We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
US$61
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/22
Booking.com
US$45
View deal
Trip.com
US$38
View deal
Free cancellation until 28/05/22
Hotels.comUS$61
PricelineUS$46
TravelocityUS$61
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (782)
Filter reviews
782 results
Traveller rating
134
318
219
66
45
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
134
318
219
66
45
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 782 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2021 via mobile

Decent hotel. The room was clean and the towels fluffy. The light switches were a bit confusing but we figured it out eventually. Courteousl staff.
The breakfast buffet is basic ...not great. The bar serves a great long island tea but no beer on tap. I would stay there again.

Room tip: It was really crowded at the breakfast buffet on Sunday...and not much social distancing was practised. Can really blame the hotel when people behave irresponsibly
Date of stay: November 2021
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank brendajm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 September 2020 via mobile

Superb hotel, affordable price, the room is nice & clean, TV got several channel like HBO/FOX, AC/hot shower working well, toileteries available, breakfast is good, staff is friendly. Free parking for guest available.

Hotel very near to waterfront (walking distance), oceanus mall just in front of hotel

Date of stay: July 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank docvader91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2020

was in kota kinabalu recently and stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. I was assigned to a lower floor yet facing the sea which is across the main road. love the idea of waking up to the sea where some boats docked around. Definitely worth coming back to!

Room tip: upper floor for better view
Date of stay: August 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manis c
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2020

Jetting around KK on early March.
Stayed for a 2 nights at the Club Suite (city view).

Rooms layout are OK and all seems to be working.
But some how decor / furniture seems aging.

Decent spread during breakie and eve cocktail at club lounge.

Moving around KK is easy via GRAB.

Overall; i would say my stay was OK.

Room tip: Go for CLUB / Promenade floor that comes with extra perks.
Date of stay: March 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Shafiq_Ghazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadehotels, General Manager at Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabulu, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2020

Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying at Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu recently.

We appreciate your constructive feedback as they gave us the opportunity to gauge the consistency of our services and facilities provided to our valued guests such as your good-self. Rest assured that we will continue to strive for greater service excellence in order to keep up with the demand of our valued guests.

We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hafizan Wong
General Manager
Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2020

Stayed 4 nights in a club room from the 27th February to the 4th March.

The hotel is centrally located. There are many amenities within walking distance of the hotel which makes 'location' a good selling point. There are markets, various eateries, bars and a couple of shopping malls.

Check-in was quick however we were not happy with the first two rooms we were allocated. The first had an overpowering smell of air freshener that smelled as though it had been sprayed to possibly mask smoking. The second room had not been hoovered as there were bits on the floor.

The hotel itself feels as though it is quite old and the rooms could do with refurbishment, however the third room we checked into was clean and functional.

The hotel has in onsite shop which was well stocked and good value from other experiences.

The cakes that are sold downstairs are amazing, we took cakes back to our room on a couple of occasions.

We did not use the tour service in the hotel that was selling trips. We saved a lot of money by using the grab app to independently travel to various attractions.

We went on the North Borneo rail journey during our stay which was very good. Again I would encourage you to book this independently to save money by contacting North Borneo rail direct, we paid £66 each some tour companies were advertising this trip at £140 !

We did not use the pool area, but we did take a look at it. It is quite small and there are limited sun beds. I would say that if you are looking to book a hotel with a nice pool then this hotel might not be the hotel for you.

The best feature we found of this hotel was the club room, which was well worth the extra money per night. This was without doubt the best club room I have used in Malaysia after using various club rooms in KL. The staff within the club room were very attentive, the cocktails were amazing and the food very good also. You get a really good view of the sunset across Kota Kinbalu from the club room terrace.

All in all we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again based on the location and excellent club room.

Room tip: Inspect the room before taking luggage. You may find it may need a clean and you might want to change.
Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank OTBCJon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
promenadehotels, General Manager at Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabulu, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2020

Dear Sir,

Thank you for staying at Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu recently.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your constructive feedback as they gave us the opportunity to gauge the consistency of our services and facilities provided to our valued guests such as your good-self. Rest assured that we will continue to strive for greater service excellence in order to keep up with the demand of our valued guests.

We look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you again in the near future.

Regards,
Hafizan Wong
General Manager
Promenade Hotel Kota Kinabalu, Sabah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews