We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon in Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 92 Hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2017

I cannot praise this hotel enough. Its not just the unbelievable views, the super friendly staff who can't do enough for you, the incredible standard of housekeeping or the luxurious pools and facilities. What makes this place outstanding is that it is so completely dedicated to making the guests feel so special. Its in little touches like the design of the pool so that you can read a book half in and half out of the water, the way the maid left extra laundry powder when she saw washing in the sink and the 'Congratulations' cake and fresh fruit left in the room. Too many instances to mention but absolutely nothing was too much trouble.
Special thanks to James, the concierge, for making us laugh every day.
Being sung out to a Malaysian love song by staff to the waiting car as we left even had my husband in tears.
We have never been treated so well (and we often stay in 5 star where we can) and cannot thank everyone enough for making our honeymoon so very very memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Melanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Melanie C,

Congratulations to the brand new Mr & Mrs!

Thank you so much for this amazing review of the resort. We're so happy to have been in Chapter One of your journey together. May the rest of your lives together be filled with laughs and love.

Let the adventure begin...!


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,887)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 191 of 3,887 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2017 via mobile

Love this hotel. Love the staff. Love the setting.
This is our second visit and never disappoints. Easy access to local tropical islands. Tour arrangements made on site. Gorgeous pool with strict lifeguards. Sunset cocktails.
It's just perfection

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Dear Jennifer C,

Wow! You've absolutely taken our breath away. Thank you so much for this awesome review. We've both honoured and humbled by your kind words.

I can't wait to share this with the rest of the team here.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Until we meet again, we wish you many happy and safe travel adventures ahead.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

This is my 3rd visit of this hotel during the last 20-year. The first time was my honeymoon 20-year ago. Everything including all staff of this hotel are excellent which made my 20th wedding anniversary so memorable.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank victor1432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear victor1432,

Thank you so much for this review of the resort.

We treasure our two-decade-long friendship and truly appreciate your continued support.

On behalf of all my colleagues, congratulations once again on your 20th anniversary. We all look forward to welcoming you back on your next anniversary. Until we meet again, we wish you both splendid health and many more travel adventures ahead.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2017

Stayed in Kinabalu Wing for 6 nights end of May. The room has a stunning sunset view and huge. Before my comments, I would want to point out that I believe the staff already tried their very best, and with such a large group of mainland chinese and koreans, there actually is nothing they can do.

Arrival - Since we booked hotel transport, we were taken care of by a super nice staff memeber and did everything in the car.
Breakfast - HIGHLY recommend to have breakfast in executive lounge (although food choice is limited), the main cafe for breakfast is a TOTAL chaos with above mentioned tourists (we went there one morning and regreted so much).
Room - The executive suite was super nice, housekeeping could do a little bit more. (There are dust on some places and some remaining "rubbish" was still left on the table when we first moved into the room). Water was greyish when we tried the bath even after left it turned on twice and fill the bath. return to normal on the second day
Restaurants -
Coco Joes: nice
Cafe Tatu: food was just average (the beverage was super watery as the ice melted in the large container)
Peppinos: Really depends on your luck, the beef cheek we ordered was great, the appetizer a bit too salty, the fish fillet we ordered was not up to standard (the staff did offer to replace it, very attentive and nice staff)
Pools: I believe the staff already tried their very best, but with above mentioned tourists, they can do nothing about it, and the pool area is not a place you would enjoy if you were not Mainland Chinese or Koreans
STAR Marina -
some of the staff were great, some might get too exhausted dealing with Chinese tourist that when they saw another "chinese" face, their "frustration" can show. A lot of rubbish in the sea, and the corals are dying (most of them). Staff look after us even on the beach, which is nice.
Need to wait for an hour or less for check out in the lounge (we were not in a hurry so we wait) Not a big deal but could be better?

Overall, majority of the staff are truly excellent and although some of the things could be improved by the hotel, most of them were kind of out of their control.

Room Tip: Kinabalu Wing close to the pier, Tanjung Wing close to spa, sunset beach, etc. MUST get kinabalu cl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank K Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear K Y,

Thank you so much for this review of your recent holiday at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa.

We truly appreciate your repeated reassurance of the quality of service my colleagues have provided throughout your stay. We will continue to improve our standards of service to ensure that we exceed the expectations of all guests.

Until we meet again, we wish you safe travels.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2017

We spent 2 nights here as our 1st destination for our anniversary trip. The bed was decorated with flowers, so romantic. Nice hotel, friendly staffs, nice pool, delicious food, beautiful sunset and sea view. This hotel might not suitable for couples for seeking for peace and quiet holiday, it was packed with tourists.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ShangriLa_TAH, Director of Communications at Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2017

Dear Ken L,

Congratulations once again on your anniversary.

Thank you so much for this review of the resort.

On behalf of all my colleagues here in the resort, I wish you both happy adventures around the globe for many, many more years ahead.

May our path cross again.


Yours sincerely,
Claudina Wong
Director of Communications
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kota Kinabalu
4.3 km away
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
Le Meridien Kota Kinabalu
#2 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
2,270 reviews
2.3 km away
Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera)
5 km away
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu
#6 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 km away
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
Nexus Resort & Spa Karambunai
#9 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
1,457 reviews
25 km away
Shangri-La’s Rasa Ria Resort & Spa
4.2 km away
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
Hilton Kota Kinabalu
#4 of 92 in Kota Kinabalu
367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa

Address: 20 Jalan Aru, Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu 88100, Malaysia
Phone Number:
Region: Malaysia > Sabah > West Coast Division > Kota Kinabalu District > Kota Kinabalu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Spa Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Business Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#2 Family Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kota Kinabalu
Price Range: RM 853 - RM 1,948 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 492
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A paradise for the senses surrounded by natural beautyA gentle breeze caresses your face as you wake to the sound of waves lapping the beach. The balcony opens up to an inspiring vista of sparkling coral islands and swaying of palm trees. Tunku Abdul Rahman Park, bordered by crystal clear waters and lush vegetation Sophistication surrounds you in a lavishly decorated suite inspired by Borneo’s rich cultural heritage. Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu, is a perfect tropical getaway, a luxurious tranquil retreat just a short drive from the city.Yet, excitement beckons as you set out to discover all Kota Kinabalu’s delights. Making your way to Kinabalu National Park, you are thrust into a jungle paradise of natural wonders, rugged landscapes and scenic beauty. From the Rafflesia, the largest flower in the world, to the famous Orangutans in their natural habitat, it only gets more breathtaking every step of the way.The afternoon is spent exploring the picturesque town of Kota Belud. As Sabah’s largest and most popular open market, you find gems of all sorts, ranging from handmade handicrafts to mouth-watering local delights like natural honey.Back at the resort, you look forward to a sunset cruise, which departs from STAR Marina, to catch Borneo's famous sunset. Not long after, you wind down at Coco-Joe’s Bar & Grill. Lounging atop one of the beach-dining platforms, over cocktails and a delectable seafood tower, you continue to enjoy the sound of overlapping waves on the shores of Sunset Beach. A pampering session at CHI, The Spa rounds off the day. With treatments based on traditional Asian healing philosophies, you lose yourself in an enchanted and indulgent journey, all on the resort’s private spa island.For every experience here, you are surrounded by natural beauty. And it all begins at Shangri-La’s Tanjung Aru Resort and Spa, Kota Kinabalu ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Hotel Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La`s Tanjung Aru Resort And Spa
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Resort
Shangri Las Tanjung Aru Hotel
Shangri La Kota Kinabalu
Shangri-La's Tanjung Aru Resort & Spa Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing