We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (574)
Filter reviews
574 results
Traveller rating
76
265
179
33
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
76
265
179
33
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water dispenser seafood kk eateries ironing receptionist
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 574 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2019 via mobile

Stayed in a twin room for one night.
Room was facing the sea side but just a lil bit of sea could be seen.
Room was a bit small but it's ok for one night stay. Including necessary amenities.
Borenos the local fried chicken was just outside the hotel. Famous seafood restuarants (suang tien/welcome/...) was also quite near with several mins walking distance.
Walking distance to the seaside and fish market.
Area around the hotel had stingy drainage smell. You could smell diff. kinds of drainage odor when walking along the streets.
Check-in process quite slow as during that time manpower seemed to be not enough. Check-out was quick.
Doormen were polite.
Used grab to go from airport at RM11.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank FionaChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2019 via mobile

Though it is a affordable hotel but beware of your things and belongings. Don’t leave anything. The staffs will not even bother in helping you to retrieve them. Now a hotel is not even safe for your belongings.

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
1  Thank Jaiforester
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CititelExpressKK, Hotel Manager at Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2019

Dear Jaiforester,

Thank you for your review. We value all our guest's feedback and take immediate action to investigate any incident accordingly. Safety is our utmost important concern and necessary precautions are in place to enhance our safety measure.

Thank you.

Regards,
Sherry Yee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2019

Honestly, I regretted for staying this hotel. If only I knew the room is small, I rather find somewhere else. It does not fit with the price I paid at all. Despite the room is small, I have to say that the hotel location is quite good with provided parking in front of the hotel. Staffs were mostly friendly. Overall as I mentioned earlier, please find better hotel unless you are desperately need a room. I would like to suggest the hotel management should revise the room price.

Date of stay: December 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CliffElvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2019 via mobile

The smallest room I have ever stayed. The decorations are nice but no closet and other amenities. The plus points was the view but not really beach view.
Parking is just in front the hotel. Need to get the entrance ticket and get people at receptionist counter acknowlege it.
Quite disappointed with the size of the room and another bad luck was the air conditioner water leaked from top, in front of small walkway. Refused to change to other room because need to repack and decided to stay there and found out lamp cant be switched on after the leaking.
Another plus point, its located in town and easy access to Attraction places

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LiszieD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CititelExpressKK, Hotel Manager at Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so sorry to read that there was a technical issue on the air-conditioner in the room you stayed. We have fixed the issue immediately upon your departure. Our apologies to you for the inconvenience caused.

We aim to provide a clean and functional room for our guest apart from the room size. With the strategic location within the city center and walking distance to many eateries surrounded our hotel, we do hope that you enjoyed staying with us. We look forward in welcoming your return in the near future.


Regards,
Sherry Yee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2019 via mobile

I rarely write reviews on hotel but i must voice out my frustration on my stay with this hotel. I was given a second floor room with window and on the midnight 1-2 am, there was people laughing, shouting and talking from the outside. I was unable to sleep for the whole night due to the loud and clear noise leaked from the outside. I guess this was due to the poorly constructed window and low quality of window material. Besides, the bed was so squeaky, i couldnt move to avoid disturbance to my sleepy and tired partner. I was really upset with the stay. No more cititel for me!!

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Deecat225
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CititelExpressKK, Hotel Manager at Cititel Express Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2019

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. We regret to read that you have had a bad experience during your stay with us. Our front office team would be able to assign you another room to get rid of the noise should you have informed us during your stay. You are such a considerate and nice person since you avoid moving and disturbance to ensure your sleepy and tired partner to have a good rest. We would look into the bed condition that you have highlighted to get it fixed.

Once again, thank you for leaving us your feedback and this will certainly allow us to improve further.

Best regards,
Sherry Yee
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews