We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$34
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/12/22
Priceline
US$32
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Vio.com
US$28
View deal
Expedia.comUS$37
TravelocityUS$37
HurbUS$53
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (639)
Filter reviews
639 results
Traveller rating
193
326
92
15
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
193
326
92
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gaya street sunday market third floor short stay stayed here for nights comfortable stay spacious room kk waterfront borneo convenience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 639 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2022

Comfortable stay in a spacious room with bar fridge, shower-over-bath and kettle/tea/coffee.
Great location with the waterfront an easy walk from hotel. Surrounded by convenience stores, restaurants, massage places and 7/11 if you feel like a cold beer!
Friendly efficient staff. We were able to leave luggage at the hotel until we returned from further travels in Sabah.
Hotel is an easy drive from the airport…less than 30 minutes.
This is not a modern hotel, but is very charming and authentic.
We would choose to stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 4evaLuv-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 17 September 2022

We stayed at the Jesselton for 1 night as were stopping over in KK between trips from Mulu to Sandakan.

The hotel itself was built in the 1940's after the war and retains many of these features which add to the charm of the hotel. Having said that the common areas and the rooms do all seem a bit tired and could do with a bit of a refresh. I do appreciate that the hotel has only recently re-opened following the pandemic and this could be a contributing factor.

The location is great and there are dozens of local cafe's and restaurants were we had a great bowl of spicy Laksa.

Breakfast was freshly made and served in a small room on the third floor...conveniently close to our room!

For a short stay in KK The Jesselton was fine and I much prefer these boutique type hotels to the main chain hotels.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simsu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

Friendly staff who were accommodating to our needs. Very central location, right along Gaya Street where the sunday market is, where there are the weekend night markets and loads of eateries around that area. It is only a short walk from a large modern mall, the promenade and seafood market. The only downside was a penchant for leaks from the bathtub area whenever the water is turned on...

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank LiQiChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 February 2020

I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and recommend it to those who want a hotel with character in Kota Kinabalu. The location is very central, just 10 minutes walk to the seafront and market. There are a lot of restaurants within 5 minutes walk including a nice Italian restaurant. There is also a nice cafe on the street corner where i had a good breakfast.

The room was comfortable and clean. I had a view over Signal Hill, there was some traffic noise. but not enough to prevent me from having a good night's sleep.

The hotel restaurant was under restoration, but there are many places you can eat close to the hotel.

The only negative was that my room was not cleaned until 3pm everyday. i found this annoying when i wanted to return to room after lunch to relax. However, all in all i enjoyed my stay based on the great location and the colonial character of the hotel.

I f i

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gillboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 16 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed 5 nights, strongly recommended if you are staying KK. This is not a very big chain hotel but very cosy and have a character.

Locaion: great! 10 min easy walk to Jesselton Point, 5 min walk to nearest shopping mall, 2 min walk to laundry (service wash Rm18, done by nice lady), in front of hotel for Sunday morning market & weekend evening food market, lots of eating places on the same street (most breakfast opens 7)

Service: 5 star! From the booking on line to the check out, staff was very kind and very attentive. Newspaper "Borneo Post" sent to the room every morning was nice especially not many hotel provide papers nowadays. In addition it was nice to know local news too.

Room: very clean and spacious. Room 214 was near to the traffic lights and could hear noise a bit.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Travelmonkiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews