We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,076)
Filter reviews
4,076 results
Traveller rating
2,296
1,162
384
133
101
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,296
1,162
384
133
101
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kinabalu wing sunset bar kinabalu club cafe tatu coco joes chi spa star marina water slides borneo lounge horizon club sister hotel pitch and putt kids club infinity pool club room life guards our honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
321 - 326 of 4,076 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Love this hotel. Love the staff. Love the setting.
This is our second visit and never disappoints. Easy access to local tropical islands. Tour arrangements made on site. Gorgeous pool with strict lifeguards. Sunset cocktails.
It's just perfection

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Jennifer C,

Wow! You've absolutely taken our breath away. Thank you so much for this awesome review. We've both honoured and humbled by your kind words.

I can't wait to share this with the rest of the team here.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Until we meet again, we wish you many happy and safe travel adventures ahead.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

This is my 3rd visit of this hotel during the last 20-year. The first time was my honeymoon 20-year ago. Everything including all staff of this hotel are excellent which made my 20th wedding anniversary so memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank victor1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear victor1432,

Thank you so much for this review of the resort.

We treasure our two-decade-long friendship and truly appreciate your continued support.

On behalf of all my colleagues, congratulations once again on your 20th anniversary. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next anniversary. Until we meet again, we wish you both splendid health and many more travel adventures ahead.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Stayed in Kinabalu Wing for 6 nights end of May. The room has a stunning sunset view and huge. Before my comments, I would want to point out that I believe the staff already tried their very best, and with such a large group of mainland chinese and koreans, there actually is nothing they can do.

Arrival - Since we booked hotel transport, we were taken care of by a super nice staff memeber and did everything in the car.
Breakfast - HIGHLY recommend to have breakfast in executive lounge (although food choice is limited), the main cafe for breakfast is a TOTAL chaos with above mentioned tourists (we went there one morning and regreted so much).
Room - The executive suite was super nice, housekeeping could do a little bit more. (There are dust on some places and some remaining "rubbish" was still left on the table when we first moved into the room). Water was greyish when we tried the bath even after left it turned on twice and fill the bath. return to normal on the second day
Restaurants -
Coco Joes: nice
Cafe Tatu: food was just average (the beverage was super watery as the ice melted in the large container)
Peppinos: Really depends on your luck, the beef cheek we ordered was great, the appetizer a bit too salty, the fish fillet we ordered was not up to standard (the staff did offer to replace it, very attentive and nice staff)
Pools: I believe the staff already tried their very best, but with above mentioned tourists, they can do nothing about it, and the pool area is not a place you would enjoy if you were not Mainland Chinese or Koreans
STAR Marina -
some of the staff were great, some might get too exhausted dealing with Chinese tourist that when they saw another "chinese" face, their "frustration" can show. A lot of rubbish in the sea, and the corals are dying (most of them). Staff look after us even on the beach, which is nice.
Need to wait for an hour or less for check out in the lounge (we were not in a hurry so we wait) Not a big deal but could be better?

Overall, majority of the staff are truly excellent and although some of the things could be improved by the hotel, most of them were kind of out of their control.

Room Tip: Kinabalu Wing close to the pier, Tanjung Wing close to spa, sunset beach, etc. MUST get kinabalu club/executive floor
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank K Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear K Y,

Thank you so much for this review of your recent holiday at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa.

We truly appreciate your repeated reassurance of the quality of service my colleagues have provided throughout your stay. We will continue to improve our standards of service to ensure that we exceed the expectations of all guests.

Until we meet again, we wish you safe travels.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

We spent 2 nights here as our 1st destination for our anniversary trip. The bed was decorated with flowers, so romantic. Nice hotel, friendly staffs, nice pool, delicious food, beautiful sunset and sea view. This hotel might not suitable for couples for seeking for peace and quiet holiday, it was packed with tourists.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear Ken L,

Congratulations once again on your anniversary.

Thank you so much for this review of the resort.

On behalf of all my colleagues here in the resort, I wish you both happy adventures around the globe for many, many more years ahead.

May our path cross again.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

The Good
Sunset bar was lovely and offered fantastic views
Pools were excellent and nice environments to enjoy the sun/thunderstorms
Food in the Chinese restaurant was great

The Bad
We booked a 'mountain view room'. After check in we found ourselves in a room that overlooked the tennis court and car park. Not a good start although a quick phone call to reception our this right
On check in I asked if I could pay to upgrade to use the Club services and facilities only to be told it was full - I suspect the hotel was at approx 30% capacity which didn't make sense
Breakfast between 7am-9am resembled a mad school hall and was totally chaotic

Wouldn't return and would struggle to recommend it to others but each to their own..

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear Adam G,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review of the resort.

We appreciate both the compliments and feedback you've given.

We try our utmost to exceed the expectations of our guests. As such, I am disappointed to read that we had failed to do so during your visit.

I regret that we were unable to secure a room upgrade for you as the resort has been running quite full lately. When you return next, we'd love to be able to offer you alternatives to breakfast at the café.

Until then, safe travels always.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews