We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ixora Hotel Penang
Nearby Hotels
US$24
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SE Hotel 1(Perai)
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Sun Stay Inn(Perai)(Great Value!)
US$21
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
S Hotel(Perai)
US$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
US$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$95
Priceline
View Deal
Pearl View Hotel(Butterworth)
US$35
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Light Hotel Penang(Seberang Jaya)
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
48
124
52
14
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
124
52
14
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshopping mallfree dinnerbusiness tripfast foodbig roomf bcomplimentary mini barhotel lobbyvegetarian foodfree callssuperior roomgood pointsair conditionervery nice hotelbuffet breakfastnice breakfastdecent stay
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 252 reviews
Reviewed 14 July 2016

The hotel though not located in a popular place like Georgetown across the channel but it does have some eateries in the nearby area as well as fast food in the mall next door.

The staff was very friendly upon arrival and can see that they tried their best to please. The check-in and check-out were swift and the staff was very accommodating to keeping my luggage after my check-out and getting a taxi on standby in the afternoon when I told them I could not confirm the actual time of return but I could call them when I'm on the way back to the hotel.

The breakfast was ok with quite a spread but the taste was hit-and-miss. We encountered problem driving out from the car-park when the validated card were not recognized by the car-park system on 2 separate occasions but the fron desk were quick to called in the security to assist.

The only minus point during my stay was the rather patchy wifi. Both my colleague's and my mobile phones, laptops were having intermittent connection problem that is really a pain since most of the guests here are on business trips to the nearby Kulim Hi-tech Park etc.Another that I would point out was that the fridge are not stocked with anything.

Overall, the friendliness and efficient of the staff plus the nice room setup would see me coming back to Ixora but would really need the wifi to be working as we'll be on business trips and really need a reliable wifi.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ykhppc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses P, Manager at Ixora Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2016

Dear ykhppc :

Warmest greeting from Ixora hotel.

Thank you for kind review on hotel room and our warm services. We are apologize for the shortcoming on wifi stability which failed to meet your expectation. Please assured that the management team is looking seriously into this matter for the convenience of ours guest.
Million of thank you for given us an opportunity to serve you again. We can't wait to have you back in the near future.
Wish you a great day ahead

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016 via mobile

•Very friendly staff
• Fast check in and checkout
• good furniture and comfortable bed
• Bad city view since my room at 7th floor
•free parking but a little bit difficult when you need go to reception to validate the parking ticket each time you want go out.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank afiqaalwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses P, Manager at Ixora Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear afiqaalwi :

Warmest greeting from Ixora Hotel

We appreciated the feedback on the overall hotel. Our team members will review on the negative point for finding tune to provide the convenience and comfortable stay for ours guest.
Meanwhile, thank you very much for the compliment for our team members for providing the service standard which you rightfully deserve.
We look forward to see you again whenever you are in this area.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2016

The staffs are friendly and they allow us to have early check-in. The breakfast is awesome,having variety of choices. There is a need of improvement on the wifi, as it is very slow and can't connect at room during night time.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank adeline8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses P, Manager at Ixora Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2016

Dear Adeline0914 :

Warmest greeting from Ixora Hotel

Thank you very much for your kind review
We are pleased to hear that we have meet your expectation on the services as well as the breakfast spread during your recent stay with us. However, the Wifi issue will definitely be our priority to look into it for improvement. We are so sorry about that.

Please do allow us to serve you again in the near future.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2016

Ive stayed here like more than 30 times for business... Ixora is a good hotel... Their staff are good... I have always asked for early check in which are mostly accommodated well.. Their front desk person are great, ppl like Seha, Shamu, Nadea and Sri to name a few... My check in was great but unfortunately i did not get the same room as i stayed before so decided to take another room... The other room was ok but the air con was slightly warm and the hot water was hot even in the cold section and the bathroom lock was slightly spoilt.... got my rooms changed which
was great... Ive always liked their simple yet spacious rooms but i think there are signs of aging... eventually a refurbishment is needed is its going to be competing against neighboring hotels... They have an offer of free dinner this time which i think is good, the meals are a set meal which is ok... Breakfast as usual was a good spread.... Overall i would say Ixora is a good hotel with good staff..... Lastly, major improvement is needed for their wifi!!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Balan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses P, Manager at Ixora Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2016

Dear Balan3 :

Warmest greeting from Ixora Hotel

Thank You for your time and effort to write us a review, as well, the continue support on each trip your are at this area.

We are sorry for the aspect of area which below your expectation. Our team members will focused for our facilities and maintenance issue for the comfort and value added of ours guest. On the other hand, thank you so much for the good news where our team members, especially Front Office staffs, who did theirs job for providing the great experience for our guest.

Once again, your continue support is ours privilege to have you with us for allowing our team members to serve you. Wish you a great day ahead.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2016 via mobile

Foods are good,and front office guys are good serve,Vijay manager and mahen manager so kind,my family like to stay at ixorA,housekeeping guys are too good,Nepal person for parking also good person.bathroom are so clean and prefect..so I just can say is that ixora is peaceful place to relax and so the person are working all are prefect

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Cuprix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moses P, Manager at Ixora Hotel Penang, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2016

Dear Cuprix C :

Warmest greeting from Ixora Hotel

Thank you for your effort for informing us this good news.
We are delighted that all our team members had done their job so well for providing the memorable experience to ours guest, particular for you. We will sure sharing your compliment with all of them.
Once again, Billion of thanks for that. We can't wait to have you back with us soon.
Wish you a great day ahead.

Thank You

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews