We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
RM 140
Fully refundable before Sat, 8 Jun
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
BTLim
Penang Island, Malaysia

Clean, Center, Convenient

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 5 Oct 2022
Stayed here for 1 night on as a transit hotel, picked this mainly for its location and its served the purpose. Located at the end of the riverside and yet its only 10 minutes stroll towards the pedestrian bridge across the river , which is the most beautiful when it is well illuminated. Despite its name of "riverbank" but the rooms are facing the main street rather than river, so there will be some street noise.
The location is just perfect with all the main tourist sites and eateries are all within walking distance.
The room is spacious and clean despite the dated but well maintained furniture and "not so appealing " photos.
A good choice if some street noise doesn't bother you.
Date of stay: September 2022
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 435
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 312
  • Agoda.com
    RM 294
  • Expedia.com
    RM 350
0.9 km from Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Tripadvisor
RM 304
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
    RM 304
0.3 km from Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
RM 394
  • Hotel Website
  • Agoda.com
    RM 284
  • Priceline
    RM 301
21.6 km from Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 276
  • Priceline
    RM 195
  • Agoda.com
    RM 184
  • Expedia.com
    RM 247
19.4 km from Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Executive Deluxe
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
    RM 196
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 131
  • Booking.com
0.4 km from Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
The Theatre Hotel Kuching is a luxurious hotel located in the heart of Kuching City, Sarawak. Our hotel is a perfect blend of history and modern luxury, providing you with an exceptional experience during your stay with us. Our team is dedicated to making your stay memorable and comfortable. We offer a wide range of services to our guests, including 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi, Self Service laundry, and more. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly designed, and equipped with all modern amenities t
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 139
  • Hotels.com
0.5 km from Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 213
  • Priceline
    RM 249
0.1 km from Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Vio.com
    RM 105
  • Priceline
    RM 111
0.9 km from Imperial Riverbank Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    RM 196
  • Booking.com
7.8 km from Imperial Riverbank Hotel
View more hotels in Kuching
Reviews (142)
Filter reviews
142 results
Traveller rating
62
60
14
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
62
60
14
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the river cat statue quiet room street noise within walking distance affordable price laksa location iron dryer wifi kfc soundproofing eateries slippers rm kettle
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 142 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2022

Very conflicting view of this hotel that we stayed in for a week. The first impression on check in was that the staff definitely need some Customer Service training. Coming from a hotel in KL where the staff were welcoming, smiling & helpful - this reception falls very short in that, and we noticed it time & time again when waiting in reception that more often than not, staff wouldn'teven raise their heads when they heard someone going through reception. We hesitated to ask the staff for help/information on anything local. The lovely older gentleman on the outside door was the only exception to the non-friendly staff. Pretty short on information about the hotel, or breakfast, or anything. Our room was great - no problems there, and the location is superb. We tried breakfast once - and didn't go again. Very basic, and we found one around the corner a bit that was cheaper & gave us eggs so it was a no-brainer.

Room tip: I asked for a river view & got an email to say they would do that. On arrival, found they don't have river view rooms
Date of stay: September 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank STELLA08Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 July 2022

Booked a Twin room and requested for a higher floor, quiet room. But we were given a room facing the road with a partial view of the River. Sound proofing was good but for light sleepers, wear ear plugs especially on weekend nights.

Room was very spacious, Twin beds comfy but pillows were too soft for neck support. Minibar, kettle, iron & hair dryer all provided except toothbrush & toothpaste. If you request for slippers, they will be provided, too. Wifi is strong, too.

Later did we know that this building is shared with the Riverbank Residence with rooms facing the River. Thus, this Hotel only has road facing rooms.

Location is indeed great for foods like Topspot seafood and 126 Laksa (good but expensive). Take a boat across the River to visit Fort Margherita for RM$1. Nearby, also see the Chinese Museum, which is free of charge.

Overall, we did have a good 3 nights stay here. Highly recommended if you are tight on budget. Felt more like a 4 stars hotel as we are only paying 3 star prices.

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank JChua
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 June 2022

Had a great time at Imperial! Room was great: clean, spacious, silent and comfortable. Staff was super nice.
Just 2 things I would change:
1. They charged 15RM per hour for check out after 1pm. Maybe this should only be charged after a later time, like 2pm.
2. Once I left the room for breakfast, I selected "please, clean my room" on the electronic switch inside the room. Anyway, once i back, the room wasn't cleaned. I then stayed in the room for few hours, and when I came out, the cleaning service wasn't available anymore. They should have at least informed me!!

Room tip: Ask for corner room!
Date of stay: June 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Federico1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2020

Good location. Good room pricing. Clean room & comfy bed. Water pressure is good but lack of toothbrush & shaver. Long waiting time for lift as 2 lifts serve all floors.. Poor security as anyone can access to floors. Lastly, hotel charged room rate to Credit Card upon confimation.

Date of stay: March 2020
Thank TBH28101960
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 February 2020 via mobile

Superb hotel near the city center.
Very friendly, quick and smiling welcome.
Two magical nights in a beautiful, very comfortable room.
Fridge, safe, water, tea, coffee ....
Superb bedding, very good and very clean bathroom.
Large mirrors and desk.
Very calm.
Breakfast very good.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank voyageur1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Patrick Siqueen, Guest Services / Front Office at Imperial Riverbank Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2020

Dear Sir

Thank you for choosing Imperial Riverbank Hotel as your preferred hotel during your recent visit here and thank you for leaving us with a great review. We are pleased to note that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you were impressed with our rooms and breakfast.

We truly enjoyed having you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back to Imperial Riverbank Hotel.

Sincerely,
Imperial Riverbank Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews