We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
RM 163
No fees just great deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
HW08
Port Macquarie, Australia

Boutique Hotel

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Jan 2023
The Jesselton Hotel is an old hotel that goes back to colonial times. It has been nicely renovated but as with most old hotels, the rooms are small. Other than the size, the rooms have all that you would expect including fridge and tea making. Nice furnishings and very clean. Breakfast is a little strange, you have to order the night before and it appears that the food is brought in from somewhere else. If not included, I would recommend that any guests have breakfast outside sampling traditional Malaysian cuisine. Location is excellent with Sunday markets outside the hotel and several shopping malls nearby. Surai Sabah Shopping Mall, one of the two biggest and newest in KK is just a 10 minute walk. An excellent place to stay when visiting Kota Kinabalu.
Date of stay: December 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
RM 342
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
1.2 km from The Jesselton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hyatt.com
RM 389
Fully refundable
Enroll free for lower prices
  • Booking.com
    RM 389
  • Tripadvisor
    RM 351
  • Priceline
0.3 km from The Jesselton Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
RM 814
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 766
  • Vio.com
    RM 815
5.2 km from The Jesselton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
LeMeridien.com
RM 480
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 464
  • Booking.com
    RM 480
0.9 km from The Jesselton Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Main lobby
Booking.com
RM 310
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 273
  • Agoda.com
    RM 257
  • Hotels.com
    RM 310
2.4 km from The Jesselton Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Marriott Hotels
RM 519
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Tripadvisor
    RM 519
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
1.4 km from The Jesselton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Property Exterior
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    RM 164
  • Booking.com
    RM 209
0.1 km from The Jesselton Hotel
Free Wifi
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 599
  • Agoda.com
    RM 439
  • Expedia.com
    RM 667
3.2 km from The Jesselton Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
NEWLY RENOVATED STANDARD ROOM
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 134
  • Agoda.com
    RM 102
  • Expedia.com
    RM 123
0.1 km from The Jesselton Hotel
Free Wifi
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 167
  • Expedia.com
    RM 175
1.9 km from The Jesselton Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviews (652)
Filter reviews
652 results
Traveller rating
193
331
98
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
193
331
98
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gaya street sunday market boutique hotel third floor location is excellent short stay stayed here for nights comfortable stay spacious room shopping mall kk kota waterfront borneo convenience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 652 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2022

Advertised as colonial, translates to old fashioned.. you have to order your breakfast in advance and specify at what time you want it, as the food is prepared elsewhere and brought covered in cling film. No on site restaurant anymore.
Staff helpful but hotel needs modernisation. Good location

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank foxylady23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2022 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our stay in Borneo. Perfect location on Gaya Street for the weekend food markets and the Sunday Market.
Staff were very welcoming especially on reception.
The room was lovely, comfortable bed and spotlessly clean
Definitely worth a stay if you are in KK for a few days.

Room tip: Food market is on Friday and Saturday nights. Definitely worth a visit.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cowards
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2022

Comfortable stay in a spacious room with bar fridge, shower-over-bath and kettle/tea/coffee.
Great location with the waterfront an easy walk from hotel. Surrounded by convenience stores, restaurants, massage places and 7/11 if you feel like a cold beer!
Friendly efficient staff. We were able to leave luggage at the hotel until we returned from further travels in Sabah.
Hotel is an easy drive from the airport…less than 30 minutes.
This is not a modern hotel, but is very charming and authentic.
We would choose to stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 4evaLuv-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2022

We stayed at the Jesselton for 1 night as were stopping over in KK between trips from Mulu to Sandakan.

The hotel itself was built in the 1940's after the war and retains many of these features which add to the charm of the hotel. Having said that the common areas and the rooms do all seem a bit tired and could do with a bit of a refresh. I do appreciate that the hotel has only recently re-opened following the pandemic and this could be a contributing factor.

The location is great and there are dozens of local cafe's and restaurants were we had a great bowl of spicy Laksa.

Breakfast was freshly made and served in a small room on the third floor...conveniently close to our room!

For a short stay in KK The Jesselton was fine and I much prefer these boutique type hotels to the main chain hotels.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simsu66
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 March 2020 via mobile

Friendly staff who were accommodating to our needs. Very central location, right along Gaya Street where the sunday market is, where there are the weekend night markets and loads of eateries around that area. It is only a short walk from a large modern mall, the promenade and seafood market. The only downside was a penchant for leaks from the bathtub area whenever the water is turned on...

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
3  Thank LiQiChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews