We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Certainly Worth Seeing”

Kota Kinabalu City Mosque
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.20*
and up
Kota Kinabalu Half-Day City Tour
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
232 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Certainly Worth Seeing”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Generally speaking buildings such as Mosques do not interest me because I have no connection with such sites. However during a sight seeing tour of Kota Kinabalu we pulled up outside the Mosque and was very glad we did. Some of the best photographs of the trip were of this gorgeous building. We came late in the afternoon and all of the doors were locked (a number of people walked down to look through the doors, however I wanted to admire the view from afar). The way it is mirrored in the water which surrounds it is absolutely devine.

Even if such sites do not generally interest you please do take the time if you're in Kota Kinabalu to even just pull up next to it for 5 minutes to have a quick look... Its worth the effort.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank G3ck0-Trav3ll3r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    297
    180
    29
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful Building”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

If you're a talented photographer (which I am not), you could get some incredible shots at this place. The contrast of the bright white walls and the blue sky is pretty impressive. The minarets are gorgeous, and even I was able to get some good photos of them. And photography is pretty much the only reason people come here - you can't really go inside most of the time, and the mosque itself is pretty far from any other notable places. The mosque isn't really floating as much as its surrounded by water, but visually it's still neat. It can be nice to put the camera down for a minute and just drink up the beauty of the place.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Niko S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“lovely mosque”
Reviewed 19 December 2011

this is one of the lovely mosque I've seen.......I just love the beautiful scenery around the mosque & the inside is simply beautiful.....

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Dona73Malaysia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manila city
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“solemn”
Reviewed 15 December 2011

i like the floating mosque because of its uniqueness... compared to other mosque, it surrounded with water and it is in the heart of the city...even its too far to our place, still good to go there.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank iAMpEArLEysHElL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Beauty off a main road!”
Reviewed 26 November 2011

We took a long walk from the revolving restaurant to the floating mosque. It's a beautiful vision off a main busy road. However i would suggest taking in the City Mosque at Likas Bay as part of a taxi journey.

We ended up walking from the Revolving Restaurant towards the mosque as when we arrived at the restuarant we were told they had closed for the season. This was on 31st August. However this was not highlighted on their website, so please call to avoid the same long and hot walk we took!

The floating mosque is worth a visit, but is only a brief stop on a longer tour. In order to go inside the mosque, dress modestly.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank donna_goodwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kota Kinabalu City Mosque also viewed

Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
Kota Kinabalu, Kota Kinabalu District
 

Been to Kota Kinabalu City Mosque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing