We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
192
324
90
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
192
324
90
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gaya street sunday market within walking distance signal hill air con convenient location fish market stayed here for nights kota kk nora waterfront borneo eateries laundry
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2020

At the front desk , check in was a breeze, and we were assigned to rooms 101/108 and 301 for our stay from 24 – 26 Jan and 29 – 31 Jan respectively.
Rooms are spacious and clean , it has fast speed wireless internet connect including a safe box and comfortably supplied with all the necessary amenities. It is a heritage boutique hotel , nicely decorated with colonial furnitures and fixtures .

The location of Jesselton Hotel is very central , it is right in the centre of town where all the tourist spots is located . A mere 10 mins walk lead us to the restaurants alongside the waterfront boardwalk , harbor for the ferries /boats to take passengers for cruises or island hopping, wet and dry markets and the handicraft market.
There is a convenience store just opposite the hotel , and several food outlets and bars as well as shopping malls .

As our check out day happens to be on Sunday, the street in front of the hotel is closed for a market packed with all types of goods, food, live entertainment, etc which poses some conveniences as we could not park our car to collect our luggages!!! very pleasant stay and we plan to return in the near future to this hotel

Nevertheless the stay was very pleasant stay and we shall return !!!

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WorldGlutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2020

we spent 2 periods at The Jesselton, with a trip to Kuching in between. I cannot speak more highly of the Management and Staff of this small boutique Hotel. It is old (1956) but very clean. Some of it is dating but it is undergoing restoration at the moment. It lacks a restaurant at the moment as this is part of the restoration effort. There are eateries all around within 1 minutes walk, so no problems there. Night markets virtually outside the door 4 nights a week. I'll be back, thats for sure.

Date of stay: January 2020
1  Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2020

This historic hotel is located at the end of a row of shophouses along the famous Gaya Street. A new annex is formed from the 2nd story of the next lot of shophouses which is where we had our room. It looked out onto the back street and further into a main road, and is reasonably quiet. The rates are very good value.

The room was very cosy, with good furnishings (open cabinetry) and fittings. The bed and pillows were very comfortable and we felt very much at home throughout our time there, considering this is one of the few stays we spent a lot of time in the room. Our stay was quite enjoyable and staff were very helpful especially when we had to extend another night as one of our party was not feeling well. Lots of channels and cable TV helped us tide over that too.

We stayed over the weekend and got to experience the night market and Gaya Street market right at our doorstep, which was wonderful. There are many restaurants and shops nearby for souvenirs, snacks and also medicines.

Thank you Michelle for dropping by to talk about the history of the hotel. We really enjoyed our stay and will love to come back again. Kudos also to your staff who were always very warm and helpful.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank junara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2019

We had a three night stay. The room was clean and freshly appointed. Fluffy white sheets and pillows. Very comfortable. The staff was helpful and attentive. Well located with lots of shops and restaurants nearby. Very reasonably priced for the quality of the accommodations.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MontpelierGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2019 via mobile

First time stay. Love the hotel. It’s clean and with nice Christmas Deco. It look super cute with the colonial beauty. During check in, I have requested early check in which is at 12noon due to I had an event at 1pm. The lady at front desk was friendly enough to provide the room. They upgraded us to the new wing room. Room is clean. But it’s quite small though. Unfortunately the bath towel that are provided is smelly. I guessed it was smoke smell. Otherwise everything is perfect. Will be back by Jan 2020 to KK. Will definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Velle_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews