We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Dylan109

The same old Klagan Hotel

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Jan 2023via mobile
Stayed here for the first time in 2014, since then it’s been my family’s go to hotel in KK. Most recent check in was on 24th - 26th Dec 2022.

The room looks and feels the same as it was back then. It seems like the rooms has not been updated at all over the 8 years time difference. The same old TV is still used here the LED TV with thicker bezel and back not the most recent iteration of LED TVs (which is probably acceptable if it’s still 2014-2015)

However, the main thing about Klagan Hotel is not the amenities, rooms or services. It’s the location. In terms of pricing there are superior hotels or even apartments that costs the same or slightly higher.

Klagan Hotel is located in the centre very close to the Centrepoint shopping centre and is in walking distance to most part of the city.

Pros (+)

: The location is very strategic and is within walking distance to most area within the city centre.

: The dining area on the top floor has amazing view of the harbor and sea.

Cons (-)

: No major improvements over the multiple times I have checked in on the hotel (8 years) 2014 - 2022.

: Cleanliness, there are dusts on the top cupboards. Noticeable dirts on the city view windows.

: Better hotels & apartments for the same asking price.

: No swimming pool (which is to be expected on most hotels/apartment nowadays) despite their asking price.

Conclusion:

If you are keen to explore the city areas by foot Klagan Hotel offers one of the most strategic area in terms of exploring as it is within walking distance to most city areas.

However, if you are looking for a great stay experience in a hotel. Klagan Hotel might not be the best for you. In terms of pricing there are other hotels and apartments with superior amenities and services that may better serve you.
Date of stay: December 2022
Room Tip: Wake up early and on the dining hall take the table & seats close to the window for the vest view...
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
RM 428
  • Priceline
    RM 428
  • Expedia.com
    RM 428
  • Hotels.com
    RM 428
0.5 km from The Klagan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property Exterior
RM 318
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 303
  • Agoda.com
    RM 277
  • Expedia.com
    RM 340
1.1 km from The Klagan Hotel
Free Wifi
RM 545
  • Priceline
    RM 599
  • Agoda.com
    RM 341
  • Expedia.com
    RM 542
2.1 km from The Klagan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 994
  • Expedia.com
    RM 995
  • Agoda.com
    RM 839
  • Priceline
4.2 km from The Klagan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 425
Fully refundable
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Booking.com
    RM 425
  • Expedia.com
    RM 384
  • Priceline
    RM 425
0.9 km from The Klagan Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
NEWLY RENOVATED STANDARD ROOM
RM 129
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 116
  • Trip.com
    RM 106
  • Expedia.com
    RM 112
1.0 km from The Klagan Hotel
Free Wifi
RM 704
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
    RM 378
  • Agoda.com
    RM 282
  • Hotels.com
    RM 697
1.3 km from The Klagan Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Main lobby
RM 451
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 500
  • Agoda.com
    RM 292
  • Priceline
    RM 440
1.4 km from The Klagan Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
RM 143
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 119
  • Vio.com
    RM 99
  • Expedia.com
    RM 135
0.9 km from The Klagan Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Beachfront View
RM 163
  • Priceline
    RM 159
  • Agoda.com
    RM 150
  • Expedia.com
    RM 189
17.4 km from The Klagan Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
103
241
93
19
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
103
241
93
19
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor within walking distance shopping centre city view centrepoint kk sunset
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2022 via mobile

Stay for 3 nights . Pros - centralized location . Left side - 24 hours convenient store and currency exchange . Front facing a mall . Con - room facing not good ( one facing indoor walkway , another room facing a open passageway). The location is very good and happy with my stay Note . Note *The TV for Premium room for 1 night was much more smaller than the standard room ( 2nd /3rd ) night

Room tip: Room facing if you are particular
Date of stay: November 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Sor Chye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 August 2022

Cleanliness was very good in this hotel though it is not a new hotel. I must say that it is very well maintained even through the difficult pandemic time. Staffs were friendly and helpful. Enjoyed the food provided in their top floor restaurant. The view from the restaurant was fantastic especially during the sunset time. Situated at the centre of commercial area and with its reasonably priced rooms,I believe it will remain a very attractive place to stay.

Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank zacharysoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 13 December 2021

A well maintained hotel.Stayed for 2 nights.It was nice and comfortable stays for me.Basic necessity is available.Room is super clean.Overall very satisfied with the services from check in and out process,breakfast,house keeping,receptionist and guards.

Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yuva906
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 April 2020

We stayed at The Klagan for just one night. The location can't be better if you have limited time. We had a room facing the ocean which was wonderful. The breakfast was the best we had during our 3 weeks in Borneo. Every cuisine is represented. The front desk is very nice. Would definitely stay at The Klagan again.

Room tip: Room facing the ocean
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HPConny
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2020

I opt to stay in this hotel during almost of my every trip to Kota Kinabalu. First of all, it's definitely because of the location. Second, the price is reasonable for a room for two persons with all the necessary amenities. Third, it's easy to call a grab or to walk to any places nearby. Clean and decent hotel with great hospitality. Just that, it restricts only 2 bottles of drinking water per day for each room and you can't ask for extra even if you are not feeling well, but beside the hotel, there's a 7-11 alike, can always buy water from there. Overall, i would say it's located in a strategic location and it's convenient to travel and explore the city area.

Room tip: Higher floors would be a better choice.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AngelinaK411
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews