We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sri Ananda Bahwan

Sri Ananda Bahwan
Ranked #33 of 870 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, After-hours, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
131 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Superb.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Forget about what it looks like. Just get in there and order yourself some truly superb food. I ordered a vegetarian meal. Half a dozen different dishes. Served on a banana leaf. With rice and bread to mop up the sauces. It was delicious. All washed down with a glass of milky iced Milo.

Visited March 2016
Helpful?
Thank Steven F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    161
    50
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Naan to curried dishes”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2017 via mobile

By the corner at Lebuh Penang..where it operates..morning business could be packed with customers...the regulars from nearby offices...or those who know where it stands. From Naan to curried dishes with rice...sweeten sweets for sweet tooth...one could choose. As it was close to Little India...walk to where one could buy either gold..sarees..jewelleries...or sumptious Indian food. Nearby interactive museums...temples...money changers ...budget hotels offer their services. By expending the restaurants throughout...you could also go to Tanjung Bunga to savor.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank safwanlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent eats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2017

This place doesn't look much on the outside, but once inside, it opens out into a large dining hall. Food was recommended by staff. Our meal was great - and meals on neighbouring tables also looked good. Just the right amount of spice in the curry. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank suggs1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The food's worth the poor service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2017

We'd visited here when we were last in George Town 3 years ago and as it was so good we thought we'd see if our memories were accurate. As far as the food is concerned it's still very good - we had vegetable pakora, a mushroom dish and aloo gobi, with plain rice. The pakora was excellent and the other 2 dishes extremely good. The only issue I have with the restaurant is the service - evident the servers didn't attend charm school and they must all have problems with their teeth as none deemed it appropriate for us to see their pearly whites in a smile. For that they go from being excellent to merely very good. Bit of a shame really. Still worth the visit for the food though and as it's the reason for being there - still recommended.

  • Visited January 2017
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmA02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
townsville
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Stop Over in Georgetown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

New Years Day 2017 decided to visit Little India. After a little shopping we decided to find a place for some lunch. We decided on "SRI ANANDA BAHWAN" on Penang St. what a great surprise, an amazing display of the various types of Indian food. We settled on Tandoori chicken, selection of vegetable dishes, Naan, Bean kurd chicken. Well it was in our opinion fantastic. Great service, great food so very authentic. So if you are ever in George Town and looking for Indian food I suggest you give it a try, I'm sure you will not be disappointed.
Cheers

Visited January 2017
Helpful?
Thank Ron l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sri Ananda Bahwan also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 
George Town, Penang Island
George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Sri Ananda Bahwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing