We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$45
View deal
Booking.com
US$46
View deal
Destinia.com
US$41
View deal
Free cancellation until 10/12/22
PricelineUS$46
TravelocityUS$45
ZenHotels.comUS$50
View all 14 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveller rating
90
112
65
27
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
90
112
65
27
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews jesselton point rooftop pool tong hing glass door walking distance suria mall gaya street comfortable stay egg station family suite hotel is located living room noodles night stay front office short stay business trip
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2022

Mercure's location is extremely convenient - a short walk from Jesselton Point jetty, Jesselton Duty Free mall and Suria Sabah mall. Gaya Street is less than 10 minutes walk away too. The room is comfortable, but the bathroom is quite old. Shower leaks through the gap in the glass door.
Soundproofing between rooms is not good - could hear the room next door talking at night.
Breakfast spread is OK, a mixture of Asian and Western options. Aircon at the breakfast area was not working,so they put fans.
Rooftop pool is small but has a nice view. Rooftop bar... Is quite dead. You can enjoy a tea for RM10 with the view of Jesselton Pier, but they need to improve the decor.
Driveway has no roof, so you will get soaked if it's raining. Staff are friendly.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ShangHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 25 August 2022 via mobile

booked direct via Accor, assigned to clean guestroom 2011 on higher floor with lounge separate from generous size bedroom and 25th floor rooftop lap pool lookout to the Gaya Bay Area, walking distance to eateries nearby. Feedback for maintenance: the room safe and landline phones weren’t working for stay August 23/24, had to visit reception counter to connect myself with my travel mates on other units (had my mobile phone conk out otherwise would not have notice the hotel phones are faulty).

Room tip: Request for sea facing room
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank aspironz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 8 August 2022

Our family of 5 recently stayed at the Mercure for 3 nights on our recent trip to Sabah.
Our stay was nice and comfortable, we would certainly recommend this hotel.
We had a family suite with 3 bedrooms and 3 bathrooms. The suite included a kitchen, dining , and living area. Great views from the glass doors in the living room.
The rooftop pool was nice, with great views.
Breakfast was good, with a variety of Asian and Western choices, and made to order eggs.
The hotel is located in the northern part of KK, close to Jesselton Point Ferry Terminal. Suria Sabah Mall is a short walk behind the hotel. There is a good supermarket (Tong Hing) around the corner.
There are many places to eat withing walking distance. Places we tried and liked nearby were Peppermint (Vietmamese), Pasta Pasta (choose your pasta and homemade sauces), Fook Yuen (Rice, noodles, Dim Sum, soup).
For ice cream fans, there are some nice ice cream places at the basement level of Suria Sabah mall. Plenty of restaurants in the mall as well.
We had a rental car. The hotel does not have parking, but it wasn't too much of a problem. The street parking in front of the hotel is run by the city from 8am-5pm on weekdays For parking during those hours, we bought parking coupons at the hotel. It was only MYR 1.10 for every 2 hours. Parking at other hours is free. Beware that coupons bought at the hotel cannot be used for parking in other areas.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VNS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 1 August 2022

The location is at the North Eastern end of Kota Kinabalu. This is perfect if you are planning a lot of water sports - Jessleton wharf is only 150m distance. The breakfast is included in the tariff, it is good but very Asian. The fare includes Nasi Lemak, noodles, Roti, Dahl, salads pastrami an egg station for fresh cooked eggs and Omelette. This suits my palate.
Our room was a double on the 18th floor. It included a bedroom with lounge. Very spacious, quiet and comfortable. One frustration was that in our week there, each day one of the elevators was out of action. Overall this is a nice hotel

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Bryan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 28 July 2022

All the staffs were very helpful. The room was wide and fill with latest (new) household appliances. The distance to tourist spots are walking distance (500-1000 metre). The swimming pool and the are was quiet small. However, still have great view of the sea.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank rozaidyirzat
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews