We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,194)
Filter reviews
3,194 results
Traveller rating
1,394
1,167
372
141
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,394
1,167
372
141
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsal frescofive sailscafe bolehgolf viewbowling alleyspice islandsilk gardenmarina clubshuttle busnorth borneo railwaysmall beachswimming poolclub roommanukan islandtennis courtsthe south china seabuffet breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 3,194 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Beautiful Malaysian style architecture at the Magellan. Very dedicated personnel, very polite and caring.
The rooms are spacious with view on the marina or on the ocean and the nearby islands.
Bed was comfortable.
But, the whole resort is aging fast and would need a refresh. In the rooms the towels are worn out and should have been changed a long time ago!
The food at breakfast was very average and only the Numerous Chinese tourists were assaulting the buffet.
The WiFi is very slow.
Drinks at the bar are not cheap; unfortunately they put a lot of ice in your glass, a droplet of bad rum and fill it up with soda and juice so it does not taste at all as the expected drink should.
The proximity of the airport with aircraft taking off as early as 0430am did not help our sleep...
A pity because overall, the location is great and the building itself beautiful, but am unsure I would like to stay back there on holidays for a good rest.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank ClubGGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear ClubGGG,

We regret to learn of the service lapse that you have encountered. Please be assured that this is not reflective of the usual service standards that we pride ourselves on. We have sent you a personal message and awaiting your reply.

Once again we would like to apologize for any shortcomings experienced during your stay with us, we will rectify the problem immediately once we receive a reply from your side. We look forward to welcoming you back with loving arms and to exceed your expectations.

Warm wishes,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This is my first visit to Kota Kinabalu.I was impressed by the beautiful scenery, the delicious food and the enthusiastic people here.When you play all day long and back to The Magellan Sutera,you can completely relax.The sunset at the beach of the hotel is magnificent.The facilities of the hotel are quite complete.I had a great trip.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 404,032,070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear 404032070,

Thank you for choosing Sutera Harbour Resort as your preferred stay in Kota Kinabalu. We are glad that you had a completely relaxing stay during your time with us. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the beautiful views that surrounds every corner of our resort as well as the delicious food we have to offer. We hope that our warm and friendly employees have accommodated you well to the best of their abilities as it is always in the best interest of all our guests that they receive the best treatment that they deserve. The views of the sun setting here at Sutera Harbour Resort are undeniable one of the best in Kota Kinabalu and we hope that you have managed to catch a glimpse of paradise. We would like to personally invite you to follow us on Facebook @suteraharbour, Instagram @suteraofficial and Twitter for all the latest updates and highlights. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back with loving arms on your next return.

Warm wishes,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I have a concern for the pillow which I think is rather soft. I was travelling to all different hotels for 8 days and my last stay was Magellan. Woke up to a sore neck. I couldn't turn my neck for days. Was disappointed over this and made me feel not worth the money spend for a room RM 1120. I slept better in a room that cost me RM 300. The pools are great and my son absolutely love it. When I called for additional mineral water, towels, batch mat, I had to called 3 times thru out the day before they send it up. The guest service is below par. The only staff I was impress with are those at the Restaurant Al Fresco. Very attentive. Overall, I will likely not return. Not worth the money for the level of service and quality of sleep. Will opt for other hotels with the same amount of money paid.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view, it's worth it
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WaiMun L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear WaiMun L,

We regret to learn of the service lapse that you have encountered. Please be assured that this is not reflective of the usual service standards that we pride ourselves on. We have sent you a personal message and awaiting your reply.

Once again we would like to apologize for any shortcomings experienced during your stay with us, we will rectify the problem immediately once we receive a reply from your side. We look forward to welcoming you back with loving arms and to exceed your expectations.

Warm wishes,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our family stayed in Pacific Sutera for 5 nights during summer peak season. The environment of the hotel is nice. During summer, Have quite a number of tour groups staying in this hotel. The room is ok, swimming pool is fairly good for kids coz there is an inflatable water slide. There is a mini private beach but not for swimming. Breakfast is fair, eating utensils and the tables are usually a bit dirty. For the location, we tried to walk slowly to Centre point with small kid and it takes about half an hour. So the only way to go to town centre is by taxi. However, the hotel is very near to the airport, just 15-20 mins by taxi.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank PujaTarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear PujaTarun,

Thank you for choosing Sutera Harbour Resort as your preferred stay in Kota Kinabalu. We hope the 5 nights spent with us have been relaxing and comfortable. We are always grateful to bestowed with the beauty of mother-nature surrounding every corner of our property and we hope that you and your family have managed to experience a piece of paradise. We are glad to learn that your kids have managed to have an enjoyable time at our swimming pools and playing on our water slides. We would like to thank you for bringing to our attention the areas that could use some tender loving care as we are always looking for ways to improve customer satisfaction. Rest assured, we value your feedback and recommendations and we will rectify the issues mentioned immediately. Nonetheless, we hope that you and your beautiful family have managed to create some incredible and unforgettable memories along the way that could last a lifetime. Please follow us on Facebook @suteraharbour, Instagram @suteraofficial and Twitter for all the latest highlights and happenings here at Sutera Harbour Resort. We look forward to welcoming you and your wonderful family back again on your next return.

Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Value for money and very enjoy for the kids. Suite for family trip because many activities you can experience. Who have children below 12 years old also can have fun in the kiddies club. I personally want to celebrate my anniversary here and if we want to have family gathering, I will suggest this resort.

Room Tip: Higher floors have good view
  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tersan2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHR-Management, Manager at Sutera Harbour Resort (The Pacific Sutera & The Magellan Sutera), responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear tersan2018,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It has been our pleasure to have served you and your wonderful family at Sutera Harbour Resort during your time with us. We hope that you family have managed to experience the best comfort and luxury during your stay. We are indeed a huge property with a wide variety of activities and facilities to keep all our guests well entertained and accommodated and we are thrilled to learn that you and your kids have managed to do just that. We are excited at the opportunity of you wanting to celebrate your anniversary with us, rest assured we will do our very best to make it an unforgettable one. With all our warm and friendly employees always ready to serve you to the best of their abilities, you will definitely receive the best treatment that you deserve. Do follow us on Facebook @suteraharbour, Instagram @suteraofficial and Twitter for all the latest updates and highlights. We look forward to welcoming you and your beautiful family back once again on your next visit to Kota Kinabalu.

Warm wishes,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews