We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peking Duck”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Moon Bell Restaurant - CLOSED

Moon Bell Restaurant
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, Malaysia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Peking Duck”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

The peking duck here is really really good. The price is reasonable and the atmosphere is good for relaxing and talking. The soup was a little bit salty though.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Yellowbean_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    21
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“First Times”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

It was my first time trying the food here and it blew me away. I've never had such amazing food. I love duck and they cook the duck well :D My family and friends had a great time too.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank PearlCheah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Coast NSW
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Food and Even Better Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2012

In air-conditioned comfort, we, a family of four Australians enjoyed the hospitality, food and beverages provided by Karen and her children. While my daughter had her perennial favourite of 'Fried Rice' the rest of us loved the Peking Duck, which was both delicious and filling. My son loved the homemade Lime Juice while the freshly squeezed pineapple juice was a hit with the rest of the family. We were so keen on this restaurant we wanted to come back again and again, but that would be too boring in a city of so many choices!
Karen was very helpful and guided us to many of the places to see in KK.
Thanks for having us!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Parisi_Dreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bad Pyrmont, Germany
Level Contributor
285 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Freshly cooked and tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

It’s closed on Mondays and in the afternoon. The fairly small restaurant has a little sterile atmosphere but has air conditioning. It was quite busy on a Saturday and Sunday night with local families. The place is absolutely spotless. It is a family run business and Karen, the owner, very outgoing. On our first visit we had fried rice with duck, noodles with lamb and a dozen spring rolls. Each meal was MR 10 and it was a lot of tasty food. The lamb was cut into small cubes and of best quality. They sell Tiger beer at MR 10 the small bottle but it is perfectly ok to byo. This is what we did the next day when we brought a bottle of red wine to go with the Peking duck. We both had a generous platter of duck meat and crispy skin which was surprisingly lean. It was served with thin pancakes, spring onions and cucumber and a delicious duck sauce. We enjoyed it thoroughly and it was well worth the MR 70. The third time we had fried rice with lamb, the salt and pepper squid (MR 19)– because so much has been written about it on this web page - and the spring rolls. The food was good only the lamb in the fried rice was cold and unfortunately there was a large group of customers with young kids and it was very noisy. However, we definitely recommend Moon Bell. Give it a try.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dasreiseteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Chinese restaurant, street view alongside shops, ground floor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

We were doing some shopping and saw this place opposite the complex,thought we give it a try after checking out menu, good food and small place .had abit of smell. Maybe because it is air on and they did not have time to air out. We hada good meal for 6 of us and it was a little pricey too considering location and setup. Simple but your average place .food I like the vegetables they were fresh.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Moon Bell Restaurant also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing