We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was perfect until...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Perai
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

Stayed there in the Suite which comes with access to the Club Lounge for cocktail buffet in the evening and breakfast at the top floor just for Suite and Club Room visitors which was really excellent. The service from the staffs from reception till the Club Lounge is top class too. However the evening was 'damaged' when we entered the pub at the ground floor. It was quite early at about 8pm and it was empty except for another Caucasian man sitting at the bar. My wife and I walked in trying to look for menu and there was only one huge sized bald Malay man who was there. When I asked for the menu politely, twice, finally he answered by asking Food or Drinks, almost in a manner as if I was disturbing his rest. Obviously we did not feel like sticking around any longer and we just walked to nearby pubs outside the hotel. I did not catch his name as I was completely upset. Other than this, the Suite is lovely and clean.

It would be nice to have a pool though as the hotel does not have one.. Strange. I thought it is almost for sure hotels at these range would have one.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ngkevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (274)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 27 of 274 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2017

Smooth check in, room was clean and nice looking. Enjoyed the breakfast with warm hospitality from the staffs on duty. Wifi was good. The hotel also located nearby shops, restaurants, supermarkets and banks. Overall nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Khairul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Director of Sales at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Valued Guest Khairul F,

Warm Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on our Trip Advisor. We appreciate the valuable time you have taken to provide us your feedback on our hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. It has always been our mission by providing the best possible hospitality and services to our guests. We are pleased to learn of your stay and the compliments on our staff will be shared with the team.

We do hope to welcome you back to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya!
Please feel free to contact our reservations team at +604 370 7788 or email shsj.reservations@sunwayhotels.com for the best available rates.

Thank you and take care.

Best Regards,
Mr. P. Nagaswaran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

I had a nice room,with a good bathroom. Excellent breakfast and dinner options. Huge buffet for dinner. The gym was not very nice, and not properly air conditioned. Older equipment needed maintenance. Hotel was recently renovated, but I also stayed at the Light Hotel across the street and would recommend that over this hotel, unless you get a deal.

As per usual in Asia, no ice maker to be found. We deal.

Great location within a very short walk to the Sunway Mall in Seberang Jaya. Dozens of restaurants in the area as well.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

This is one of the best hotel in Seberang Jaya; Good family and business hotel in the area with value for money. The Breakfast is good. the restaurant served decent food in a cheaper prices than the hotel opposite with the same quality. We prefer to stay in this hotel as compared to the 'so called" 5 stars hotel of The Light'.
In general this Sunway hotel is better value for money than the Light Hotel.

Room Tip: The view are good in general.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ChunnS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Director of Sales at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Valued Guest ChunnS,

Warm Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on our Trip Advisor. We appreciate the valuable time you have taken to provide us your feedback on our hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. It has always been our mission by providing the best possible hospitality and services to our guests. We are pleased to learn of your stay and the compliments on our staff will be shared with the team.

We do hope to welcome you back to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya!
Please feel free to contact our reservations team at +604 370 7788 or email shsj.reservations@sunwayhotels.com for the best available rates.

Thank you and take care.

Best Regards,
Mr. P. Nagaswaran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2017

The rooms were large and very comfortable. Fully equipped with the necessities of travel. The hotel is well located where there are numerous restaurants, night life, supermarkets and hypermarkets. And they are all walking distance from the hotel which makes it ideal! The staff and management are always at your 'beg and call' and addressing speedily any request that you may have which I found very warm and helpful. If you plan to drive in there is ample parking with round the clock security and CCTV coverage. Those manning the reception desk are very professional and if you are a return guest, they know about your preferences and needs which I found encouraging.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank georgejacob45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SunwayHotel_SbrgJaya, Director of Sales at Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2017

Dear Valued Guest Georgejacob45,

Warm Greetings from Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya!

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on our Trip Advisor. We appreciate the valuable time you have taken to provide us your feedback on our hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. It has always been our mission by providing the best possible hospitality and services to our guests. We are pleased to learn of your stay and the compliments on our staff will be shared with the team.

We do hope to welcome you back to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya!
Please feel free to contact our reservations team at +604 370 7788 or email shsj.reservations@sunwayhotels.com for the best available rates.

Thank you and take care.

Best Regards,
Mr. P. Nagaswaran

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Perai
0.2 km away
The Light Hotel Penang
The Light Hotel Penang
#1 of 1 in Seberang Jaya
228 reviews
1.9 km away
Ixora Hotel
Ixora Hotel
#2 of 4 in Perai
235 reviews
8.2 km away
Sunway Hotel Georgetown Penang
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 km away
Iconic Hotel Penang
Iconic Hotel Penang
#1 of 8 in Bukit Mertajam
115 reviews
19.1 km away
Bayview Beach Resort
Bayview Beach Resort
#7 of 10 in Batu Ferringhi
1,756 reviews
7.8 km away
Hotel Jen Penang by Shangri-La
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya

Address: 11 Lebuh Tenggiri Dua | Pusat Bandar Seberang Jaya, Perai 13700, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Penang > Seberang Perai District > Perai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Perai
Price Range: RM182 - RM287 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya 3.5*
Number of rooms: 202
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya is strategically located at the intersection of the North-South and East-West highways, and conveniently accessible via a 30 minutes drive from the Penang International Airport and Penang Island's main attractions. Situated in the centre of a vibrant hub, the hotel is within close proximity to the fireflies cruise at Nibong Tebal, which is mother nature's own mesmerising light show, St Anne's church, bird park and many other attractions. Within walking distance from the hotel is Sunway Carnival Shopping Complex with over 160 specialty stores, food and beverage outlets, cineplex and an amusement centre. Located on the upper floors of Sunway Carnival is Sunway Carnival Convention Centre. The largest pillar free convention facility on mainland Penang, offers event planners 20,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, accommodating up to 1,500 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia and Hotels.com so you can book your Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunway Hotel Prai
Sunway Hotel Seberang Jaya Perai, Penang

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing