We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
RM 80
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
RM 80
Fully refundable before Fri, 31 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
RM 66
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
No booking fees
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Caryn
Kuching, Malaysia

Disappointing experience

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 31 Dec 2018via mobile
I booked a room here for convenience sake as I work at a nearby Plaza Merdeka mall. I needed a place to crash after a very late night of stock take (we finished at 430am). I was so disappointed that the electricity kept tripping in the room since early morning until noon when it was check out time. To add to the inconvenience, there is no phone in the room to allow you to call the front desk, so I had to call the reception from my personal phone. The room I got was facing the main road so by 7am it was very noisy.

For the RM103 I paid, I expected a better room.
Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
RM 527
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 377
  • Agoda.com
    RM 356
  • Expedia.com
    RM 420
1.0 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 460
RM 440
  • Priceline
    RM 440
  • Expedia.com
    RM 439
  • Hotels.com
    RM 440
0.2 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Pool
The Theatre Hotel Kuching is a luxurious hotel located in the heart of Kuching City, Sarawak. Our hotel is a perfect blend of history and modern luxury, providing you with an exceptional experience during your stay with us. Our team is dedicated to making your stay memorable and comfortable. We offer a wide range of services to our guests, including 24-hour front desk, free Wi-Fi, Self Service laundry, and more. Our rooms are spacious, elegantly designed, and equipped with all modern amenities t
Booking.com
RM 222
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    RM 222
  • Agoda.com
    RM 133
  • Expedia.com
    RM 201
0.0 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
RM 143
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 142
  • Agoda.com
    RM 131
  • Expedia.com
    RM 148
0.3 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Executive Deluxe
Booking.com
RM 363
  • Priceline
    RM 264
  • Trip.com
    RM 196
  • Expedia.com
    RM 333
0.5 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
RM 208
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 240
  • Agoda.com
    RM 178
  • Expedia.com
    RM 200
5.4 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
RM 156
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    RM 122
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 98
  • Hotels.com
    RM 123
1.7 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
RM 199
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 390
  • Agoda.com
    RM 187
  • Expedia.com
    RM 351
7.3 km from 360Xpress City Center
Priceline
RM 354
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    RM 432
  • Agoda.com
    RM 334
  • Expedia.com
    RM 435
19.8 km from 360Xpress City Center
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Kuching
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveller rating
35
79
35
15
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
35
79
35
15
12
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 176 reviews
Reviewed 28 December 2018 via mobile

I would conclude this

1) next door were a family w non stop crying baby, the sound so loud as if I was just a curtain away...human issue
2) so dirty the hotel corridor see the photo the rubbish were there for 2 days
3) smelly room might due to no window
4) aircond not really cold but cold after if on for whole day
5) got hotel housekeeping but seem not cleaning coz I dropped some sugar on the table and it’s still there when I back. And the toilet bowl.....as if the hotel cannot afford a better cleaning chemical??

What else?? I m too picky? Frankly I couldn’t think of anything else good except the location is near to Padungan

But for a business traveler this might be a good value hotel. But in return I m getting s crying baby and pungent smile room I don’t think I want to come back again

Pay a little bit more for a better hotel I would rather

Date of stay: December 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
2  Thank Jimmy_L421
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 September 2018 via mobile

The room is lack of maintenance and not sound proof, could hear clearly the noise from next door and outside. The cleaners are unprofessional since they're always making noise in the corridor, talking and laughing out loud outside the room. Limited TV channels, only a few local Malay channels and not suitable for those not understanding Malay well. Internet connection was interrupted in the room, very poor Internet connection. A lot of noise could be heard during midnight. After all, I had very bad experience during my stay in this hotel👇👇👇😣 it wasn't worth the money value at all.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Cruiser818935
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Very friendly staff, but No hot water, no internet in room, convenient to walking around and some nice local restaurants, especially Sunday Dimsum. A couple of Dive Bars near by and 24 hour 7-11. Other than that, really not worth the price. Can get better deals if you spend 10-20rm more.

Room tip: The hotel is very run down. My room was falling apart.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank therubes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 July 2018

I did not expect to be able to sleep well but I did! The bed was comfy, hot shower was working, pillows are comfy and fluffy too. It's absolutely worth every single penny especially for a night stopover and having to leave the city the next day.

Date of stay: October 2017
Thank Borneon_Angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 January 2018

The stafff is friendly and try to be helpful but they are not fluent in English so at times communication can be difficult. There are a few restaurants, bars and grocery stores within walking distance so that was convenient. Don’t get a room next to the road it can be very noisy at times. Over all the hotel was a good value for the money.

Room tip: Don’t get a room next to the road it can be very noisy.
Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews