We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Priceline
US$29
View deal
Free cancellation until 09/12/22
Booking.com
US$28
View deal
Vio.com
US$25
View deal
Expedia.comUS$34
Hotels.comUS$34
ZenHotels.comUS$35
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (473)
Filter reviews
473 results
Traveller rating
29
166
179
63
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
166
179
63
36
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 473 reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2019 via mobile

We stayed here during a short layover in KK and figured it would be ok for one night... we were sorely mistaken. The staff are unfriendly and unwilling to make recommendations in the surrounding area, acting as if we were a nuisance to ask questions. The walls are paper thin and you can hear everything happening in the surrounding rooms, including the plumbing rushing by your head as you TRY to sleep. The room decor is ancient and unkempt; the light shade needed to be burned. We had to wear our shoes in the bathroom because the floors and the shower were disgusting. The sheets were stained but that was the least of our problems. We thought we did a thorough bed bud check but got more bites in six-hours than we did one week in the jungle.

The one positive is that it’s in a great location close to the Sunday market and it has at least one fantastic restaurant nearby. If you’re craving Western food, check out El Centro for Tex-Mex.

Avoid this hotel and pay extra to stay elsewhere.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank egin91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 March 2019

This is a great budget hotel in a good area of the city. Close to restaurant and shops. Me and my wife stayed there three times during a three week holiday (we went around borneo and came back to KK) and stayed in different rooms each time. Yes some rooms ARE nicer then others, but in general the standard is good, especially for the price. The staff is friendly and accommodating. They also have free drinking water machines on some floors so bring a reuseable waterbottle. The location is good, 15-20 min to airport and the reception is open 24/7. There are many great restaurants nearby and a huge shopping mall 200 m away. And if you would like to go to the islands in the nationalpark, the docks are a 5-10 min walk. I can really recommend this hotel.

Room tip: I would ask for a nicer room, or at least pay for one.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tomsaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
UddinAli, General Manager at Kinabalu Daya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2019

Dear Tomswede,

Thank you very much for staying with us. We appreciate your great support as well your positive feedback is certainly very helpful for us to identify our strength and weaknesses.

Once again, thank you and hope to see you soon.

With best regards

Uddin Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2019 via mobile

Hotel and rooms are old but nicely maintained..Hotel have 3 small lifts located at different location of the hotel...hotel rooms are definitely not kids safe as have a lot of low sharp corners ..however most rooms are moderately big..the shower water is good and strong..and most importantly the hotel staff s are very friendly and quickly attend to our requests and needs...

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank SIMONL1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
UddinAli, General Manager at Kinabalu Daya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2019

Dear SIMONL1979,


Thank you very much for staying with us. We really appreciate your comments which is very details certainly will help us to identify our weaknesses and will work hard to further improve our product and services.

We hope to see you soon.

With best regards

Uddin Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2018 via mobile

Its happend today when i check out at 1pm and take a Grab to KK International Airport.
It took me 25 minutes reaching airport then i realized that hotel didnt refund my deposit upon check out. It is your Good Hotel Policy to collect deposit but is it your Good Policy to refund the deposit to hotel guest upon thier check out? All the way from hotel to airport and back to hotel almost took me 40 minutes and i didn't received any call from hotel that my deposit of MYR100 was not refunded. Upon check out, i have at least 5 to 8 minutes waiting for Grab in front your hotel property and your staff said she didnt saw me and not even followup by a call to me. It caused me to pay triple Grab fare to airport and only received a "sorry" and the carelese arrangement by your staff. I have to say sorry to you too as i really felt dissapointed with the stay.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank KxY84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
UddinAli, General Manager at Kinabalu Daya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2019

Dear KxY84,

We regret you had a bad experience during your check out process getting back your hotel deposit refund. we are very sorry about your inconvenience caused.

We have investigated further with the staff involved and she admitted her mistake for not give you a courtesy call to inform on your refund. Please be informed that there was a cases whereby our customer had forgotten to collect back their deposit and we managed to deposit back into their account for non local guest.

Once again, we apologized for the difficulties you have gone through during your stay with us.

With best regards

Uddin Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2018 via mobile

Its located in the heart of the city. Restaurants and shopping malls are within walking distances. BUT! The room is average and is better suited for budget travellers. Not really comfy for family with children. Service is good, room cramped. Air con & water heater in good condition. Overall, it was a nice stay.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Domokirisaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
UddinAli, General Manager at Kinabalu Daya Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2019

Dear Domokirisaki,


First and foremost, thank you for staying with us, we really appreciate your comments and feedback with regards to the room that have been been assigned to you and your family.

We actually have different category of rooms at our property including family rooms and suites. We had overlooked on your needs and hope this can be improve in your future stay.

Thank you and hope to see you again soon.

With best regards

Uddin Ali

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews