We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
RM 350
Fully refundable before Wed, 1 May
Priceline
Agoda.com
RM 290
Fully refundable before Wed, 1 May
No fees just great deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (31)
Filter reviews
31 results
Traveller rating
23
4
4
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
23
4
4
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coffee capsules basement car park shopping mall business trip star hotel walking distance deco comfort bathtub bathrobes amenities grab lobby location kk
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 31 reviews
Reviewed 20 December 2023 via mobile

Great location. Located across Imago shopping mall (largest in Kota Kinabalu). Friendly staff, prompt service.

About 10 mins away from Kota Kinabalu airport. Easily accessible via Grab. 24 hrs convenience store located downstairs. Local produce also sold in store

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Andrew_Liew
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The LUMA Hotel, Marketing at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2023

Dear Andrew,

Warmest Greetings from The LUMA Hotel! We would like to express our gratitude for taking the time to share your delightful experience with us in your review.

We are thrilled to receive your kind words regarding the hotel location and friendly staff. Thank you once again for choosing our hotel, and we hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2023

Location : Located about 10 minutes (by car) from the Kota Kinabalu Airport. It was very easy to catch a GRAB car/taxi from the airport to LUMA Hotel, fare cost about RM12. The hotel is located in a row of shop lots, so next to it are a few restaurants. There is a bubble tea shop "Chagee" and a nice cafe called "Brown Fox". The hotel is about a 5-8 minute walk to IMAGO Shopping Mall via pedestrian bridge.

Hotel : The hotel lobby and room looks exactly like the advertised photos. Everything looks new and the lobby smells divine. There's a small cafe at the lobby for you to grab a coffee and there's a restaurant just up the stairs from the lobby. The gym's on the upper floor.

Hotel room : The room itself is beautifully decorated and clean. Blackout curtains and a well functioning air-conditioning gave us the best sleep. The bath room is beautifully decorated with golden taps. The shower had good water pressure and hot water at all times. There's a coffee machine in the room and free 2x bottled water. There's also a water dispenser on each floor for you to refill your water bottle.

This place was great for us, but if you're looking for more family activities like being right by the beach, this might not be suited for you. There also isn't a balcony or much of a view from the hotel room. But we didn't mind it. Overall, we loved our stay and highly recommend LUMA Hotel. The only thing we felt odd was the layout of the elevator area, it was right next to the stairway and was a little dark.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank The_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The LUMA Hotel, Marketing at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2023

Dear The_Traveler,

Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed feedback about your recent stay with us. We would like to express our gratitude for taking the time to share your delightful experience with us in your review. We are happy to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay.

Thank you once again for choosing The LUMA Hotel, and we hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2023



This is clearly not a cookie-cutter belonging to a big hotel chain. Though it is part of Marriott Bonvoy, this property truly justifies (and deserves) its membership in the elite DESIGN HOTELs club! As the title of the review states, it has been very obviously designed, architected, and built by folks who love style and class! The design-inspired owners have tastefully converted a former office building into a fresh, vibrant space that highlights natural elements. The lobby smells like a wonderful spa and almost makes you feel like you are in a jungle paradise, thanks to the infused patches of greenery. To add to it, the spiral staircase made from local Sabahan wood stands in the lobby like a great tree.

The owners have not cut corners or spared any expenses when it comes to the decor. Things like the Jewel-toned sofa and the lovely collection of local art make the common areas a delightful place to hang out. And the Rooms are no different either - everything from the golden sanitary ware in the green-tiled bathroom to the artfully crafted wooden fittings ooze charm and character!

The hotel has taken a unique approach of outsourcing the facilities/amenities(Cafe, Gym, etc.) to other partners. This kind of works well as allowing partners who are experts in running these does up the bar and quality levels. But at the same time, it Has some downside as you have to pay for all these separately and cannot earn or redeem Bonvoy points for these! Something I was OK with, but others might not be.

LOCATION: Though not in the main waterfront drag, it is just a few minutes walk to the center.

DINE + DRINK: Though not too fancy, the hotel’s F & B outlets are good enough for you to chill indoors without having to step out. There’s JOJO Gastrobar for modern Asian cuisine and creative cocktails, FLOW Coffee by leading local coffee roaster Crack Inc., HONDE for traditional Japanese, and FISH MARKET for casual Chinese hotpot.

ROOM: We stayed in Room 810, so this review is based on that; SIZE: This was one of the very few pain points we faced, especially as we were on a longer stay for a week. There was not enough space to STORE stuff in the room. It lacks closets, cupboards, or even simple drawers to store your items! Might be ok for a solo traveler with just a carry-on baggage. Not enough at all for other types of travelers! Something the management should think about. At least put a simple cupboard!; VIEW: Sweet view of the greenery and cityscape, and the colorful Airplanes constantly flying over them and landing in the nearby airport!; AIR-CON: Perfectly functioning cooler that helped in setting the perfect room temperature; BED: Comfortable bed that played the expected part of putting us to sleep; BATHROOM: Good sized bathroom with a Stand-in shower, and a secondary BATHTUB seemed interesting given how much crammed for space they were!; TOILETRIES: Lovely Spa quality Toiletries

FACILITIES: They don't have a Swimming pool like most other properties in this area do. But the awesome Fitness center more than makes up for it. Though run by an external partner, the ABSOLUTE Boutique gym attached to the hotel brings the ‘boutique’ concept to a fitness center and is as stylish and sexy as the rest of the hotel. Great for a full-on workout as it comes loaded with state-of-the-art machines, and a good range of free weights/kettle bells by the HOIST brand.

SERVICE: Friendly staff that took care of all our needs with a smile and made us feel pampered and well taken care of. Special Shout-out to the General Manager MICHELLE MA for enhancing our stay and spending a lot of time with us to collect detailed feedback on how to evolve and improve it more to take it to the next level! Kudos to her!

HOW WIRED YOU WILL BE: Free Medium Speed Wi-Fi(~ 40 Mbps) that works well all over the property, and the speed is good! The PHILIPS brand Television in the room was a kind of oddity as it was quite old school and didn't match the rest of the digitally advanced and funky elements of the room. Something they can certainly look into upgrading to maintain the upscale vibe and feel!

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank traveltalesofales
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The LUMA Hotel, Marketing at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2023

Dear Prasanna Vee,

Warmest Greetings from The LUMA Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed and thoughtful feedback about your stay at The LUMA Hotel. We greatly appreciate your kind words and insights into your experience.

It is wonderful to hear that you appreciated the unique and stylish design of the hotel, which reflects the love for style and class. It is heartening to know that these details added to your overall enjoyment of your stay.

Your detailed review of your room experience is invaluable to us. We apologize for any inconvenience caused by the limited storage. Your suggestion will be taken into consideration as we strive to enhance guests' comfort. It is great to know that you enjoyed the view and the comfort of your bed.

We're delighted that you had a positive experience at the restaurants and that our staff provided friendly and attentive service. We will be sure to pass on your special shout-out to our General Manager Michele Ma, who is dedicated to continuously improving our guest experience.

Wishing you continued safe travels. Thank you for your support and have a nice day ahead!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2023 via mobile

Room was lovely, reminded me of Ruma Hotel in KL, but smaller version. Water pressure is very good, bed is very comfortable, love the stand alone bath tub. My room does not have any windows which I am aware of. But then we’re almost out all day. Tips - request for higher floors. Ours is 2nd flr so can hear a bit of noise and on top is d gym, always midnite i can hear stuff moving round, not sure if its d gym or restaurant being cleaned. But only for a short time. Staff is friendly & helpful. Fast on accomodating request. Wish d junior suite only have 1 big bed, instead of 2 and have the stand alone bath tub instead. Ours is the deluxe double room - only this room has the stand alone bath tub.

Room tip: Opt for higher floors, only deluxe double room has the stand alone bath tub but this room has no windows only glass blocks.
Date of stay: July 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank salvianam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The LUMA Hotel, Marketing at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2023

Dear salvianam,

Warmest Greetings from The LUMA Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to share your delightful experience with us through this review.

We are thrilled to receive your kind words regarding the hotel's design, amenities and services. It is great to know that you like the bed and the stand alone bathtub which is only available in Palm Marvellous Bedroom.

Thank you once again for choosing The LUMA Hotel, and we hope to welcome you back soon for another enjoyable stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2023 via mobile

It’s one of the best hotels I have stayed. I stayed in Eden suite and the room was spacious, beautifully designed and decorated. It’s my husband birthday and they did a simple decoration to surprise us. The bathroom was astonishing with a classic bath tub and a rainfall shower. They had a small coffee machine for 2 nice cups of coffee in the morning. The only disappointment is the breakfast which could be better improved. Location wise, it’s right opposite the Imago mall which makes shopping easier. Plus there are many great restaurants just around the hotel. All within walking distance. Awesome hotel with great location!

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sharonlim168
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The LUMA Hotel, Marketing at The LUMA Hotel A Member of Design Hotels, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2023

Dear sharonlim168,

Warmest Greetings from The LUMA Hotel! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us through this review.

It was our pleasure to have you with us during your recent visit. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay here. We appreciate you for sharing your thoughts and feedback on the breakfast, and we will take it into consideration as we work towards making improvements.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Kota Kinabalu. Till then, safe travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews