We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
9 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$151
View deal
Booking.com
US$151
View deal
Trip.com
US$126
View deal
PricelineUS$151
Hotels.comUS$151
ZenHotels.comUS$226
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,376)
Filter reviews
4,376 results
Traveller rating
2,476
1,236
407
149
108
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,476
1,236
407
149
108
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kinabalu wing sunset bar cafe tatu coco joes star marina chi spa water slides horizon club borneo lounge kids club infinity pool life guards mountain view great resort the south china sea pool side nearby islands
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 4,376 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2022

Chose Shangri La Tg Aru inKK over their Rasa Ria resort in Tuaran as I wanted to be able to hop into KK town easily. In the end, I never left the resort - it was so peaceful and restful, I just did not want to step out. Great place if you're looking for a quiet retreat without too much activity. Room was very clean and spacious, with a beautiful sea view (Tanjung Wing), Spa was fantastic - and very good value with current promotions. The pool is large and a section is separated for adults only. Food is OK - not good, not bad. It does get busy on weekends, but you don't feel it as long as you avoid the pool area. Next door (Tg Aru public beach) is a great 2.5km stretch of beach with lovely morning and evening views, and good birdwatching opportunities as well. All in all, highly recomended and can't wait to return!

Room tip: In general, avoid rooms overlooking the pool and avoid SAT nights if you want peace and quiet
Date of stay: January 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noplanes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangri-La Tanjung Aru Kota Kinabalu, Other at Shangri-La Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2022

Dear noplanes, thank you very much for taking the time to write this wonderful review of the resort. Thank you for your feedback about our facilities and services. We'd love to welcome you back whenever you need a reset next! Until we meet again, do stay safe and have a wonderful holiday ahead. Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong, Director of Communications, Shangri-La Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2022

Place was magical. Managed to catch the sunset at the sunset bar. Loved the vibe. The best resort in town. Near to KK town, airport and beach. Buffet breakfast 5 ⭐, staff 5 ⭐ - very welcoming, helpful, friendly, kind hospitality, hotel very clean, great view, superb pool. Everything is perfect. Very satisfied. Will definitely come back in the future.

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Allw91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangri-La Tanjung Aru Kota Kinabalu, Other at Shangri-La Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2022

Dear Allw91, I cannot wait to show this to my colleagues, they'll be so happy to read this. Thank you so much for this amazing review! We cannot wait to welcome you back. Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong, Director of Communications, Shangri-La Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2022

Thank you @shangrilatah for making my birthday such a memorable one!

If you guys do come, you definitely must check out their sunset bar as the sunset is just breath taking!

Also, be sure to head to manukan island via their star marina.

We stayed in the Manukan suite and absolutely loving every part of the suite! Such a comfortable stay, with a comfortable bed and pillow.

Can I just stay here and not go back to KL please

Date of stay: January 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Heyyitsbowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangri-La Tanjung Aru Kota Kinabalu, Other at Shangri-La Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2022

Dear Heyitsbowen, thank you so much for this wonderful review of the resort! We are absolutely delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your birthday in Kota Kinabalu and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Stay forever? Yes please!! Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong, Director of Communications, Shangri-La Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2022

Our entire stay was very enjoyable, thank you! In particular in was the staff who made it special.
Housekeeping - our room was very clean. Miraculously, your staff managed to time their visits with our breakfast so that when we returned the place was immaculate again, thank you.
F & B - Special thanks is well deserved by David Wang. He was very engaging throughout our visit but the arrangements he made for our last night were exceptional. It was the most memorable moment of our trip! Thanks to those who helped us in the Horizon lounge - Rais, Hamizee, Zarina and Farah. All of the F & B staff were most gracious.
Spa - Shirley and Natalie gave us a wonderful experience. We would have returned if there had been appointments available!
Pool side - Andrew on the balloon game was very helpful and friendly.
We also visited the islands using the Star Marina service. They too were very courteous and efficient.

Coco-Joes bar and grill - thank you Jennifer and the manager (Khalil I believe?), you were very helpful

The hotel room itself was very well appointed and the grounds kept to a very high standard. Even though it was at full capacity, there was always space to be found around the pool.

From the perspective of what would have made our experience even better, the Horizon club lounge has some very tired outdoor tables and the general ambience was not what we expected. For example, the lounge in the Shangri La in KL has a more special feel. It is a shame that you cannot see the view from the majority of the chairs. Secondly, the pool side area was very busy and some clients were very discourteous in leaving their rubbish behind. I appreciate that this behaviour is not the fault of the hotel but all of the pool side staff walked past the waste without picking it up. They only cleared the left over food when I asked them too as it was attracting a lot of wildlife. The paper waste stayed there until the next guests used the loungers, they chose to sit among it.

Room tip: The sea view is worth it!
Date of stay: December 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank coachles87
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shangri-La Tanjung Aru Kota Kinabalu, Other at Shangri-La Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2022

Dear coachles87, thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. While we are delighted to hear that you had enjoyed your time here, we note your feedback about the Horizon Lounge and the staff attitude about the litter around. We appreciate the feedback and will take action to improve these as soon as we can. We would love to welcome you back soon. Until we meet again, we wish you many more safe and happy holiday adventures ahead. Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong, Director of Communications, Shangri-La Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2022 via mobile

Decided to spend our New Year at the Sunset bar..took the available package that was the high deck package.. everybody there had sort of like a similar package not sure why the kitchen was having problems sending our food.. we had to ask several times and finally get to bite in our cold mini burgers.. Next day we ordered room service.. waited 2 and half hours ! When I called they said sorry the pizza I ordered was not available.. after 2 and half hours ! I can understand that the hotel is busy at this time but if you can’t deliver.. don’t offer such services. Do not expect 5 star service from this place .. oh the lounge has nothing to offer ! Seriously nothing only sticky tables!

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Nurrita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STAR Team, Other at Shangri-La Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2022

Dear Nurrita, I note your review with much concern. Thank you for highlighting these to us, please accept our apologies for the inconveniences you had encountered with our food services. We will take immediate steps to look at our system to improve the services. Our most sincere gratitude for your kind support thus far. Yours sincerely, Claudina Wong, Director of Communications, Shangri-La Tanjung Aru, Kota Kinabalu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews