We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb budget option in centre of KK”
Review of Hotel Eden54

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Eden54
Ranked #2 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for 2 nights at the start of our holiday in October. The lady who runs this hotel was very friendly and helpful giving us information about KK by email before we arrived and during our stay. The hotel is ideally situated near the Sunday market and Jesselton pier where you can get boats to the islands.
For the price this hotel was excellent – the room was clean with a comfy double bed and tea and coffee making facilities. The room was a bit small, and there wasn’t much of a view but to be honest for the price we paid it was ideal. I would definitely recommend this for someone on a budget.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hsgowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,197)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Eden54
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

572 - 576 of 1,197 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

I would like to thank Ling Ling- hotel was very clean and suitable for my travel needs. i booked a compact room with no window; would suggest paying a little extra and getting a window as whilst it was suitable for my needs, a compact room isnt really ideal for trying to dry wet clothes... (from the mountain climb)... in all, close to major shopping places (suriah sabah and wisma modeka); however the city really is not that big and everywhere is definetly within walkable distance. there is a communal fridge; as well as a computer to use for guests (like myself) who didnt bother bringing any electronic devices with me on my trip. service was fantastic and would recommend for any solo traveller who just wants a room to themselves for a night or two (and spends most of their time out of the hotel on holidays, like i do)

Room Tip: pay extra and get a room with a window...!
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimee0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

I must say that everyone at the hotel was SUPER friendly and very much would do anything to make the stay enjoyable. We had a room on the back side with the alley so it was a bit noisy at night which was my only real complaint. They had a fridge for guest use which was very nice and while the exact location had a lot of warnings about safety, didn't feel unsafe at all. There are loads of restaurants within a short walk (either at Jessleton Point or on one of the roads near by) and a supermarket right next door. For the price, it was a really good deal.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DAL504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This was our second trip to Borneo and although we were familier with Koto Kinabalu, we stayed at a very large hotel previously which was ok but a bit impersonal. This time we decided to stay at a smaller hotel and chose Eden54 due to the excellent review it received in the Lonely Planet guide to Borneo - we were certainly not disappointed!
This hotel is spotlessly clean, the rooms are well furnished and are quite contempary in design, the rooms also come with excellent free WiFi. The location could not be bettered, as it was near a supermarket and close to all the action.
The staff were also very helpful and welcoming, and let us leave all our luggage there while we completed another part of our trip. Lin Lin (Manager) also organized transfers for us and made dozens of phone calls on our behalf. All in all an exellent base for Koto Kinabalu!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2012

When i got to kota this was the first place i checked in to. For what I paid, i cant really complain. My suggestion for getting rooms is get one with a window. It makes a huge difference, but whatever, i spent most of my time out of the hotel anyways.

This place was walking distance to the port for island hopping and its close enough to the downtown kota area.

the front desk people were super helpful in helping us get around the island. although they did recommend us to stay at a super wack place when we went to Mount Kinabalu.

Room Tip: Get the rooms with the windows
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pingpongpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kota Kinabalu hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Sixty3
Hotel Sixty3
#1 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
687 reviews
0.7 km away
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
Dreamtel Kota Kinabalu
#10 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
466 reviews
1.1 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#3 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,469 reviews
1.5 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#5 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
237 reviews
3.0 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eden54? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eden54

Address: 54 Jalan Gaya, Kota Kinabalu 88000, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#6 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: RM130 - RM193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Eden54 2.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Eden54 is a budget boutique hotel located in the city center of Kota Kinabalu, Sabah, near major shopping malls, banks, supermarket, restaurants, tourism offices and jetty to Labuan and other famous islands in Sabah. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel Eden54 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Eden54 Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing