We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of G Hotel Kelawai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 17 more sites!
G Hotel Kelawai
Ranked #11 of 84 Hotels in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed 6 March 2017 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay in Penang at the G Hotel. Fantastic place to stay, and very comfortable with beautiful rooms and super comfortable beds. Only problem we experienced is the fact we had no wifi for 3 days and the hotel didn't seem to be in any hurry to fix it. We could also hear comments from many other guests also expressing their dissatisfaction. If you use wifi when travelling just ensure this is working before booking.

Stayed March 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LesleyWoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review, 23 March 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us recently and sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I was sorry to read that you had encountered some challenges with the internet connection during your stay. The hotel has an onsite Internet Technical service department to ensure of smooth connectivity so I was surprised to learn of your experience of no internet. I have checked our records and noted there was no other reported outages as you had mentioned however I do apologize for your experience.

Overall I am pleased your stay was enjoyable and we do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    145
    24
    8
    10
See reviews for
115
124
32
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

It's right behind G Hotel Gurney, about 250m walk from the original G. But it's a world of difference! The peace and quietness you enjoy here feel so much more relaxing. The layout of the lobby area is not that great. It seems like it was partitioned 50% from the ground floor area. Why they wouldn't use the full area puzzled me.
The driveway leading to the front door of the hotel has very short shelter. It will be very inconvenient for guests on rainy days.
The 24 hours Gym was great. Small and elegant with great views! Gravity rooftop bar was really cool with a infinity pool next to it. Wonderful place to hangout for happy hours and watch the sky changes color as the sun sets.
Room was spacious and well maintained.

Stayed March 2017, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ling101028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review, 6 March 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor and we are happy to read that you had an enjoyable stay in G Hotel Kelawai.

G Hotel Kelawai does give our guest a unique alternative to G Hotel Gurney. All in house guest are entitled to use all the facilities at each of our properties – which are located only a 5 minutes’ walk from each other or a 2 minute buggy ride.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to write and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Hotel is still quite new so all amenities are in great condition. A wonderful modern room with a comfortable bed. Front desk both at lobby and executive lobby is very friendly and accomodating. Shopping malls around the area.

Stayed February 2017, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank DitaPerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review, 6 March 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and for posting your positive feedback.

It is our great pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2017

Location of the hotel is near by the malls and also food stall ( hawkers of Penang food start at 6 p.m )
The swimming pool is on the 24th of the hotel which there is also the Gravity Roof Top Bar , must go to this floor , you can see a very beautiful view of Penang from here
If need go to the Adventist hospital , just take the taxi only RM 12 , very near

When we checked in already around 7 p.m. since the 2 hours delay of our flight , even I already made a request for the two single beds but already full
We wait for the room while we had the dinner at the mall
Finally when we go back , they can give us the 2 single beds room but located at the end of the aisle of the floor . May be it seldom use , the bed sheet was rather smell out . We don't ask them to change the sheet since only sleep for several hours , go back to the hotel very late and wake up early
No other things to complain for this hotel

Room Tip: Don't take the room at the end of the aisle of the floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yanti Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review, 6 March 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor following your recent stay at G Hotel Kelawai.

I was sorry to read that your request for a Twin Bedded room was not pre-arranged for your arrival. I have discussed this with our Front Office Manager to avoid similar inconveniences in the future. I do apologize for this.

We do hope to welcome you back to show you our commitment to service excellence.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perak, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2017 via mobile

C/in on 21th, c/out on 22nd.
My friend booked the room from one of his ex coworker who now working in G Hotel Kelawai. He get confirmation from her that the rate is RM400++, but when we check in and the bill show RM700++. We can't get clarification since she is not on duty on that period and the next day is her off day. So we just let it be. Maybe we set our expectations too high so when we get inside the room, we feel disappointed. It's just a normal room that did not worth the price! It did not even provide a hair dryer! Nothing special about the decoration. Standing shower, mini bar, king size bed, a table and tv. Everything is fine, just not worth the money. Just a normal b/f as well. Btw, the staffs are polite and professional.

Stayed February 2017, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wan1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PenangGHotel, General Manager at G Hotel Kelawai, responded to this review, 6 March 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at G Hotel Kelawai and posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction with the rate you paid however all our rates are in relation to the demand within the Penang marketplace and our product offering. Each of our 208 guest rooms are furnished with Italian furniture, Herman Miller Eco friendly designed work chair, Serta Mattresses, 55inch HD LED Smart television, SoundFreq Bluetooth stereo to name a few of the unique and luxury amenities provided.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Michael Hanratty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near George Town
0.2 km away
G Hotel Gurney
G Hotel Gurney
#15 of 84 in George Town
1,632 reviews
3.2 km away
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
Eastern & Oriental Hotel
#10 of 84 in George Town
3,578 reviews
3.3 km away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
The Edison George Town, Penang
3.0 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
8.4 km away
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
Hard Rock Hotel Penang
#2 of 11 in Batu Ferringhi
4,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to G Hotel Kelawai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about G Hotel Kelawai

Property: G Hotel Kelawai
Address: 2 Persiaran Maktab, George Town, Penang Island 10250, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Penang Island > George Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in George Town
Price range (per night): RM408 - RM726
Hotel Class:5 star — G Hotel Kelawai 5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
G Hotel Kelawai tagged as "Style...Redefined" is where iconic design and cutting edge lifestyle set the stage for exclusive and extraordinary experiences. The hotel houses rooms that are uniquely inspired by innovative design to create energizing space for guests to play or work by day or mix and mingle by night. In addition to that, it will also accommodate three trendy and stylish food and beverage outlets - Spoon; a coffee house, 2PM; lobby lounge and Gravity; a 24th floor rooftop bar that are set to fulfil guests' gastronomic appetites. There are a total of 208 rooms namely 143 Deluxe rooms that are 35sqm, 20 units of Executive Room at 35sqm, 43 units of Executive Premier at 45sqm and 2 units of Executive Premier Suite at 82sqm of which all are crafted to be elegant yet casual. The rooms aim to personify an opulence that is bespoke from its clean architecture, to its interior design and even the thread count in the sheets. Feel right at home, and at the same time, in worlds apart. For the first time, G Hotel is proud to introduce the Serta Bed, the world's best mattress, providing superior support for the best sleep experience ever. In addition, Herman Miller work chair, designed for comfort, inspired by innovation & created for the environment. Amongst others, Appelles products for your showering comfort, 55" Smart LED TV, infinity swimming pool & many other new services and products to complement your stay. Also to make your stay better, G Hotel Kelawai offers a fully equipped gymnasium, business centre and roof top infinity pool. The gymnasium also allows you to use state-of-the-art equipment to break that sweat. You can enjoy the scenic view while working out with our personal trainers should you need any assistance or guidance. For those who have the love for water, the infinity pool on the 24rd floor gives you a chance to take in what Penang has to offer while having a dip. Fathom in the picturesque Penang when you go for a swim as there is a 360° view of the island including the view of the iconic Penang Bridge. At the same time, guest can enjoy a night out with drinks to match and view that intoxicate at the rooftop bar - Gravity. Poised at a vantage point, visit the pinnacle of luxury and bring your lifestyle to the peak with panoramic views of Penang's heritage past. Jive to the coolest tunes, sip on the newest mixes and party the night away. Make your special event a memorable one with the meeting facilities available. For small groups such as company meetings, there are classroom seating rooms being named 'Forum'. They can be used for separate functions or events that are organized by different organizations. If there is a large group gathering, these meeting rooms may be combined for a bigger space in order to accommodate everyone. Meanwhile, the business centre gives guests a chance to go online and do daily tasks. Excite and awaken your senses at our cafe - Spoon that plays host to a myriad of cuisines. Whether it is a casual brunch or a quiet dinner for two, enjoy a wide variety of food cooked fresh. With no compromise to quality ingredients, embark on a culinary adventure set to tantalize your taste buds with culinary fare from around the globe. Carefully crafted and delicately decorated, the lounge - 2pm is the spot that appeals to everyone. Whether it is a cup of freshly brewed coffee with a quiet book, or maybe something stronger to take the edge off after a long day, the lounge is poised to appeal to all. So sit down, relax, and live in the moment in your own cosy and quiet spot. G Hotel Kelawai is located at the prominent location on the bustling Jalan Kelawai, noted to be one of the busiest streets in Penang. Jalan Kelawai is famous for a diverse array of attractions ranging from traditional temples and local eateries to upscale restaurants, boutiques and jewellers. Located within walking distance from the hotel, Gurney Plaza and Gurney Paragon, just about everything Penang has to offer is right at your doorstep for unimaginable convenience. Within mere minutes is also Gurney Drive, home to the congregation of roadside iron chefs. Allow these local fare maestros to take you on journey of gastronomical proportions and sample almost all that Penang is famous for. Open for 24 hours round the clock stomach stuffing, you'll be screaming for reprieve before the week is out. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, ACCOR, Asiatravel.com Holdings and HotelQuickly so you can book your G Hotel Kelawai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
G Hotel Kelawai Penang/George Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing