We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget option”
Review of B & B Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B & B Inn
Reviewed 4 November 2014

We stayed here for a week off and on, by which I mean that we took trips and could leave our big bags while away. It did state on a notice that there was a charge to leave bags but we were never charged, perhaps because of our longer stay and the fact that one of the trips was organised through them. That trip was to a longhouse which was not one of the ones that tourists normally go to, so If you want a good longhouse experience ask for a trip with Aba. We stayed one night in the longhouse. The staff are friendly and the girl on reception was particularly helpful. The double room we used had a fan and an air con which we only used (and paid 5 RM extra for) for 1 night as it wasn't really needed in October. We paid 40 RM a night for fan. Breakfast is included and was toast and jam or coconut honey (yummy). Tea and coffee available at all times. You can use the fridge and kitchen to prepare your own meals, which we did some of the time, but plenty of restaurants within walking distance, as is the rest of the town and river front and bus stops to other attractions/national parks. Transfers back to airport can be arranged.

Room Tip: I can only comment about the room we used which was nearest to the bathrooms and showers. Good, clea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Liz-in-PH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2014

It was my first trip to Sarawak and Kuching and I was there for Kuching Marathon 2014. Stayed for 3N 4D through online bookings. Im grateful that i stayed there with a friend because it is kinda old and run down and quiet and hidden. Though the price was perfect for my budget trip. So here i list out a few things about this hostel:

1. For each room, i was provided with a key to the room and a key to open the front door of the hostel. So if you lose it, must pay RM10 and you have to wait outside the buildings for the staff to pick you. Remember not to lose it after a night outing.
2. Towel is not provided so you must pay to use one.
3. The room is very basic, a bed with a blanket and a desk, no hangers and no mirror for lady (you can use the mirror in the bathroom). A fan and an aircon (pray that each of it is working).
4. I stayed on the 3rd level where there are 3 bathroom and 1 toilet. There are 3 single bedrooms and two hostel rooms on that level.
5. The front desk receptionist was friendly but available only on the days. The desk is closed at night.
6. There is a kitchen next to the bathroom; to Muslims I don't recommend to use the kitchen. No worry, the lodging is close to many great eatery places.
7. It is popular with western backpackers so most taxi drivers know about it.
8. 10-15 minutes walk to Plaza Merdeka and 5-7 minutes walk to the Waterfront.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryunami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed at this hostel for three nights and had a very pleasant experience. Helga, the receptionist was fantastic, really friendly and very helpful with any questions, and nice to have a conversation with if you are just relaxing. The rooms are very basic but clean, though there was only one power socket. The toilets are also very clean and the shower was warm.

They have a kitchen and utensils for cooking, as well as free tea and coffee. The breakfast was also very basic, but not much is expected for the price. There is also a roof top seating area and some good beer deals that we enjoyed sitting on during the evenings.

As with many ultra cheap places there were a few shady characters staying there, however they never caused any problems or things to worry about.

The manager also let me keep my things in my room free of charge as I was leaving in the afternoon to the airport, which is much appreciated.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Having made a reservation online for two double rooms with a/c we arrived and were told we had one room booked and the one we were shown was a fan room. After much debate and confusion and speaking to three different members of staff we were shown to two a/c rooms with en suite. We left our bags and after going out for dinner came back to be told that these were the wrong rooms and we could stay in them tonight but would have to move the next day. They showed us the room that we would be moving to and it was one family room with a/c and bunk beds...not what we payed for. We tried to explain this but to no avail!! In the end we decided that staying at this guesthouse was just too much hassle as it was so poorly run and disorganized. In order for us to stay in the rooms they had given us they wanted us to pay 70MYR/night. Far more than we could afford and far more than it was worth. While the beds were comfy and the rooms were clean the water in the shower wasn't actually hot and so the next morning we moved. Not the worst guesthouse we have ever stayed in but a lot of hard work for very little gain!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danigross88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

With the exception of the check-in, which took quite a while for the staff to figure out which room we booked online but I believe was more of an English barrier than anything, we had a decent stay here. The rooms are very basic, think a bed with a small window. The showers were cold to luke warm at best. Wifi does not reach rooms, but you can access in common area (kitchen). Free bread, tea and coffee anytime. Small table and chairs on a rooftop terrace. We chose to go elsewhere because we wanted to have more restaurants and amenities close by. It is tough to find cheap lodgings in Kuching so if you don't want to do the dorm thing at another nicer guest house, the private rooms here will do the job.

Room Tip: Street is a bit noisy at night, try to stay in a room not street facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tyrannosaurus_Ross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kuching hotels
1.5 km away
Hilton Kuching
Hilton Kuching
#3 of 55 in Kuching
1,739 reviews
23.2 km away
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
Damai Puri Resort & Spa
#46 of 55 in Kuching
395 reviews
20.7 km away
Wo Jia Lodge
Wo Jia Lodge
#26 of 86 in Kuching
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Permai Rainforest Resort
Permai Rainforest Resort
#11 of 55 in Kuching
499 reviews
1.8 km away
Riverside Majestic Hotel
Riverside Majestic Hotel
#10 of 55 in Kuching
555 reviews
22.8 km away
Damai Beach Resort
Damai Beach Resort
#15 of 55 in Kuching
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B Inn

Address: B&B Inn Jalan Tabuan, Kuching 93100, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Sarawak > Kuching
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 86 Speciality Lodging in Kuching
Price Range: RM 39 - RM 47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your B & B Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B & B Inn Kuching, Sarawak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing