We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$243
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$380
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Kinabalu(Kota Kinabalu)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$43
US$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oceania Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$36
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Klagan Hotel(Kota Kinabalu)
US$59
US$48
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$56
US$41
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$48/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$52
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,543)
Filter reviews
1,543 results
Traveller rating
543
483
251
130
136
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
543
483
251
130
136
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnoble housepenyu restaurantkingfisher restaurantborneo wingbatik paintingmonitor lizardssunset barocean panoramaprivate beachshuttle buschinese restaurantgarden viewthe south china seakids clubseafoodthe club loungemalaysia
Filter
Updating list...
720 - 725 of 1,543 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We visited just before christmas a few months ago with another family. The resort is quite far away from Kota Kinabalu proper. Your best bet is to rent a car on arrival and drive to Nexus - about 1 hr away. Inside the resort itself, there is the main central property and ancillary villas. The ancillaries are a few km away and you will find the car useful to travel within the facility itself - they do have shuttles but you will end up being dependent on their timings.
The resort itself is well maintained with spacious rooms. They have two to three restaurants onsite. Vegetarian options are limited but we managed during our stay. There were quite a few activities advertised but we ended up spending most of the time in the pool or on the beach. There is small shopmart in the main building to buy items such as milk, soda, chips etc. One thing to note is that there was no WiFi in the rooms - only in the main lobby. The rooms had ethernet ports which do not work well for iPads/iPhones. Hotel staff are very friendly but not necessarily the most competent. Service gets a bit behind when a sudden crowd shows up - e.g. a tourist bus coming in for lunch... Beach access is excellent. Overall it is a good place to go with family for a few days.

Room Tip: If you are with family - choose a villa/spa suite that is away from the main building. Newer buildings with localized pool facilities right next to the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sridhar_srin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

It's a very nice resort, with its own beach, a lot of local activities. You will have to pay hotel prices for the food, and it costs alot to go to the city on the shuttle.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Wendysdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

One advice for all travelers - KEEP OUT OF THIS PLACE!
Nexus Karambunai is definitely the last place you should choose to stay.

I was there for 4 days 3 nights and by far it was one of my worst holidays. The resort totally ruined it for us, we choose to stay at the so-called luxury pool villas but it was far from luxury, especially the services offered. The issues that is worth pointing out:
1. The bed in the master bedroom was broken and it was impossible to get a good nights rest, maintenance is poor
2. The toilet flush system was broken, so we could not flush and the toilet keeps getting clogged, called them a few times to fix it, still no changes.
3. Bed sheet had stains on it
4. Check in service was bad, we arrived late afternoon, about 3pm and the room was still NOT READY. Check in staff not very friendly too
5. Buggy service from check in to villa did not come so we walked to our villa instead
6. Buggy from main terminal to our villa check in left us in the van for 20 mins while he went missing
7. Bell boys ignore the fact you are there, they just stand around the corner chatting to each other
8. Breakfast at Penyu restaurant - there was nobody clearing the tables and guest were left queuing up because there is insufficient staff there
9. We wasted time in changing rooms because they could not fix the "broken" items, totally ruin our holiday mood
10. Shamri from the breakfast restaurant, was rude and showed his temper.
11. I called a day in advance to fix a hotel transfer and they mention to call me back but they didnt. When I call in the morning, they asked me to take a cab instead.
12. Borneo Spa is overrated, the toilet was dirty with empty shampoo bottles on the floor, unkempt and dirty, maintenance is obviously not a priority for them.
13. The guard at the entrance to the villas was rude

** refer to pics

The only positive points:
1. Petronella which was the manager there was quite helpful
2. Staff at the lagoon park was good

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
30  Thank Racheal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

Amenities grade:Pool Villas are 4 to 5 star.
Location:The NEXUS is a giant hotel complex which is 30 KM from Kota-Kinabalu city.The main hotel is a bit dated and has about 5 or 6 restaurants to cater to all tastes. About 2 KM from the main hotel are the 60 nexus pool villas-All facing a private beach. These look new.
Plus points:
Recommend the pool villas...simply great living. Faces the sea and the beach. Spacious and beautifully furnished. king size bed in mast-bedroom and 2 queen size beds in the other-all ensuite. Big enough for a couple with 3 teenage kids!!! Mast -bathroom is large with a jaccuzi and has an enclosed private outdoor garden. Fully equipped kitchen(but strangely no cutlery or crockery!!). Big drawing and dining room. The personal pool opens to the dining room. Not large but cute: 6feet X 15feet X 5feet deep with a proper filter system and the works!!
The pool villas have been quite a different and enjoyable experience. Worth it even with a few minor hiccups as follows:
Negative points:
1)No restaurants in the pool complex; only room service available. Main hotel restaurants are 2 kms away and quite pricey by malaysian standards. Fully equipped kitchen,but strangely no cutlery or crockery /pots or pans. Asked the hotel to provide…………politely ignored!!
2)There are regular hotel shuttle transport. Suggest rent your car-its cheap( from 50 ringgit to 400 ringgit per day according to the car )and keeps you mobile.
3)Avoid the Nexus lagoon water sports/activities center . Its run down and a disgrace to the hotel. For water sports/ island visits etc, contact the main offices at the Sutera harbour marina (sutera hotel complex at KK city). Or the tour agents at the nexus hotel foyer.
4) Poorly trained front desk staff at the villa complex. Many have poor English . For major problems contact the main hotel directly.

Room Tip: Choose the pool villas. Its worth the extra spent. Remember all the villas face the sea in the form of an arc. So those at the edges of the arc are smack on the beach and are premium priced....but privacy can be an issue with hotel guests walking around the beach.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubenmat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2012

This is my fifth visit to the Nexus and it breaks my heart to say it, but it's absolutely terrible. The rooms are clean, as usual, but the resort itself has a very run-down appearance. The gardens are beautiful, I can't fault them on that. It's as though the management is trying to impress on appearance but not substance. The food is almost inedible, and lukewarm at best - a potential salmonella problem, and it is not replenished quickly enough. And how can an international resort run out of beer? No Tiger beer so my husband and son-in-law took their own cans into dinner. The shop is very empty and the excuse is that the suppliers close down for January - I think it's because the resort management hasn't paid it's bills!!! Probably the same reason there's no beer! The biggest problem is that we're here for another two weeks and have paid our accommodation in advance. This review might sound as though I'm just having a good moan, but everything is true. Our previous four visits have been fantastic which is why we booked for a fifth. It will definitely be our last.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
22  Thank Richo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews