We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, but terrible service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Beautiful, but terrible service.”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

The place is gorgeous, but many problems with service.

First, we came in the first night to a mosquito-infested room that bit us everywhere that night, including the baby. Apparently, they forgot to install a mosquito repellent machine.

Second, our "sea view" room didn't look out to the sea, as the only kid-friendly rooms were on the bottom floor, with a view of a tree.

Third, they never explained bonus plus we paid for and when we checked out, they tried to not give us credit because we ate at the "wrong restaurant".

Fourth, every request took forever- about an hour just to come to the room. That included restaurants.

For a 2-star hotel, I would be slightly annoyed. But I had stayed at much cheaper hotels with better service. The view is great, the grounds are beautiful and they have many kid options. But not worth it if the staff gives me such a headache.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harizhuang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,686 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,091
    1,059
    338
    117
    81
See reviews for
1,279
1,394
91
156
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (792)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at this hotel over Chinese New Year. Even so, I’ve NEVER (& this word isn’t used unconscientiously!), in ALL my travels, stayed at a hotel that’s so stuffed with people, even during a peak season!

The hotel itself & staff still upheld its Shangri-la brand … thankfully … though unfortunately, the majority of the occupants seemed as though they were in a shopping mall at sale time. There were people EVERYWHERE! Breakfast seemed to be the last meal prior to the end of the world for most, shoving & pushing for food & taking trays (yes trays!) of food. I think given the situation, the staff managed well.

Unsure whether I’d return … even during a quieter season. For the price, I'd expect an ambience to go with ... though ... money can't buy class!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flowQUEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I was at the resort for a business conference. I came a few days earlier for a short vacation. I did not want to leave. The location is beautiful, the staff sweet, the food yummy and the spa relaxing. I recommend this resort to anyone exploring this area of the world - especially if you have children. There are lots of activities there for children - but the resort also has house rules for kids at the restaurant so do not worry about an abundance of screaming children. Make sure you visit the sunset bar - at sunset. Stunning.

I will be back.

Room Tip: The rooms by the "splash zone" may be noisy (screaming kids) but the views are great. Ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmbsmtview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sittingbourne
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed here for 10 nights as part of my honeymoon (twinned with Hong Kong) and it was amazing

Room was very clean and luxurious - I have never slept in such a big bed!

Staff could not do enough for us - we had a butler service one night as they gave us private dinner on our balcony and decorated the table with the most amazing flowers.

Range of food for breakfast was amazing - various fresh fruits, cereals and juices along with cooked breakfast, omelette and pastries.

Restaurants were lovely and exceptionally reasonable price wise. Excellent range of wine and cocktails.

Pool and beach were fantastic too

Overall this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in and I would highly recommend it. Luxury and relaxation in a beautiful setting

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We spent New Year at this resort and ended up hating it. It was filled way over capacity, perhaps because the other Shangri La was undergoing renovations - not unexpected for this time of year, but the staff and facilities clearly couldn't cope.

Service was poor, especially at the restaurants - it was also cold, bordering on unfriendly. Buffet breakfast was a zoo, again to be expected at this time of year but where were the staff? Getting any sort of coffee or tea proved almost impossible. Evening buffet was not kept stocked - numerous empty dishes - even the plain steamed rice was empty one night..... Individually, these are all little things on the global scale of life, but they are irritating in a resort with a good reputation and high price.

We are always satisfied with our stays in Shangri La's but we felt this one let the Shangri La reputation down a lot.

We went to the sister Shangri La to see the orang utans - if you go, remember to take mosquito repellant - we didn't and regretted it!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
2.5 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
25.0 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
5.0 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,068 reviews
19.2 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#12 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,331 reviews
4.2 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Property: Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price range (per night): RM845 - RM2,112
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 495
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing