We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Edutainment”

Teochew Puppet and Opera House
Ranked #64 of 148 things to do in George Town
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Situated in an old-style Penang house with its long, narrow architecture and a central atrium, Teochew Puppet and Opera House is a museum of Teochew opera art, the first of its kind in Malaysia. The museum contains exhibits of Teochew iron-rod puppets as well as costumes and props from live-size Teochew opera, telling the story of a remarkable family of opera performers over five generations. Visitors may also try on authentic opera costumes and try their hand at manipulating the unique iron-rod puppets. Though it is primarily an exhibition space, the Teochew Puppet & Opera House still occasionally holds opera performances, talks and workshops in the premises after hours.
Reviewed 16 April 2017 via mobile

The host was great and for once as a Chinese I got to know more about the making of puppet and the opera house. We enjoyed ourselves playing the puppet too.

Kudos to the early folks who perform such arts.

2  Thank RinaLoveslife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPOH, Owner at Teochew Puppet and Opera House, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thanks for your compliments! We are happy to know that you girls enjoy in our museum !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"personal tour"
in 2 reviews
"small museum"
in 5 reviews
"armenian street"
in 2 reviews
"costumes"
in 10 reviews
"shophouse"
in 5 reviews
"theatre"
in 2 reviews
"housed"
in 4 reviews
"knowledge"
in 3 reviews
"arts"
in 2 reviews
"culture"
in 2 reviews
"penang"
in 5 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

I was the only one visitor to the place when i visited. The host was very nice and helpful. He explain with good knowledge and also let me try the puppet.

5  Thank Pitchaya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPOH, Owner at Teochew Puppet and Opera House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

thanks for visiting our museum, and your valuable comment!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2016 via mobile

Right at the end of Armenian Street this gem is somewhat hidden from general view, but is well worth seeking out. For a really modest entry fee you are immersed in the world of Chinese Puppet Opera. The guide Alex was most informative, and we got to try our hand at operating one of the puppets. There are old manuscripts of operas as well as many puppets, instruments used in the operas, assorted puppet accessories as well as costumes from human sized operas. This is a glimpse into an ancients art that is fast disappearing and skills that have passed down through generations. Highly recommended. I think they do a show on Sunday's. Unfortunately we missed it.

2  Thank deharo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TPOH, Owner at Teochew Puppet and Opera House, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2016

thank you for visiting our museum, and your valuable comment !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2016

this small museum provides an intriguing window into the world of teochew puppetry. while the set up is amateurish, the collection of puppets makes up for the paucity of explanations and exhibition text. what is encouraging is how the troupe here has young members who are continuing with the tradition of chinese puppetry and opera. we were also lucky to catch the troupe rehearsing for a performance of the "journey to the west". i look forward to visiting the space again!

2  Thank lihaiwubi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2016

The collection of puppets gave an inexpensive insight into the world of Chinese puppetry. Traditional stories are told through this medium. Although the artefacts are here no performances were demonstrated on the day we visited. Hopefully we can return at Chinese New Year when performances may be held somewhere in Georgetown. Some descriptions are in English but the script was quite small which made it difficult to read.

2  Thank Sprucette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teochew Puppet and Opera House also viewed

 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Teochew Puppet and Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing