We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
eDreams
Lol.travel
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Sonny Royal
Gold Coast, Australia

Secluded island paradise close to KK!

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Oct 2017
I stayed here with two other friends late last year and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The property was built with the premise of providing a low-impact design towards the environment, as most of the property is on raised boardwalks. The steep stair climb to our bungalow offered sweeping views of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park and a secluded abode nestled on the cliff face. The bungalows are run off solar power and rainwater which played a large part towards their sustainability efforts. The beach is netted so less trash comes through and we shared the accommodation with only two other tourists. The buffet food for all meals was delicious and fresh, loads of space to lie around and soak up the sun, swim in the ocean, enjoy the sunset, and have dive options available.

Will be back!
Date of stay: December 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Property Exterior
Booking.com
RM 232
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 170
  • Vio.com
    RM 162
  • Agoda.com
    RM 167
8.3 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Tripadvisor
RM 341
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
9.5 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 599
  • Priceline
    RM 599
  • Vio.com
    RM 377
  • Expedia.com
    RM 667
10.7 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
NEWLY RENOVATED STANDARD ROOM
Booking.com
RM 125
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 101
  • Trip.com
    RM 92
  • Expedia.com
    RM 114
8.3 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Booking.com
RM 379
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    RM 379
  • Expedia.com
    RM 342
  • Priceline
    RM 379
8.4 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
RM 896
  • Expedia.com
    RM 896
  • Agoda.com
    RM 829
  • Vio.com
    RM 896
12.2 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Marriott Hotels
RM 519
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    RM 509
  • Priceline
    RM 509
  • Hotels.com
    RM 509
9.4 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
LeMeridien.com
RM 500
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    RM 500
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 434
  • Priceline
    RM 500
8.9 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Pool
Main lobby
Booking.com
RM 310
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 310
  • Agoda.com
    RM 257
  • Priceline
    RM 273
10.4 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
16
20
13
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
16
20
13
7
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

I visited for three nights with my sister. We're a little older than the usual guests and arrived with suitcases to discover 200 steps up in
Into the jungle. Luckily hello was on hand. Our room was literally a box suspended on the hillside with the midst wonderful view through the trees to the sea. The wonderful noises of animal life was better than any music. Three other couples stayed at the same time and we all are together. We had to to hide our belonging from thieving monkeys and ensure they didn't get access to the food which was great, apart from the breakfast. There is a lot of rubbish in the sea but the staff do everything to ensure the beach is clean. They are extremely polite and helpful. On the morning of our departure nobody wanted to leave which says it all

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank togherhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2017

The island is lovely if you want to escape the hustle and bustle however it is very weather dependant as there is very little to do on the island.

The rooms: the rooms are basic with a fan and a bathroom in its own area next door to the bedroom. The rooms are hill chalets except for one beach chalet. The rooms are a few floors up so I suggest bringing everything you need down with you in the morning to avoid multiple trips.

Facilities: the island has two kayaks and snorkels to use for free, this is great however the water around the island isn't very clean due to its closeness to the mainland. I went snorkelling once in our 3 day trip and came across too much rubbish to make it enjoyable.

Food: food is nice traditional Malaysian food. The breakfast could be better.

Staff: staff were great especially Jess she really tied to accommodate the guests she even took us out to the village next door for something to do. The staff also try really hard to keep the island clean but it seems like a never ending battle the more rubbish they clean from the water the more that washes up.

Some tips for the hotel:
activities in the room above the restaurant would be nice (yoga for example) or a pool table. WIFI would really help on those rainy days where there isn't anything to do on the island. I would also suggest jungle trekking tours (at extra cost). Maybe eventually invest in more beach chalets too.

This island resort could be incredible it just needs a bit more money spent on it.

Room tip: Beach chalet
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 August 2017

I had two nights at Mari Mari Sepanggar last week and throughly enjoyed my time there. This is a place to go if you want to wander through the jungle, swim, snorkel and lie on the beach, entirely relaxing because there is nothing else to do!

The rooms are small and basic in design, but well screened for mosquitoes on all doors and windows, it was cool in the evening so you really don't need the fan at night. The bed was comfortable and the basic bathroom was fine. There is a balcony with a couple of chairs - my room had both sea and jungle views, some are deeper in the jungle. The rooms are hot during the day, and as other reviews have said, there are a couple of hundred steps up. The balcony was best in the early morning and evening because of the heat. I found the best plan was to take everything down to the beach in the morning including a change of clothes for dinner. You can put valuables etc in a big lockable cupboard (take a small padlock) and spend the day on the beach. The lockable cupboard is also important because of the monkeys who move like greased lightening and will steal anything.

There are freshwater showers changing facilities and nice clean toilets down at the beach. The water is beautiful for swimming - the water is clean, while there is some plastic rubbish that gets inside the netted area, the staff keep the immediate area as clean as they can.

The young staff were very charming and attentive and checked in with us constantly to see that everything was OK. The food is brought in pre-prepared, it was delicious Chinese/Malay food served as a buffet with chicken, fish and vege dishes. There was plenty for everyone, although there were only four rooms occupied, and the meals are at set times, they just call you in off the beach. There was fruit served at every meal so don't bother carrying this over on the boat. Same for snacks, I didn't buy anything but both the restaurant and dive centre sold packaged snacks and soft drinks. There was free tea, coffee and filtered chilled water on tap all day.

There are a few loungers and chairs at the beach, no umbrellas but plenty of shady trees right down to the water. There were a small number of day trippers (6-8) on two days but the beach and swimming area is large so there were never the crazy crowds there were on some of the other islands. For 50 ringgit extra you can have a late check out and lunch and go back on the 3pm boat on your last day which was well worthwhile.

I had felt a bit concerned about booking this accomodation because of some of the reviews but found a lovely spot with enthusiastic staff who are keen to make you happy. They have clearly taken on board the feedback from earlier reviews and do their best to make your stay a good one.

A couple more things - take the monkeys seriously, lock up your room and put your valuables in the lockers before swimming. They will steal anything, but are also fascinating to watch and come down to the beach/restaurant several times a day, one even went for a swim. Plus there was a small flock of tame goats who trotted along the beach at times.

There is one room right on the beach with only a few stairs, this looked beautiful and would be a great option if for some reason you couldn't manage the stairs.

Room tip: One chalet on the beach looked great
Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radames
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 May 2017 via mobile

There is nothing much to do in this place ,activities are serously lacking after a while of enjoying the view what next to do is a big quwstion
Also be aware as you may need to walk upto 140 steps each time you walk out of room, there is no switches in room and power available is only solar light snd solar fan

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Radhika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 March 2017

during arrival we being serve seafood and night session we had nice feast of bbq seafood and its too much for us. this trip is worth more than the money we paid for which is below rm300 for a person, we are two person actually the price was included overnight and 3meals and freeflow coffee and tea whole day, basically we can use all the equipment in the island including snorkeling tools, kayaks. the bad side is the sand flies are all over the beach beware and use mosquito repellents.

Date of stay: March 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dannyfromkch
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews