We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Food good service bad ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sri Ananda Bahwan

Sri Ananda Bahwan
Ranked #33 of 870 Restaurants in George Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Food good service bad ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What i ate was okay, good flavour..not really the sweet and creamy chicken korma i was hoping for but it tasted nice. Only the chicken texture was a bit strange. But what I really didn't like was that I didn't feel welcome as a tourist. Being a girl and being there alone made me feel uncomfortable. Like they were annoyed by just another tourist in shorts.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Verawasthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    161
    50
    10
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent pure vegetarian restaurant for a cheap price!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2017

Real Indian food, with a great variety of choices, all lacto-vegetarians (no eggs, no fish, no meet products). Very delicious food in a relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited January 2017
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank giodiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Super tasty and super cheap”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2017

Must visit for all those craving for fulfilling south indian meal in penang. Kindly dont be mislead by few pics over here that shows the banner depicting pure vegetarian. This restaurant serves non vegetarian food and that too extremely tasty. visited both the days we were in penang and loved the food alot. Highly recommended specially for Indians who have a taste for it.

Visited November 2016
Helpful?
Thank NSehgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
“Good and cheap food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Local place with good indian food.
But too much spicy in spite of the request. Cheese nan was a little bit poor in cheese and they choose the flavor of ice cream for us.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exceptional Cuisine ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2017 via mobile

Simply orgasmic!

I'll post pictures on my next visit! The buttered nan, chicken tandoori and cream spinach with ricotta cheese was just delicious! A friend ordered for me...I will try something new next time.

Visited February 2017
Helpful?
Thank Felix F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sri Ananda Bahwan also viewed

George Town, Penang Island
 

Been to Sri Ananda Bahwan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing