We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place.!”
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed in Hotel Eden 54 for four nights in three different rooms: Compact D, Studio, Family Room. All three of them were in excellent condition! The hotel is just a few minutes walk away from all of the eateries in the city. One of the owners, Ling Ling, was extremely helpful with pointing out all of the must do's and sees.

We really can't think of any reason why not to stay here!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kiteshots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Eden54
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

806 - 810 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed 4 nights at Eden54 and I don't think we would have enjoyed another place in KK so much. It's centrally located and offers simple, straightforward rooms at incredibly low prices. We had a studio room with king-sized bed. Free wifi was great and Ling Ling at reception was ready with many recommendations on places to eat and shop, where to get a massage and how to book a snorkeling trip to Sapi. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom very clean. Free bottled water and coffee/tea making equipment in the room were nice touches. The road outside is busy during the day, but as with much of KK, was quiet during the night. We could hear birds outside in the morning. There are no safes in the rooms, which was perhaps the only drawback. But the office has a safe, which guests can use instead. This worked fine for us.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pearl-Travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed @ Eden 54 for 2 nights in July and this is one of the nicest places I have stayed in Malaysia. We finished the Mt Kinabalu climb and came back to the hotel at about 7pm and were very smoothly checked in within 5 mins! No hassles @ all.

I enjoyed the comfort of a hot shower and felt alive enough to check out the Nonya place, Ling Ling recommended. Food was good and hit the correct combo of spice and heat for us. There is a supermarket right under the hotel and huge mall right behind it. The next day we headed for a massage again recommended by Ling Ling and I can happily say my only regret was we didn't have time to go back to that massage parlor again.

The last day we hopped on the ferry (the jetty is mere 5 mins walk) to Sapi Island for some snorkeling and came back around 12:30pm. Rosanne gave us fresh towels and gel to shower even though we had already checked out. Personal service and such attention to detail... I will definitely go back to KK and booked Eden for my stay!

Yayy Rosanne n Ling Ling!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyche115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed at Eden 54 for 6 nights. The booking process was very easy and Ling Ling responded to my email requests promptly.

The hotel rooms were larger than we expected and were clean and maintained by the hotel staff during our stay. We requested the mini-fridge for the full time.

Ling Ling and co. were fantastic. They organised car hire and maps for us so we could visit Mt Kinabulu and surrounds, which is well worth doing. The roads are very easy to navigate.

Whilst the hotel doesn't have a pool, you can actually pay to use the pool at both Shangri La properties. We went to Jesselton Pier a few times and headed across to the islands. It is very easy to do this yourself! There was one day that was a bit windy, so we decided not to go. On the islands there are small shops to purchase drinks etc. The snorkelling was enjoyable, the further you go, the better it is. Make sure you keep applying sunscreen, particularly to the backs of your legs. I got a nasty burn.

Ling Ling recommended a great satay place, just down the street. We also ate three times at a Seafood place (I can't remember the exact name, but it is where there are 5-6 open-aired seafood restaurants). Don't eat at the seafood restaurant by the water - way too expensive.

We really liked the location of the hotel. Underneath is a supermarket, walking distance to Old Town Coffee and also to a large shopping centre. We walked everywhere.

Location, staff, room - everything was excellent. Highly Recommend!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank miffstoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We stayed in Hotel Eden for 2 nights and were very happy with the friendly service and comfortable room. Ling Ling catered to our every need and runs a great hotel, considering the cheap price of the accommodation. The hotel itself is centrally located and has a great grocery store below. Although traffic noise could be heard from the room, it wasn't invasive. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend Hotel Eden for your stay in KK.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrookePetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
692 reviews
0.7 km away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#11 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
466 reviews
1.1 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,471 reviews
1.5 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
239 reviews
3.0 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: RM130 - RM193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden54 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing