We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
5
10
11
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
10
11
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed at this hostel for three nights and had a very pleasant experience. Helga, the receptionist was fantastic, really friendly and very helpful with any questions, and nice to have a conversation with if you are just relaxing. The rooms are very basic but clean, though there was only one power socket. The toilets are also very clean and the shower was warm.

They have a kitchen and utensils for cooking, as well as free tea and coffee. The breakfast was also very basic, but not much is expected for the price. There is also a roof top seating area and some good beer deals that we enjoyed sitting on during the evenings.

As with many ultra cheap places there were a few shady characters staying there, however they never caused any problems or things to worry about.

The manager also let me keep my things in my room free of charge as I was leaving in the afternoon to the airport, which is much appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Having made a reservation online for two double rooms with a/c we arrived and were told we had one room booked and the one we were shown was a fan room. After much debate and confusion and speaking to three different members of staff we were shown to two a/c rooms with en suite. We left our bags and after going out for dinner came back to be told that these were the wrong rooms and we could stay in them tonight but would have to move the next day. They showed us the room that we would be moving to and it was one family room with a/c and bunk beds...not what we payed for. We tried to explain this but to no avail!! In the end we decided that staying at this guesthouse was just too much hassle as it was so poorly run and disorganized. In order for us to stay in the rooms they had given us they wanted us to pay 70MYR/night. Far more than we could afford and far more than it was worth. While the beds were comfy and the rooms were clean the water in the shower wasn't actually hot and so the next morning we moved. Not the worst guesthouse we have ever stayed in but a lot of hard work for very little gain!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

With the exception of the check-in, which took quite a while for the staff to figure out which room we booked online but I believe was more of an English barrier than anything, we had a decent stay here. The rooms are very basic, think a bed with a small window. The showers were cold to luke warm at best. Wifi does not reach rooms, but you can access in common area (kitchen). Free bread, tea and coffee anytime. Small table and chairs on a rooftop terrace. We chose to go elsewhere because we wanted to have more restaurants and amenities close by. It is tough to find cheap lodgings in Kuching so if you don't want to do the dorm thing at another nicer guest house, the private rooms here will do the job.

Room Tip: Street is a bit noisy at night, try to stay in a room not street facing.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyrannosaurus_Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

Value for money. 16RM for a dorm. Basic facilities. They have hot shower. Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Travellers here are easy going. Very near city center and less than 10 minutes walk to bus station and local food court. I will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoloSingaporean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2013

All quite basic. We had double room with w.c. etc.. Small rooms. For 'breakfast included' there was a loaf of sliced bread, a peanut butter spread and instant coffee powder - basic is the word! You can make coffee anytime. Communal TV in kitchen. Small terrace with chairs mainly occupied by drying laundry.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreyfoxSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews