We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
S Hotel(Perai)
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SE Hotel 1(Perai)
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$29
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Sun Stay Inn(Perai)(Great Value!)
US$21
US$19
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pearl View Hotel(Butterworth)
US$42
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
54
125
52
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
125
52
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshopping mallbusiness tripbig roomcomplimentary mini barnice bedvalue for moneymy mumsuperior roomgood pointsair conditionervery nice hotelbuffet breakfastnice breakfastdecent stayrooms are spaciousstrategic locationcomfortable stay
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2016

Drove from Kuala Lumpur, this was our family weekend trip.

Parked our car at the hotel car park on the first day we arrived, after checked in and left the luggage in the room, ready to out for sight seeing and discovered our car driver side mirror was missing. Immediately complained to the hotel staff, but the duty manager Mr Zamri said there was nothing he can do although our car is parked in hotel car park, a hotel's property, the hotel is not responsible of any loss of the guest even if the car is missing!! The answer from him is truly unsatisfactory, disappointed and below the standard i would expect from a 4 star hotel.

We did speak to another staff - hotel operations manager Mr Moses, however is still unable to solve the problem. The hotel refused to take responsible to compensate our loss of the side mirror. When i asked the reason why, they can't provide just told that did not approve by their management, again a truly disappointed replied.

Our trip to Penang was ruined due to the poor service and lack of security from the hotel resulting inconvenience and loss of enjoyment of what should have been a memorable family trip. Also, now we have had to pay additional cost to fix the side mirror from our own pocket.

As a paying guest, i believe we are entitled to the services provided by the hotel to carry out reasonable care and skill. As such i believe it is reasonable for me to demand for such compensation.

I've travelled a lot and i have never ever felt so unsafe. I would like to alerts others about my experience at this hotel too. If you are driving a car and park at Ixora hotel car park, please be mindful of the consequences of missing and the hotel will not be responsible of that!!

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kylieng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noorizan, Director of Sales at Ixora Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2016

Dear Kylieng :

Warmest greeting from Ixora Hotel

Appreciated for sharing your valued input with us.
Our team members constantly positive and unbiased for receiving each feedback which may reached us from many channels, such guest comment form, TripAdvisor platform, etc. Each feedback, comment, compliment and complaint will be seriously reviewed and handled by us, as it have highlighted us what we have done well, as much as we keen to know, the area for improvement.
Ours main objective is to ensure our guest have an enjoyable and pleasant stay with us, as every guest is important for us.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Hotel with good location and good service from staff is all i can say about this hotel. Good location because its is visible to the highway and just beside the Megamall, Good service because staff is very helpful,attentive and friendly especially to Ms Rea who attend us and help us for our luggage. We had enjoyed our stay and will recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank chtan4853
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses_Poon, Manager at Ixora Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2016

Dear chtan4853 :

Warmest greeting from Ixora Hotel

Thank you for choosing Ixora Hotel on your recent stay
We are pleased to hear that we have exceeded your expectation. Thank you so much for the compliment to our team members especially Ms Rea, for her excellent job well done. We believe with this compliment will certainly an added boost for our team members on our journey to service quality toward to all ours guest.

We look forward to see you soon.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2016

Was on business trip. Arrived late at night. Room upgraded to my surprised! The room was very spacious complete with a couch. Mini bar was free-for-all & replenish-able daily but unfortunately I don't have that extra day, what a shame! Bathroom also massive! Iron board & iron were available! Breakfast more that enough with both locals & western foodies!

Highly recommended & would come again!

Stayed: November 2015
Thank awizul_tripAdvsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses_Poon, Manager at Ixora Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2016

Dear Awizul :

Warmest greeting from Ixora Hotel

Thank you for commending on the hotel spacious and facilities in the room, as well as breakfast provided at The Straits Café.
We are glad to hear that we have exceeded your expectation. Thank you for your compliment. This good news will definitely share with all our team members.

We can't wait to have you back with us the soonest possible. Wish you a great day ahead.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2016

Me and my family like to stay at Ixora Hotel every time we visit Penang. Normally will book through phone however I find Booking.com rate is cheaper, so I decide to book online this time but have mistakenly booked the wrong room, very thanks to Ms Apple for upgrading our rooms to deluxe room and the room comes with free minibar. Prefer room facing shop lot due to facing road side very noisy, the rooms was quit old and need more maintenance care. And would like thanks to Ms Apple again for treating us Penang most famous coconut tart, my husband enjoy it very much. Overall trip was happy and satisfied.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JeanLoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses_Poon, Manager at Ixora Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2016

Dear JeanLoh :

Warmest greeting from Ixora Hotel

Thank you so much for choosing Ixora Hotel each time you are at this region.
We are delighted that our staff, Ms Apple, had treated you well for a memory experience. We had shared this information with her for task well done. However, on the other aspect, our team members will look into it for improvement, in order to enhance ours guest experience positively.

Once again, thank you for the compliment. We look forward to see you soon.
Wish you a great day ahead.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2016

Hi We enjoyed staying in the hotel for the past few days. It was indeed great and good customer service from the bell boys especially the intern Jason - was willing to help to the door with a big luggage.

Room Tip: great location
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 932roz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses_Poon, Manager at Ixora Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2016

Dear 932roz :

Warmest greeting from Ixora Hotel

Thank you very much for writing to us and the compliment for our staff who had done his job to satisfy ours guest. We definitely with sharing this great news with him.
Service is always the great important to us.
Wish you a great day ahead and looking forward to see you again in the near future.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews