We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
RM 202
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
Agoda.com
RM 154
Fully refundable before Wed, 28 Feb
No fees just great deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (650)
Filter reviews
650 results
Traveller rating
193
330
97
18
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
193
330
97
18
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gaya street sunday market boutique hotel third floor location is excellent short stay stayed here for nights comfortable stay spacious room shopping mall kk kota waterfront borneo convenience
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 650 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2023 via mobile

Jesselton 2.0.
We were excited to return after Covid restrictions where for 3yrs of zero travel.
3yrs do things to places and people I guess... anyway here's a run down..

+ve
- classic romantic
- warmth and cosy
- nice location
-ve
- nvr book on their website (got charged 2x the standard rate). @!!+#!!
- no concierge
- noisy staffs
- our room sucks
- jaded.

We'll skip this place when we are in town next time.

Will skip here next trip.

Room tip: Avoid booking online at their website. Price can be double. Also the rooms at the far corner (1st floor)...best avoid.
Date of stay: January 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank been_there1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 January 2023

The Jesselton Hotel is an old hotel that goes back to colonial times. It has been nicely renovated but as with most old hotels, the rooms are small. Other than the size, the rooms have all that you would expect including fridge and tea making. Nice furnishings and very clean. Breakfast is a little strange, you have to order the night before and it appears that the food is brought in from somewhere else. If not included, I would recommend that any guests have breakfast outside sampling traditional Malaysian cuisine. Location is excellent with Sunday markets outside the hotel and several shopping malls nearby. Surai Sabah Shopping Mall, one of the two biggest and newest in KK is just a 10 minute walk. An excellent place to stay when visiting Kota Kinabalu.

Date of stay: December 2022
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank HW08
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 November 2022

Advertised as colonial, translates to old fashioned.. you have to order your breakfast in advance and specify at what time you want it, as the food is prepared elsewhere and brought covered in cling film. No on site restaurant anymore.
Staff helpful but hotel needs modernisation. Good location

Date of stay: October 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank foxylady23
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 October 2022 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights at the beginning of our stay in Borneo. Perfect location on Gaya Street for the weekend food markets and the Sunday Market.
Staff were very welcoming especially on reception.
The room was lovely, comfortable bed and spotlessly clean
Definitely worth a stay if you are in KK for a few days.

Room tip: Food market is on Friday and Saturday nights. Definitely worth a visit.
Date of stay: October 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Cowards
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2022

Comfortable stay in a spacious room with bar fridge, shower-over-bath and kettle/tea/coffee.
Great location with the waterfront an easy walk from hotel. Surrounded by convenience stores, restaurants, massage places and 7/11 if you feel like a cold beer!
Friendly efficient staff. We were able to leave luggage at the hotel until we returned from further travels in Sabah.
Hotel is an easy drive from the airport…less than 30 minutes.
This is not a modern hotel, but is very charming and authentic.
We would choose to stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2022
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank 4evaLuv-Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews