We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Favourite restaurant”

Knife and Fork Restaurant
Ranked #44 of 1,127 Restaurants in George Town
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We love this resaurant and visit it each time we go to penang. We have always had a delicious western type meal just as relief from local food.

Date of visit: September 2017
Thank Judith D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2017

The Knife and Fork is back! We have been going to Liang and Loon’s lunchtime café, down the alleyway to the beach beside Golden Sands Hotel, for some time (reviewed separately) but hadn’t been to their other venture. The Knife and Fork restaurant, located on the second floor of the Eden Parade building at the Petronas / MacDonalds corner in Batu Ferringhi. Just go in the centre lobby and up in the lift (don’t be put off by the building; it is the food you are here for) and go around the outside balcony to the right to get to the restaurant. If you go to the left you will go through Andrew’s Kampung restaurant (No1 restaurant in Batu Ferringhi). It won’t surprise you to know that Liang is Andrew’s sister.

The welcome is the thing that grabs you as you enter. If there ever was an effervescent host; it is Liang. She claps excitedly when you arrive. We told her we were coming so Liang and Loon were waiting patiently for us. She had only had one couple the first night and two, including us, the second. But she was happy with that, it is early days.

The restaurant has been closed for a while, due to illness in the family, but reopened last Thursday night. At the moment it is only for Thursday to Sunday nights. Liang has not advertised, she is working on word of mouth at the moment and see how it works out. Liang has a large expat and Australian tourist following and I’m sure they will follow again.

Surprisingly, after you have been to the beachside café, and had the best Asian food, the menu here is all Western. This is out of deference, and respect, to her brother’s restaurant on the same floor. Mores the pity. However, don’t let that put you off. If you have been eating rice and noodles for the past five weeks a change to Western is welcome. And this is some of the best, and certainly cheapest, we have had.

It is a set menu. Three courses; soup of the day, main and dessert, with tea or coffee. All for the ridiculous price of MR50 for two – that’s approx. AUD16. Ridiculous!
Soup of the Day was tomato. Beautifully fresh and hot. I had the best Lambs Fry I have had, and I like Lambs Fry – liver and crunchy bacon bits in a thick gravy. The main comes with a choice of two sides from fries, wedges, mashed potato, peas, and steamed vegetables. Obviously for me mashed potato and peas. Beautifully creamy and the biggest, fresh green peas. It was a great meal. My wife had crispy chicken with a great, very peppery sauce and steamed vegetables. Again fresh, succulent chicken and lovely vegetables. If you would like a change of combinations; just ask.

Dessert was banana mousse. Light and very refreshing. All in all a great experience. There was beer and soft drinks in the fridge. Not on the menu, but just ask.

It would be great to see Liang and Loon producing their beautiful Asian menu as well as the Western. However, that is their decision at the moment, and considering they are in the café from 1130 until 1530 daily, except Tuesday. And the Knife and Fork from Thursday until Sunday, as well as a young family, I think it is a fair call.

If our experience was anything to go by the Knife and Fork will be very successful, as it was before

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank TasMissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

Are you anywhere near Batu Feringgi? Then you MUST visit this little restaurant. The owner does whatever is in her power to make you feel comfortable, happy and well-fed. We celebrated a birthday and she (Liang) went out of her way to make us feel festive. Her food is simple, well cooked and tasty, just as we like it. Of course we already knew the owner for her Asian food at the Stone Tables (go there also, open from 11 am untill about 14.30 certainly worth the visit) but as it turns out, she's a natural in all cuisines. All in all, this is a restaurant and a cook I can recommend to EVERYONE.

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank Freddy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

Great service as always from Liang and Loon. Superb fish and chips, brilliant chicken dishes and lovely mashed potatoes! The place to go when the delights of malay, indian and chinese food are wearing just a little.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Just realized I did not review this lovely place from our 3 week visit to Penang last year so here we go!
It has not changed for a couple of years now, other than the prices have gone up slightly!
If I was hanging around the beach all the time or at a resort near by I would eat here a few times a week time other than Tuesdays when they are closed!
NEVER had a bad meal there, always cooked fresh on the spot for you and such a nice menu of food to choose from!
They have set menus also....will be heading back there on our next trip... after a few days of good Penang Street Food its always good to have some good old Pommy (no offence to the English intended) styles of food.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aides17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knife and Fork Restaurant also viewed

Penang Island, Penang
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
Batu Ferringhi, Penang Island
 

Been to Knife and Fork Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing