We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
G Hotel Kelawai
Nearby Hotels
G Hotel Gurney(George Town)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seven Terraces(George Town)
US$176
US$160
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$144
US$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$68
US$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Chulia Mansion(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$39
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$21
US$19
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Armenian Street Heritage Hotel(George Town)(Great Value!)
US$31
US$29
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
346
173
29
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
346
173
29
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roombuggy servicegurney plazagravity barbetween shoppingresident managerrooftop poolsister hotelstylish hotelkit katwelcome ice creamfree mini barpillow menubig shoppingturn down servicetop floorupon check
Filter
Updating list...
200 - 205 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Hotel is still quite new so all amenities are in great condition. A wonderful modern room with a comfortable bed. Front desk both at lobby and executive lobby is very friendly and accomodating. Shopping malls around the area.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
Thank DitaPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and for posting your positive feedback.

It is our great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Location of the hotel is near by the malls and also food stall ( hawkers of Penang food start at 6 p.m )
The swimming pool is on the 24th of the hotel which there is also the Gravity Roof Top Bar , must go to this floor , you can see a very beautiful view of Penang from here
If need go to the Adventist hospital , just take the taxi only RM 12 , very near

When we checked in already around 7 p.m. since the 2 hours delay of our flight , even I already made a request for the two single beds but already full
We wait for the room while we had the dinner at the mall
Finally when we go back , they can give us the 2 single beds room but located at the end of the aisle of the floor . May be it seldom use , the bed sheet was rather smell out . We don't ask them to change the sheet since only sleep for several hours , go back to the hotel very late and wake up early
No other things to complain for this hotel

Room Tip: Don't take the room at the end of the aisle of the floor
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Yanti Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at G Hotel Kelawai.

I was sorry to read that your request for a Twin Bedded room was not pre-arranged for your arrival. I have discussed this with our Front Office Manager to avoid similar inconveniences in the future. I do apologize for this.

We do hope to welcome you back to show you our commitment to service excellence.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

C/in on 21th, c/out on 22nd.
My friend booked the room from one of his ex coworker who now working in G Hotel Kelawai. He get confirmation from her that the rate is RM400++, but when we check in and the bill show RM700++. We can't get clarification since she is not on duty on that period and the next day is her off day. So we just let it be. Maybe we set our expectations too high so when we get inside the room, we feel disappointed. It's just a normal room that did not worth the price! It did not even provide a hair dryer! Nothing special about the decoration. Standing shower, mini bar, king size bed, a table and tv. Everything is fine, just not worth the money. Just a normal b/f as well. Btw, the staffs are polite and professional.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank wan1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with the rate you paid however all our rates are in relation to the demand within the Penang marketplace and our product offering. Each of our 208 guest rooms are furnished with Italian furniture, Herman Miller Eco friendly designed work chair, Serta Mattresses, 55inch HD LED Smart television, SoundFreq Bluetooth stereo to name a few of the unique and luxury amenities provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Good location - between the two malls - Gurney Plaza and Paragon
Good rooms - with free minibar (1coke, 1sprite, 1lychee drink, 1 soymilk, 1 chocolate)
Good service
Good pool on the rooftop
Friendly staff

Modern Hotel

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank arjungupta101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and posting your review on TripAdvisor.
We are lucky to have such wonderful associates who work very hard to provide great guest experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017 via mobile

Good interior and cozy friendly service. Breakfast is abundance of choices. Like to stay there again when i go for penang. Modern hotel with good interior design, if you like modern minimalist. This g kelawai is a great choice

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank albert k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and for posting your positive feedback.

It is our great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews