We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
JoMuirhead
Glenbrook, Australia

Secluded but really disappointing for snorkelling

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Mar 2018
We were encouraged to come to Sepanggar for the snorkeling. Once we got to the island we were stuck there until our 3pm service came and got us. While this is an all-inclusive tour, we really felt like we had been sold a bit of a lie. WE weren't advised that it was jellyfish season so the water was dangerous ( and yes I did get stung and it did make me unwell) however the areas for snorkeling were really small and after 20 minutes we had observed everything, yet still had 5.5 hours left to fill in. We could paddle board and kayak in the same area that we snorkeled if we wanted too. There wan't anywhere to walk to that we were shown. Every time we asked if we could explore we were met with the response " it is dangerous'. It was such a shame!
Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Property Exterior
RM 341
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
8.3 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
RM 380
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
9.5 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 587
RM 548
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
10.7 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
RM 530
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 444
  • Hotels.com
8.9 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Pool
NEWLY RENOVATED STANDARD ROOM
RM 131
RM 114
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
8.3 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 399
  • Expedia.com
    RM 729
8.0 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 1,373
  • Trip.com
12.2 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
Main lobby
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 348
  • Expedia.com
    RM 470
10.4 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 98
  • Priceline
    RM 119
10.0 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Pool
Beachfront View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 183
  • Booking.com
9.1 km from Mari Mari Sepanggar
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kota Kinabalu
Reviews (57)
Filter reviews
57 results
Traveller rating
16
20
13
7
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
16
20
13
7
1
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 57 reviews
Reviewed 23 October 2017 via mobile

We decided to take a last minute trip to this wonderful resort and were pleasantly surprised with how peaceful and romantic it was. The beach was beautiful, the grounds were well kept with staff even raking the leaves and sand on the beach. Reynold in the diveshop was very knowledgeable and accommodating to our needs. We stayed in the beach villa and couldn't have been happier with amazing view of the ocean and the city right off our deck and from our bed in our room. At night the view was perfect of the city and all of the lights from anywhere on the resort.I'd have to say one of the things we enjoyed the most was anytime we were in our room it was nice and peaceful listening to the ocean while relaxing. The food was good and plentiful with coffee and cold water whenever needed. I would have to say we enjoyed our stay very much the resort was beautiful and staff were all friendly and wold definitely come back again sometime.

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank BillandLalay
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 October 2017 via mobile

When arriving by speedboat this has the makeup of an island paradise. On a clear day you can see the sun hit the water as the empty beach reveals itself in the distance.

Once you get up close and walk along the bridge to the beach you will start noticing litter here and there in the water. Unfortunately a huge amount of waste drifts towards the island every day and there is no point going in the water - or to the beach - until that has been cleaned.

Opted for the cabin just by the beach rather than the ones on the hill. It’s next to the main building and you can almost roll out of bed and land on a chair for breakfast. You will need to lock all doors when leaving as monkeys love to venture around, looking for their latest toy or some food.

When the sun is out it does fulfill the promise of an eco island paradise. You can disconnect from the world (the WiFi is really poor) and enjoy your time paddling around the island, scuba diving or just enjoying the sun on the beach.

So downsides: if it’s raining there’s nothing to do. The metal roof is really loud when the rain hits it and you’re just stuck listening to it. Electricity is scarce and you should bring a few battery packs as well. Food is repetitive and you should turn up on the set start time for the meals to guarantee that it’s hot. If you’re not a huge fan of bugs you might want to avoid the beach cabin. Ants and other insects roam about from time to time, as does the occasional lizard.

Make sure you’ve got the weather on your side when visiting and you’ll love it.

Date of stay: October 2017
2  Thank NiklasJ423
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I stayed here with two other friends late last year and we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The property was built with the premise of providing a low-impact design towards the environment, as most of the property is on raised boardwalks. The steep stair climb to our bungalow offered sweeping views of Tunku Abdul Rahman Marine Park and a secluded abode nestled on the cliff face. The bungalows are run off solar power and rainwater which played a large part towards their sustainability efforts. The beach is netted so less trash comes through and we shared the accommodation with only two other tourists. The buffet food for all meals was delicious and fresh, loads of space to lie around and soak up the sun, swim in the ocean, enjoy the sunset, and have dive options available.

Will be back!

Date of stay: December 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

I visited for three nights with my sister. We're a little older than the usual guests and arrived with suitcases to discover 200 steps up in
Into the jungle. Luckily hello was on hand. Our room was literally a box suspended on the hillside with the midst wonderful view through the trees to the sea. The wonderful noises of animal life was better than any music. Three other couples stayed at the same time and we all are together. We had to to hide our belonging from thieving monkeys and ensure they didn't get access to the food which was great, apart from the breakfast. There is a lot of rubbish in the sea but the staff do everything to ensure the beach is clean. They are extremely polite and helpful. On the morning of our departure nobody wanted to leave which says it all

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank togherhayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 August 2017

The island is lovely if you want to escape the hustle and bustle however it is very weather dependant as there is very little to do on the island.

The rooms: the rooms are basic with a fan and a bathroom in its own area next door to the bedroom. The rooms are hill chalets except for one beach chalet. The rooms are a few floors up so I suggest bringing everything you need down with you in the morning to avoid multiple trips.

Facilities: the island has two kayaks and snorkels to use for free, this is great however the water around the island isn't very clean due to its closeness to the mainland. I went snorkelling once in our 3 day trip and came across too much rubbish to make it enjoyable.

Food: food is nice traditional Malaysian food. The breakfast could be better.

Staff: staff were great especially Jess she really tied to accommodate the guests she even took us out to the village next door for something to do. The staff also try really hard to keep the island clean but it seems like a never ending battle the more rubbish they clean from the water the more that washes up.

Some tips for the hotel:
activities in the room above the restaurant would be nice (yoga for example) or a pool table. WIFI would really help on those rainy days where there isn't anything to do on the island. I would also suggest jungle trekking tours (at extra cost). Maybe eventually invest in more beach chalets too.

This island resort could be incredible it just needs a bit more money spent on it.

Room tip: Beach chalet
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews