( hawkers of Penang food start at 6 p.m )
The swimming pool is on the 24th of the hotel which there is also the Gravity Roof Top Bar , must go to this floor , you can see a very beautiful view of Penang from here
If need go to the Adventist hospital , just take the taxi only RM 12 , very near

When we checked in already around 7 p.m. since the 2 hours delay of our flight , even I already made a request for the two single beds but already full
We wait for the room while we had the dinner at the mall
Finally when we go back , they can give us the 2 single beds room but located at the end of the aisle of the floor . May be it seldom use , the bed sheet was rather smell out . We don't ask them to change the sheet since only sleep for several hours , go back to the hotel very late and wake up early
No other things to complain for this hotel

Room Tip: Don't take the room at the end of the aisle of the floor
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yanti Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at G Hotel Kelawai.

I was sorry to read that your request for a Twin Bedded room was not pre-arranged for your arrival. I have discussed this with our Front Office Manager to avoid similar inconveniences in the future. I do apologize for this.

We do hope to welcome you back to show you our commitment to service excellence.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

C/in on 21th, c/out on 22nd.
My friend booked the room from one of his ex coworker who now working in G Hotel Kelawai. He get confirmation from her that the rate is RM400++, but when we check in and the bill show RM700++. We can't get clarification since she is not on duty on that period and the next day is her off day. So we just let it be. Maybe we set our expectations too high so when we get inside the room, we feel disappointed. It's just a normal room that did not worth the price! It did not even provide a hair dryer! Nothing special about the decoration. Standing shower, mini bar, king size bed, a table and tv. Everything is fine, just not worth the money. Just a normal b/f as well. Btw, the staffs are polite and professional.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wan1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with the rate you paid however all our rates are in relation to the demand within the Penang marketplace and our product offering. Each of our 208 guest rooms are furnished with Italian furniture, Herman Miller Eco friendly designed work chair, Serta Mattresses, 55inch HD LED Smart television, SoundFreq Bluetooth stereo to name a few of the unique and luxury amenities provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Good location - between the two malls - Gurney Plaza and Paragon
Good rooms - with free minibar (1coke, 1sprite, 1lychee drink, 1 soymilk, 1 chocolate)
Good service
Good pool on the rooftop
Friendly staff

Modern Hotel

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank arjungupta101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and posting your review on TripAdvisor.
We are lucky to have such wonderful associates who work very hard to provide great guest experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Good interior and cozy friendly service. Breakfast is abundance of choices. Like to stay there again when i go for penang. Modern hotel with good interior design, if you like modern minimalist. This g kelawai is a great choice

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank albert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and for posting your positive feedback.

It is our great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2017

G Hotel Kelawai is without doubt one of the best five star hotels on the island. We were impressed by the beautiful contemporary yet timeless design. The rooms were large (with much light) and also tastefully furnished. The tv was humongous, the only downside was that many channels were non-hd and therefore not that scrisp. The breakfast was very good, with a wide choice and a very pleasant atmosphere during breakfast time (no big crowds).

Travelers with a decent travel budget will have a splendid time at G Hotel Kelawai. The infinity pool is truly wonderful, you can enjoy a fantastic view of the outskirts of Georgetown (the views are especially great in the evening).

If you are a big fan of shopping, then the hotel is your best choice because of its perfect location between Gurney Paragon and Gurney Plaza. If you like good food, then too this hotel is the place to be with several local eateries and also dozens of restaurants in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. Looking for a luxurious and trendy hotel in Georgetown, and would you like to like to enjoy a very stylish décor and a relaxing rooftop lounge with infinity pool, then G Hotel Kelawai comes highly recommended . We can’t wait to stay there again (and again!).

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Devin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at G Hotel Kelawai.

It is our pleasure to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews